We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite far from great”
Review of Hotel Franziskaner

Hotel Franziskaner
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Franziskaner
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Eisenach, Germany
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Quite far from great”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on the Valentine´s day weekend. Honestly, not my best choice of a hotel so far. Location was not so great, a bit hidden from city centre. Service was exasperating, they called us twice at 9.30 to go to breakfast, after having made us book it, just in case, so as to have the option. They also called us at 11.00 sharp in order to remind us to check-out. Unbelievable. Cleanliness superficial, rooms ok but not great, furniture a bit old, could do with a renovation. Breakfast on the other hand good. And they did keep the flowers i had forgotten, so I could collect them afterwards. That was ok.
Paid 75 euros pro night without breakfast, wouldn t do it again, would choose a more central hotel, hopefully with better service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauragabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    36
    16
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
20
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I spent a night in a weekend in February in this family hotel.
The personnel is very friendly and the receptionist - probably also owner - was willing to help with further information about the city.
She also speaks quite good Italian and she's happy when she has Italian guests she can pratice the language with (I wanted to speak German because I live in Germany, but when she saw I come from Italy....)
The single room was a normal size and clean. The bathroom was really small, but it's a feature of many hotels.
Breakfast is good and eggs are served at the table according to your taste (scrambled, a la coque).
The hotel is in the Altstsdt and so the cathedral and other churches, the Residenz, the Mainfranken Theater (very good) are reachable in a couple of minutes by foot.
The train main station is only four tram stops away, but it is worth to go from the station to the hotel by foot: you'll only need 15-20 minutes during which you'll admire shop-windows and the city architecture.
To summarize, there's a good price/quality relation.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roberta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is located near the Dom, which is a good and central location. Parking could be a problem as you have to park on the streets. My room (a doubleroom) was on the 3rd floor and was of normal size, with a balcony. The bathroom was really small (could be a problem to get around in there for some guests). The room was clean, though the furniture and style looked dated. I loved the bed, it was really comfortable.
They have a wide selection of food for breakfast and the staff there was really friendly. The receptionists were also nice and it was no problem to get seperate bills for the two nights I have stayed there.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the 3rd floor have balconies: 107, 207 and 307 are located near the staricase and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Central location (5 minutes to the Residence, 10 minutes to the centre), you should expect some troubles with parkiing. Friendly staff, great breakfast. Room 204 was simple, but nice. I think rooms 107 and 207 can be a terrible choice because they are located near stairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondorf, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last night for our 2 day excursion in Wurzburg and this was by far our worst hotel experience in Germany (we've lived here for 3 years). The receptionist spoke English, but was very rude and unwilling to accept the fact that her hotel had messed up the booking. Also, they are behind in technology and had me fill out Bayern guest registration forms for each guest (a 15 minute process when dealing with this person) rather than just photocopying our passports like every other hotel in Europe. Additionally, the beds were ridiculously uncomfortable and the sheets and pillows looked and felt like they came from the Ikea 10 Euro bin. The street noise was almost unbearable. Overall a terrible experience. I would never recommend this hotel to a friend.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wurzburg hotels

Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here last night (3 people in 2 rooms). Upon check-out, the hotel refused to use the VAT form stating it was "too complicated" and told us to figure it out at the airport! Ummm, we live in Germany. Ugh! So frustrating! The rooms were "okay", but the bathroom was incredibly small. Thankfully we stayed in the winter and didn't have to open the window because the street actually got quite loud between midnight and 4 am (I got hot and cracked the window...maybe a few bars were close??). Regardless, we would never stay here again nor recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Cdezlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Basic but good; nice room, nice bathroom, friendly service (especially the nice lady at breakfast), breakfast good & German (love the blood pudding!), close to the city center. Th eonly con: the hotel's Internet: soooo slow!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rybas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#3 of 45 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.4 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Rebstock
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#9 of 45 in Wurzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.8 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franziskaner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franziskaner

Property: Hotel Franziskaner
Address: Franziskanerplatz 2, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Franziskaner 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Franziskaner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing