We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull view, great restaurant and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Schlosshotel Steinburg
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This castle on top of the mountain with a wonderful view of Wurzburg is highly recomendable. The room was comfortable, the staff was very friendly and the restaurant, though a bit pricey, is surely excellent, with a great view of the city. The breakfast was excellent..

Room Tip: You need a car to be in this hotel (or really like to hike).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlossSteinburg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Schlosshotel Steinburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear “JFAA“,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. It is always the best motivation for us and all of our staff members to see our guests as happy as you described it!

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again and remain

with best regards from Würzburg

Schlosshotel Steinburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 250 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

You definitely need a car to stay at this hotel, as it is not in the city centre - saying that, make sure it is a compact car as the drive up to the hotel is quite narrow!! Once you get there though, it's a lovely hotel with a beautiful view over the city - you can have a drink on the terrace and even on a not-so-sunny day it was lovely. We had a very pretty and comfortable room with breakfast included (which was worth it - an excellent breakfast) and can recommend the hotel restaurant - we had two delicious meals there. Unfortunately it was quite rainy during our stay so we didn't get a chance to walk in the vineyards but hopefully next time - we would stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchlossSteinburg, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Schlosshotel Steinburg, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear “Jesbar11“,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are always glad to hear that our guests felt confident during their stay at the Steinburg. We are very pleased about your positive commendation about the service and the quality of the food.

We hope to welcome you back at the Steinburg for a walk in the vineyards.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again and remain

with best regards from Würzburg

Schlosshotel Steinburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A magnificiebt old castle with a breatgtaking river view. Finest hotel personnel. You realy feel different. The hotel restaurant has a very rich menu. The service is excellent - fast and clean. The rooms are old fashioned but very comfortable. You realy feel like you are living in a castle. Strongly recommended

Room Tip: Riverside rooms have excellent view if you are distyrbed by the trains noise down below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dogan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I recently enjoyed a very nice lunch with local red wine on the terrace of the Restaurant/Hotel. The views of Wuerzburg and the Marienburg Castle is breathtaking and the atmosphere is very relaxing and romantic. The cousine is average, but very good service and friendly wait staff. We took a taxi from the Wuerzburg Bahnhof to the hotel (price of the taxi was approx. 12 Euros) and we walked down to the Wuerzburg City through trails located on the vineyards right below the hotel. The walk from the hotel to the city is very nice and takes about 20 minutes, however from the city to the hotel you will need to take a taxi, or a car. Taxis are waiting at the "Alte Mainbruecke" and the Bahnhof (train station) in the City of Wuerzburg.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in Room 12, Castle room with river view during our visit. It was a lovely corner room on the second floor, just above the breakfast room. This is an older hotel/castle, so don't expect any modern amenities- no air condition, no in-room safe, no iron, no bathroom toiletries (wall soap dispenser only). Internet signal was weak. There is also no elevators. But all this actually adds to the castle feel and old world charm. The floors and bed would creak any time we would move, and we could also hear every move our neighbors made. The train was loud even though it was down the hill, but the hotel can't be blamed for this. The young lady at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast had a nice selection and you had the option to eat it in the courtyard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texastikigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The traditional hotel is a gem above the city of Würzburg with its view on the river, the citadel and the whole old city. The rooms are traditional as you would expect in an old manor (no air-conditioning or wi-fi, the building is protected by the Historical building commission) check the sites though http://www.steinburg.com/index_en.html as they are lovely.
The newly finished contemporary aisle conceived for groups and seminars has lovely modern rooms with all kinds of modern accouterments (air-conditioning, electric blinds, wi-fi, double shower), motion sensor lights and views, views, views
We also had a gourmet dinner at the restaurant, on the terrasse, with regional wine tasting (stick to the whites) and visited the amazing cellar, not to be missed.

Room Tip: Choose between castle style (and no air-conditioning) or very contemporary but alsways ask for a riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelistanr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

What a lovely building and setting. We only stayed one night, but the room was charming and the staff was excellent. We enjoyed the pool area with views of all of Wurzburg. And the restaurant is not to be missed. Lucky for us, most of the staff spoke very good English.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#4 of 46 in Wurzburg
1,001 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
1.5 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#8 of 46 in Wurzburg
294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gruener Baum
Hotel Gruener Baum
#2 of 46 in Wurzburg
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
#17 of 46 in Wurzburg
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Steinburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Steinburg

Address: Reussenweg 2, 97080 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range: $168 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlosshotel Steinburg 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HRS, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Schlosshotel Steinburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Steinburg Hotel
Hotel Schloss Steinburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing