We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel with a stunning view of Wurzburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schlosshotel Steinburg
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel with a stunning view of Wurzburg”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We arrived at midday in beautiful sunshine. Our room was not quite ready, as we were early, but the charming staff on reception checked us in and offered to bring in our luggage and store it for us . We made our way to the terrace which was attractively arranged with tables with cloths, and there was foliage and umbrellas for welcome shade.We had a lovely light lunch and some local wine which was surprisingly good . By the time we had enjoyed relaxing over lunch our room was ready and luggage was delivered. The room was fabulous ,in baroque style , spacious with door out onto a balcony with table and chairs and the stunning views of Wurzburg. Bathroom was quite small but attractive ,spotless and had bath with shower.As some reviewers have commented there was no air conditioning but a fan had been placed in our room already switched on and blinds closed to keep out the sun in the heat of the day.The quality of the bed linen was first class and pillows soft and comfortable.We had an excellent nights sleep.
Our evening meal was superb and the ambience delightful. The staff were attentive,polite but friendly. We couldn't have wished for better service.
Breakfast was also sublime. Unfortunately we were only staying for one night on our trip exploring the Romantic Road. We cannot fault the hotel in any way and feel we were in a different hotel to the one some reviewers were commenting on. The building is old and therein lies much of its charm,It does not have lifts but I feel installing them would be an intrusion and I am sure there are some rooms that could accommodate people who may have mobility problems.
We loved the whole experience of our stay.We have stayed in many hotels in the UK and other countries and have high expectations and we were not disappointed in the Steinburg.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlossSteinburg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Schlosshotel Steinburg, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Judith T,

Thank you very much for your great feedback!

It is always the best motivation for us and all of our staff members to see our guests happy, as you described it!

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again and remain

with best regards from Würzburg

Schlosshotel Steinburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    76
    44
    19
    3
See reviews for
34
109
10
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We visited Wurzburg for a dear friend's wedding. We booked this hotel as it was the location of the reception and we thought it would be easiest. My friend's wedding was amazing, but my overall experience of the hotel was disappointing.

Here are the cons:

1. No Air conditioning in the castle part of the hotel! I misread the website and/or it was not terribly clear and thought all the rooms were air conditioned. Sadly, only the new ultra modern wing has been renovated and has modern conveniences. It was very hot this past weekend and the room was extremely uncomfortable. However, when we asked for a fan, one was provided for us.

2. No free wifi in the castle either! How can any hotel claim four stars in the 21st century and not have wifi? Wifi was available in the modern hotel but not the castle section.

3. Poor quality sheets/towels/mattresses/pillows. Old sheets, lumpy pillows, and rock hard mattresses; two star hotel quality!

Pros:

1. It really is a spectacular view of Wurzburg from the terrace.
2. We did not order dinner because we were at the wedding reception. However, the meal the hotel restaurant prepared for the wedding was exceptional.
3. Staff attempted to be helpful but clearly do not know what to do about the poor condition of what is supposed to be the most charming part of the hotel.

All things considered, I would not book again.

Room Tip: Though not as charming, the modern section of the hotel is clearly more comfortable. If the Steinbur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlossSteinburg, Manager at Schlosshotel Steinburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Carolyn T.,

Thank you very much for your feedback!

First of all, we are very glad about your commendation about our cuisine, wedding details and staff’s friendliness.

At our homepage, room category „Refugium“ is described with air-condition, but not the other categories. As Schlosshotel Steinburg is a historic castle, we have no air-condition in the older part of the hotel. But of course, we can provide our guests a fan, like in your case. Concerning WiFi, we would be the first to give our guests a free internet access. But as there is a technical problem with our location, it was only possible for our new building „Refugium“. So in some rooms, you have free wireless internet access. For the other ones, we can give you a wire, so you also benefit of a free access. Additionally, we offer a business corner in the new building, so you can use it for free.
Concerning your advice of the bedding quality, please be sure that we will check that immediately. Thank you for this hint.

We would be very glad to welcome you another time and remain

with best regards

Schlosshotel Steinburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Schlosshotel Steinburg on a recent weekend trip to Würzburg. I definitely enjoyed the atmosphere of this hotel, medieval in parts, the views from the terrace overlooking the Main and the city of Würzburg among the vineyard-covered hills were a highlight.

The restaurant was also commendable, with local dishes predominating, although the wait staff could do with a bit more experience, considering the price and reputation of the establishment.

Our room in the main building - there are two annexes as well, one for seminars and quite modern - was decorated in a faux palatial style, but was a bit tired looking, in need of painting, etc. It was evident that the rooms had been last renovated quite a bit of time before. The view out of the side window was of the roof. The bath was up a flight of stairs and not quite up to the purported four star standard.

Nonetheless, the staff was alert and helpful.

The Schlosshotel does have the most ambiance of any hotel within Würzburg. Considering the room price, however, I left feeling not quite satisfied.
Perhaps a coffee on the terrace or lunch in the restaurant to enjoy the atmosphere would have sufficed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GermanyNeedtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlossSteinburg, Manager at Schlosshotel Steinburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear „GermanyNeedtotravel“,

Thank you very much for your feedback!

We are very glad about your commendation concerning our restaurant, food and staff’s friendliness! Regarding to their competence, we have received some new employees, which we have been breaking in. But please be sure that we always enforce staff training.

Concerning your hotel room, we have different kinds of room types: „Castle rooms, Country manor, Castle manor and Refugium rooms“, which are graded from „old, romantic, not renovated, low-priced“ to „modern, new, renovated, high-priced“. If you had one of the castle rooms and were not happy with it, we could recommend one of the new rooms in Castle Manor or Refugium for the next time. The easiest way to have an optimal room, is contacting our reservation team by phone, so we can give advice to you.

We would be glad to welcome you another time and remain

with best regards from Würzburg

Schlosshotel Steinburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This castle on top of the mountain with a wonderful view of Wurzburg is highly recomendable. The room was comfortable, the staff was very friendly and the restaurant, though a bit pricey, is surely excellent, with a great view of the city. The breakfast was excellent..

Room Tip: You need a car to be in this hotel (or really like to hike).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlossSteinburg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Schlosshotel Steinburg, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear “JFAA“,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. It is always the best motivation for us and all of our staff members to see our guests as happy as you described it!

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again and remain

with best regards from Würzburg

Schlosshotel Steinburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

You definitely need a car to stay at this hotel, as it is not in the city centre - saying that, make sure it is a compact car as the drive up to the hotel is quite narrow!! Once you get there though, it's a lovely hotel with a beautiful view over the city - you can have a drink on the terrace and even on a not-so-sunny day it was lovely. We had a very pretty and comfortable room with breakfast included (which was worth it - an excellent breakfast) and can recommend the hotel restaurant - we had two delicious meals there. Unfortunately it was quite rainy during our stay so we didn't get a chance to walk in the vineyards but hopefully next time - we would stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlossSteinburg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Schlosshotel Steinburg, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear “Jesbar11“,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are always glad to hear that our guests felt confident during their stay at the Steinburg. We are very pleased about your positive commendation about the service and the quality of the food.

We hope to welcome you back at the Steinburg for a walk in the vineyards.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again and remain

with best regards from Würzburg

Schlosshotel Steinburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A magnificiebt old castle with a breatgtaking river view. Finest hotel personnel. You realy feel different. The hotel restaurant has a very rich menu. The service is excellent - fast and clean. The rooms are old fashioned but very comfortable. You realy feel like you are living in a castle. Strongly recommended

Room Tip: Riverside rooms have excellent view if you are distyrbed by the trains noise down below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dogan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I recently enjoyed a very nice lunch with local red wine on the terrace of the Restaurant/Hotel. The views of Wuerzburg and the Marienburg Castle is breathtaking and the atmosphere is very relaxing and romantic. The cousine is average, but very good service and friendly wait staff. We took a taxi from the Wuerzburg Bahnhof to the hotel (price of the taxi was approx. 12 Euros) and we walked down to the Wuerzburg City through trails located on the vineyards right below the hotel. The walk from the hotel to the city is very nice and takes about 20 minutes, however from the city to the hotel you will need to take a taxi, or a car. Taxis are waiting at the "Alte Mainbruecke" and the Bahnhof (train station) in the City of Wuerzburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
1.4 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#4 of 46 in Wurzburg
967 reviews
1.5 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#7 of 46 in Wurzburg
285 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Rebstock
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gruener Baum
Hotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 46 in Wurzburg
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Steinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Steinburg

Property: Schlosshotel Steinburg
Address: Reussenweg 2, 97080 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlosshotel Steinburg 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schlosshotel Steinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Steinburg Hotel
Hotel Schloss Steinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing