We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christine was amazing!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbarossa Garni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Barbarossa Garni Hotel
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
660 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Christine was amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Christine was very nice. She makes it feel more like a bed and breakfast, then a hotel. She just took over a couple months ago, and is remodeling the rooms as time permits. Free wifi didnt make it to our room (old concrete walls) but was fine in the breakfast room. Free breakfast was very good ( she makes your eggs to order) room was very large, tv only got German channels, shower was a bit small but fine. We liked it very much

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    33
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
33
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyons
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

This little hotel has a very good location, and provides very decent rooms for a correct price.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Centrally located hotel on the top floor of a professional building. Rooms were clean and quite adequate, though nothing special. Pleasant balcony in courtyard.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtwoodside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

We spent three days at this hotel. It was on the top floor of an office building. You reached the hotel by going up a very narrow elevator. The hotel owner was very nice and helpful. The room was small but comfortable. The bathroom was small and could use a redo, but it was adequate. The TV worked and was on the wall. Down the hall was a cooler with beer and sodas on the honor system. There was fruit on the front desk. This is a very small hotel and was about three blocks down the street from the
train station.

The best part about the hotel stay was the breakfast in the morning. Typical German fare with plenty to fill a person up. This came with the price of the room.

We had a GPS and found a lot to see in Wurzburg including the castle on top of a very high hill. The view once you got to the top was magnificant and there was a good museum and restaurant on the premises. The walk up, if you decide to walk, was steep and there was a lot of stopping to get your breath from the steepness of it all, but a beautiful view of the vineyards around the castle. There was also a road to the top with a large parking area. This is the tourist attraction of Wurzburg.

Close to the hotel was a shopping district with reasonable prices and the restaurants were very good especially the wine restaurants that featured their own wines. No restaurant in this hotel. It was more like a bed and breakfast then a hotel except you had your own bathroom facility.

We would definitely stay here again, even with the small room because of the value and wonderful breakfast that was served. Most of the people staying in the hotel were German but the staff spoke English.

  • Liked — The breakfast.
  • Disliked — The narrow elevator.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsgilly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2008

Hotel Barbarossa is on the top floor of an office building with a small elevator. The staff was very helpful. The room was small but clean. The bathroom was clean, but could use updating. The mini-television set did not work. The location is close to the train station and the city center. The breakfast was very good and came with the room. There is no parking provided, but I parked on the street out front without any problems. There are also several parking garages nearby. There were many restaurants within walking distance (the fried rice at the Chinese restaurant next door was wonderful). When I am in Wurzburg I usually stay at the Best Western Hotel Rebstock, but I could not afford that hotel this year. Hotel Barbarossa was a big step down from the Rebstock, but was reasonably priced and I would stay here again.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The bathroom
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Warren_FB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

Stayed twice in May 08. The first time in room 15 at the back (supposed to be the quiet area!) There is a bar in the alley below and with the new no smoking laws, patrons spill outside til 3:30 - 4:00 in the morning. Not overly rowdy, but freakin' noisy.
Rooms are small but clean, staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast is good. Location is very good.
Second time back we stayed at the front of the hotel facing the street. Not AS noisy, but still lots of street related activity noise, so if you don't like noise, you might want to look elsewhere.
Noise aside, we liked the place, but would be very careful about which room we stayed in.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RND22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2007

The Barbarossa occupies the attic fourth floor of an office building on the edge of the pedestrian zone. It is a good budget choice with updated rooms and an elevator. It had a standard German breakfast including lunch meats, cheese, rolls, etc. The staff was friendly and helpful. For the price and location, we will probably return to the Barbarossa for future trips to Würzburg.

Regards, Gary

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Trikist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
City Hotel Schoenleber
City Hotel Schoenleber
#23 of 46 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poppular City Hotel
Poppular City Hotel
#32 of 46 in Wurzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel Wurzburg
City Hotel Wurzburg
#19 of 46 in Wurzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
0.0 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#8 of 46 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Top Hotel Amberger
Top Hotel Amberger
#13 of 46 in Wurzburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbarossa Garni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbarossa Garni Hotel

Property: Barbarossa Garni Hotel
Address: Theaterstr. 2, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Barbarossa Garni Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barbarossa Garni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing