We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit dated, but great location”
Review of Hotel Franziskaner

Hotel Franziskaner
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Franziskaner
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is located near the Dom, which is a good and central location. Parking could be a problem as you have to park on the streets. My room (a doubleroom) was on the 3rd floor and was of normal size, with a balcony. The bathroom was really small (could be a problem to get around in there for some guests). The room was clean, though the furniture and style looked dated. I loved the bed, it was really comfortable.
They have a wide selection of food for breakfast and the staff there was really friendly. The receptionists were also nice and it was no problem to get seperate bills for the two nights I have stayed there.

Room Tip: Some rooms in the 3rd floor have balconies: 107, 207 and 307 are located near the staricase and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 83 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Central location (5 minutes to the Residence, 10 minutes to the centre), you should expect some troubles with parkiing. Friendly staff, great breakfast. Room 204 was simple, but nice. I think rooms 107 and 207 can be a terrible choice because they are located near stairs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last night for our 2 day excursion in Wurzburg and this was by far our worst hotel experience in Germany (we've lived here for 3 years). The receptionist spoke English, but was very rude and unwilling to accept the fact that her hotel had messed up the booking. Also, they are behind in technology and had me fill out Bayern guest registration forms for each guest (a 15 minute process when dealing with this person) rather than just photocopying our passports like every other hotel in Europe. Additionally, the beds were ridiculously uncomfortable and the sheets and pillows looked and felt like they came from the Ikea 10 Euro bin. The street noise was almost unbearable. Overall a terrible experience. I would never recommend this hotel to a friend.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
6  Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here last night (3 people in 2 rooms). Upon check-out, the hotel refused to use the VAT form stating it was "too complicated" and told us to figure it out at the airport! Ummm, we live in Germany. Ugh! So frustrating! The rooms were "okay", but the bathroom was incredibly small. Thankfully we stayed in the winter and didn't have to open the window because the street actually got quite loud between midnight and 4 am (I got hot and cracked the window...maybe a few bars were close??). Regardless, we would never stay here again nor recommend it.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Cdezlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Basic but good; nice room, nice bathroom, friendly service (especially the nice lady at breakfast), breakfast good & German (love the blood pudding!), close to the city center. Th eonly con: the hotel's Internet: soooo slow!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rybas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

hotel was nice, we lucked out & got a large room with a balcony (only a few of these).
The bathroom was tiny, be aware if you are a large person, I am not a big person & barely fit in the shower, maybe ask there are large showers.
Room & bathroom were very clean, didn't hear neighbors, wifi was good.
We had a nice view towards the central square, the church bells were loud but not too early.
We didn't see many cafes near the hotel, but a 10 min walk takes you to the Alte Mainmuhle, we splurged & are at the restaurant on the river, so lovely, but you can also just have drinks on the bridge. Didn't try the restaurant next to the hotel.
Breakfast was very nice, staff was nice, we were able to park in front, but you have to pay during the day. There is a rook terrace, nice for some wine or star gazing.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a balcony, they face the street but it's not loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Pros: Centrally Located (Small town, of course everywhere is almost central)

Cons: Unfriendly personnel, not helpful.
Very small rooms
Personnel do not speak English and every manual is in German (Yes, only English speaking person was the receptionist that you can not find after 17:00)
We asked to change the bed on a Saturday at 17ish and we were told that there were no service-personnel to do it on that day and time (Is this a hotel? Yes, we asked this question in German (We knew a little.))

We could have stayed at a nicer hotel with the amount of money that we paid :(

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kubilaysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.6 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#4 of 46 in Wurzburg
1,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#10 of 46 in Wurzburg
299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Gruener Baum
Hotel Gruener Baum
#2 of 46 in Wurzburg
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Franziskaner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Franziskaner

Address: Franziskanerplatz 2, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range: $88 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Franziskaner 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Franziskaner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing