We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Breakfast, Nice Staff, Average Room”
Review of Hotel Gruener Baum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Gruener Baum
Ranked #1 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location and Breakfast, Nice Staff, Average Room”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have just finished 4 nights at the Gruener Baum in Wurzburg. Being in a single room meant the 3 floors of stair climbing into the eves, but the view from my window while at the little desk was spectacular with vineyards and the cathedral. The room was adequate but nothing special: single bed, little desk and table, decent bathroom (shower a bit small). The room did get quite stuffy even with the window open, so a fan would've been nice. The outside roller shutter was great for blocking light.
The breakfast was standard for Germany with breads, meats, yogurt etc. Served in the cool basement.
Location was superb though. Just 2 minutes to the old bridge to cross into the central part of town. 20 minute stroll to train station. Right next to an entrance up to the fortress. Only 'negative' was the very loud bell tolling at the cathedral at 8am on Sunday, but still pretty.
Would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: If you aren't into climbing lots of stairs, definitely request a room on the first level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeavingGoodTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    142
    35
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
171
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Small but clean rooms with a small but very modern bathroom, nice breakfast buffet. Just a short walk from the Old Bridge makes it a great location. The price and the availability of parking make it a very good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've stayed 4 times at the Hotel Grüner Baum and will be returning in a few weeks for my fifth stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable and have that perfect balance between quaint and modern. The breakfast is excellent with some of the best croissants. And the price represents very good value.

The staff are also fantastic - extremely pleasant and helpful. Katharina in reception has always been particularly helpful.

The location is fantastic - it's literally at the bottom of the fortress and within 10 min you can be up. It's also no more than a 4 min walk to the old bridge and once your across, your in the old town.

There are a few slight drawbacks but these are far outweighed by the positives. Since there is no air conditioning, you'll have to ask for a fan if its particularly hot like early July of last year. If you're a light sleeper and its warm and you need the window open, try to get a room on one of the upper floors - passers-by can be a bit annoying on the first floor. There is no elevator so heavy packers are at a disadvantage but its worth the trouble to be as far above street level if you need the windows open.

Whenever I'm in northwest of Bavaria, I try to arrange to stay in Würzburg and always try to book the Grüner Baum - it's such a great value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msb64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Grüner Baum is a nice hotel situated in a perfect location, within 5 minutes walking to the Old Bridge, that links to the historic downtown of that enchanting city of Würzburg. Because of the location and the breakfast (very delicious and plenty to choose), the hotel is a good value, but the room is a bit small, even though the good size tv, fridge in room (no coffee/tea facilities),and a very beautiful updated bathroom, everything spotlessly clean, the size of the room was a little bit disappointing (We were in room 26).
The helpful and polite staff was a big upside of this hotel, they couldn't be more efficient, polite and they knew what to do to please us.
On the other hand,for my husband and I, the Internet access was a downside. I think that was a problem in my room, because wifi never worked, only if I went to the stairs to get a signal. By the way, this hotel doesn't have an elevator, if your luggage is heavy, it could be an issue.
The underground garage was very useful (only€ 8 a day), but be careful when you arrive, because the main entrance of the hotel is practically on the sidewalk and you don't have a place to stop while asking someone in the hotel to show you where the garage is.
On balance, it was a pleasant experience, I'm looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcu2, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Gruener Baum, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your really nice review. We are sorry that you had trouble with the WIFI internet access. All our rooms are also equipped with a LAN Network access, in case the WIFI does not work. We are sorry nobody did mention that. Also our hotel does have a short term parking zone (just across our main entrance). You may use this the next time if you like to visit us again. Best wishes! M.Uhlmann and the whole staff from Hotel Grüner Baum Würzburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very quiet comfortable room on the third floor - at the top of the building. Excellent views over the town, and a very clean and well-styled living space.
Reception staff were cheerful and helpful, and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Parking is just around the corner in an indoor garage, and cost 8 euros per day.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TevredenLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel was very nice and the woman behind the front desk was very nice. We stayed here for one night at the end of our Christmas Market Holiday and would recommend to anyone. The only negative was the noise from the main street. The hotel is on a very busy street so ask for a room off the street.

Breakfast was great too.

Room Tip: off the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toughnlcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We only had one night here near the end of our holiday when we were tired, and suffering colds.
The hotel was easily reached from the Romantischer Strasse, and 5 mins walk from the river and the bridge into the city.
The room was compact but comfortable with a desk , bathroom was modern - all very clean.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful and spoke English as well. We needed extra pillows which were provided. Unfortunately our room was on the 3rd floor and no lift - even though we said we would be OK with our bags, the staff grabbed one and helped.

Breakfast was in the Vaults under the building - buffet style and quite reasonable. Car parking was in an underground park about 50m away which was convenient.

We bhad views across the city which would have been even better if the weather had been better!
Wifi was included and it worked well.
The hotel was very quiet and we had a good nights sleep.

Overall a very nice hotel - highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor unless you enjoy carrying bags up stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tassiegolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.9 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#3 of 46 in Wurzburg
960 reviews
1.1 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Rebstock
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#8 of 46 in Wurzburg
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruener Baum

Property: Hotel Gruener Baum
Address: Zeller Str. 35/37, 97082 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wurzburg
#2 Family Hotel in Wurzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gruener Baum 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gruener Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruener Baum Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing