We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay”
Review of Zur Stadt Mainz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zur Stadt Mainz
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We chose this hotel partly due to its historic past and the fact that Frommers recommended it. We were not disappointed. Andrew made us feel especially welcome by taking our luggage and carrying it upstairs for us. After that he spent time recommending places for us to see while in Wurzburg. Our room was clean, nicely decorated and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was a true feast ,Franconian style. We just stuck to the basic bread, cheeses and coldcuts. Maybe another time we will be more adventurous at breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ilga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for Zur Stadt Mainz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 60 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

Beware! No fun if they put you in a room on the 3rd floor with no lift but 20kg of luggage!!
The breakfast was a bit weird. Not a traditional selection... fried cold chicken breast and lots of dried fish...

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RyanfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I'm disappointed to see the less-than-stellar reviews for this hotel because I found it to be absolutely charming and pleasant. The owner and staff were all so welcoming. The owner provided us with maps, told us a bit about Wurzburg history, and recommended places to see and eat. He also gave some helpful tips, such as take the bus up to the Fortress because it is a steep climb up.

The breakfast here is amazing. They provide quite a spread of cheese, meats, fish, fruits, and breads.

i found the rooms here comparable to other budget hotels in Germany. Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, and it was nice that they provided soap and shampoo. When we asked for an iron and ironing board, the owner went through a lot of trouble to procure us one (he had to borrow something from his neighbors!). I also love some of the small details in this hotel - the handwritten notices about breakfast in multiple languages, the Bavarian pretzel door handles.

One of the only downsides is that some windows look out onto the street and there are sometimes rowdy revelers across the street. This is only an issue if you open the window at night.

Overall I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jac2062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Our guidebook (Frommer's) highly rated this place, but on the whole we were disappointed. Let me first say that the room itself *was* comfortable, clean, tastefully decorated without being fancy, and the bed and duvets were firm, clean and warm. You could do a whole lot worse than here.

However, it isn't quite a gem. We walked in to register, and the proprietress could hardly speak English, which I do realise isn't mandatory, but at least a good language for an innkeeper to know. The reception area was very dark and gloomy-- even allowing for the traditional German look. The outer hallway was cold and not attractive. There was no lift, so we heaved our cases up two flights of stairs without help. The walls are lined with favorable articles about the place, but they looked old.

The bathroom was clean, but the soaps supplied were too fruity-smelling to be dignified. The bathroom was tiled with round tiles, millions of them....like being surrounded by all these white buttons. We had a shower, which was adequate for us, the stream strong, plenty of hot water. No shampoo or conditioner supplied, unless you count the body wash which doubles as a shampoo. Towels somewhat thin. Glasses not very clean-- found a few gnats in them.

Internet is free and the connection seems good. This hotel is reputed to have a fine restaurant, but we were so off-put by the cloying darkness of the dining room that we went across the street to the St. Joseph restaurant for dinner instead, which was simple but quite good. Zur Stadt Mainz did offer an excellent breakfast buffet, but even with the lights on it seemed dark and gloomy. The waiter, however, is a sweetheart.

So this was what we would call an adequate, but definitely not stellar place. It was near to the sights we wanted to see, which was a plus. But it does have a feeling of having seen better days. It is not a cheerful place to stay. I got the impression that the proprietress is simply too tired and old to care much about excellence any more, which I can sympathise with-- but it's no way to run a guesthouse.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eleanor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

For a budget Hotel, we found the "Stadt Mainz" very comfortable, clean and very German, of which we were looking for, after so many triples we had booked elswhere were tiny and unpleasant. * Our beds were very comfortable and clean (and real single beds, after so many hotels gave us a queen and small very uncomfortable couch type bed) ,* the bathroom was modern / clean. Easy walk to town & station.
Breakfast was plentiful/enjoyable, and a bonus for a budget hotel. * We asked for 1st floor and a gentleman helped us with cases up the flight of stairs. ...we were happy with our stay here while visiting my Grandson who is studing in Wurtzburg.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Family run small nice hotel. Room is clean. Don't expect any service. (We have to move our luggage to 2nd floor ourselves. No elevator.) But the buffet breakfast is very good with lots of local specialties.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WinnieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

It is advertised as an old local hotel, but in the end it is very basic. The room, which needed to be refurbished had two separated small beds and a shower with little pressure. The breakfast on the bright side was quite overwhelming, at least if one likes raw fish, peppers, artichoke hearts and french cheese in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b12346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.0 mi away
City Hotel Wurzburg
City Hotel Wurzburg
#18 of 46 in Wurzburg
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#7 of 46 in Wurzburg
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#40 of 46 in Wurzburg
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
0.1 mi away
Top Hotel Amberger
Top Hotel Amberger
#14 of 46 in Wurzburg
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barbarossa Garni Hotel
Barbarossa Garni Hotel
#32 of 46 in Wurzburg
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zur Stadt Mainz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zur Stadt Mainz

Address: Semmelstr. 39, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range: $116 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zur Stadt Mainz 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Zur Stadt Mainz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Stadt Mainz würzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing