We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served its purpose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Served its purpose”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is fairly centrally located in Wurzburg. The walk to see the old fort only took around 25 mins. The staff was friendly and parking in front was free, albeit extremely difficult. The rooms aren't anything special and the breakfast is not worth the price. Worth staying if only in town for a night or two.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the 'garage' will be much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuzzbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    116
    65
    14
    4
See reviews for
46
80
16
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel was within a 15 minute walk from the train station in Wurzburg, and there was a streetcar that stopped right outside the front doors (although we never took it, Wurzburg is a very small town).

I stayed here for a conference, and I would probably stay here again, since the price was so much lower than most other hotels in the area.

The good things about this hotel:
- staff were really nice and most spoke some English
- the breakfast was really good, buffet style with eggs, cheese, bread, meat, yogurt, cereal and fruit. It was 9 euro, which sounds like a lot, except that most restaurants weren't open at 8am (when we needed to eat to get to the conference)
- the room was spacious, and the beds were really comfortable (soft)
- everything was clean and really well kept
- it was in a central location, with lots of restaurants on the same street (although many of them stop serving food at around 10pm, there is a mexican restaurant a couple doors down from the hotel that serves food late into the night)

Things you should know before booking:
- there is no air conditioning in the rooms, and if you leave your window open at night you will hear traffic or the people on the street below (it's a university town - the kids never sleep!). Bring ear plugs.
- the bathroom in rm 112 was not enclosed, so water went everywhere during a shower
- the water was warm, but not hot
- there were some amenities (shampoo and conditioner in packets only), so if you are picky bring your own!
- the internet was REALLY expensive (no free wifi), and the login page didn't load properly a lot of the time (a much cheaper alternative is to purchase a German sim card with data - 10euro for 1G data over 7 days)

Room Tip: 112 overlooked the main street, so it was really loud at night with the windows open. Also the show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lil_starfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albert, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed as a group of bantam hockey players and their parents. Staff were exceptionally pleasant. My wife and I had to spend the night in separate rooms and mine was above and close to a street pub on a Saturday night. Although I didn't sleep well because of the open window in a room lacking air conditioning, it was entertaining.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1,266 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 530 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel is very neat and clean and has a great restaurant on the ground floor.The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is parking available in front of the hotel. A great little hotel and a good place to start a trip down the Romantic Road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adventurers049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
151 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I am giving this hotel a 5 out of 5 because of its great value, 74 euro per night, location and good staff in addition to a clean comfortable room. I almost passed on this property because of the visitors photos which did not do it justice. The hotel is a 10 min. walk to the train or a quick tram ride, one street over from the river with some nice outdoor cafes and a small beer garden. I would stay here again if I visited Wurzburg.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 2, 2012

For one night ok.
It is an older house and especially in the bathroom not very clean.
The location is very good in the center-

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wurzburg hotels

Coogee, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We had three nights at the City Partner Hotel Strauss Wurzburg, and loved the hotel and the city. The hotel was perfect for us because it is walking distance from the railway station, and walking distance to all the major city sights. Our double room on the second floor was spacious, nicely decorated, quiet, and immaculately clean. We had 2 (opening) windows which looked up the street. The beds were so comfortable, and nice and firm. The room had a sitting area, minifridge, and its own walk in wardrobe area. Breakfast was included in the very reasonable room rate, and it was a delicious buffet, very plentiful, and served in the hotel restaurant which has traditional German decor, making the breakfasts quite special for visitors. Staff were cheerful, friendly, and helpful with information. We would definitely stay again, and we would also recommend the hotel to our friends. Wurzburg is a favourite for us...the Residence is a must-see...and the atmosphere every afternoon at the pedestrian bridge watching the barges is not to be missed!

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms, and rooms away from the lift would be the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jnjcoogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.6 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#3 of 45 in Wurzburg
950 reviews
0.8 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#8 of 45 in Wurzburg
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
#14 of 45 in Wurzburg
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gruener Baum
Hotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 45 in Wurzburg
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Partner Hotel Strauss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Partner Hotel Strauss

Property: City Partner Hotel Strauss
Address: Juliuspromenade 5, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Partner Hotel Strauss 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are looking forward to welcoming you at the “City Partner Hotel Strauss” with its Restaurant “Würtzburg” in the romantic town of Wuerzburg. Our “3 star” hotel, which provides comfortable accommodation in combination with a pleasant atmosphere, is located at the “Juliuspromenade” right in the heart of Wuerzburg. The Congress Centre is approximately 200, the central station 800 meters from here. All the sights of our city center can easily be reached by food. Among many interesting places you can visit the market square, the historical edifice “Falkenhaus”, the Cathedral or the Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your City Partner Hotel Strauss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strauss Hotel würzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing