We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel Gruener Baum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gruener Baum
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We only had one night here near the end of our holiday when we were tired, and suffering colds.
The hotel was easily reached from the Romantischer Strasse, and 5 mins walk from the river and the bridge into the city.
The room was compact but comfortable with a desk , bathroom was modern - all very clean.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful and spoke English as well. We needed extra pillows which were provided. Unfortunately our room was on the 3rd floor and no lift - even though we said we would be OK with our bags, the staff grabbed one and helped.

Breakfast was in the Vaults under the building - buffet style and quite reasonable. Car parking was in an underground park about 50m away which was convenient.

We bhad views across the city which would have been even better if the weather had been better!
Wifi was included and it worked well.
The hotel was very quiet and we had a good nights sleep.

Overall a very nice hotel - highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor unless you enjoy carrying bags up stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tassiegolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 339 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We loved this hotel. Sweet staff, great location and charming room. The layout was very comfortable with a huge flat screen tv, updated bathroom and a window that opened to a nice view. The breakfast was out of this world fantastic. Located a quick walk from downtown, the location was wonderful. I would stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelSneak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We picked Wurzburg just as a stopping point after training from Prague to Frankfurt and renting a car. The hotel Gruener Baum was a great find with an outstanding location. THere is limited parking, but a parking garage just down the street a short walk cost 8 Euro per night, same as hotel which does have a few spaces. It is an easy walk to the old town across the Alte Bridge over the river Main. We had room # 7 which was a little small, but clean. There are larger rooms so next time I would ask. Breakfast was great. The staff very friendly and helpful and all spoke excellent English. I would stay at this hotel again. Oh, wireless was free and worked fine. We were on the first floor and I do not believe the hotel has a lift.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GooseSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We only stayed the one night (September 2012) and thoroughly enjoyed Hotel Gruner Baum. We parked across the road and checked in before the friendly staff member accompanied us to the reasonably priced car garage a few minutes away to show us how it all worked. We had to carry our bags up the stairs as there is no lift. The room was not big but very clean and comfortable with a good bathroom. The free wifi worked fine.
Wurzburg is a beautiful town and the hotel is well placed to explore. The beautiful bridge is only a 5 minute walk and you are right in the Alstadt, and the fortress a few minutes further.The continental breakfast is very good with plenty of variety. Although you are on a fairly busy street we did not notice any noise. There is no air conditioning which could be an issue in summer. All staff were friendly and helpful and not speaking German was not an issue. We believe the hotel was great value for money.

Room Tip: A lower floor if you have a lot of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stimmo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were a family traveling with a three year old. We arrived about 9:30 pm and the door was locked. There was an intercom that directed us to instructions since we had reservations. We were placed on the 4th floor and there was no elevator. The rooms were very small and only allowed one internet device to be used per room. The breakfast was lovely served in a cellar space right outside the hotel and the service was great. It is a good location to the city with only a bridge to cross.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamagoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

this property is in a perfect location for enjoying all the sights of beautiful wurzburg. i stayed for 2 nights and was happy with their strong wifi, clean rooms, and delicious breakfast buffet. there's no air conditioning and the room was a bit warm in late august, but there's a fan offered. the front desk and wait staff were friendly. overall, this was a very pleasant experience and i would stay here again if i ever find myself back in wurzburg.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChefsChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Good location, great breakfast, helpful staff. There was a mistake in our hotel billing but it was easily and cheerfully fixed by the hotel innkeeper. This hotel loses points because of no lift and inconvenient/expensive parking. This hotel is within easy walking distance of the main/market square. Our room was kind of tight.

Room Tip: If you are a senior citizen get a room on the lowest floor ie they have no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NyEurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.9 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#4 of 46 in Wurzburg
1,006 reviews
1.1 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#10 of 46 in Wurzburg
295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Schlosshotel Steinburg
Schlosshotel Steinburg
#7 of 46 in Wurzburg
253 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gruener Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gruener Baum

Address: Zeller Str. 35/37, 97082 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wurzburg
#3 Business Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range: $123 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gruener Baum 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gruener Baum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gruener Baum Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing