We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise nice hotel and god service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ringhotel Wittelsbacher Hoh
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice surprise nice hotel and god service”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and we were gently welcomed. The staff was very helpful and provided us with all the information we needed. Our room was large and well furnished.
We had a good breakfast in the morning, the buffet is a good value for your money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank izn0g00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    30
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
27
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It was not the first time that I stayed at this place. Most of the friendly staff remembered me. The Hotel has been extended lately and for the new guest, it might be a bit confusing to finding the allocated room in case it is located in the older part of the hotel. Also parking can be a bit of a challenge at times, though they added a good dozen of places just beyond the hotel grounds about 100-150m walk away. The view is fantastic and breathtaking over the river and Wurzburg. The rooms are clean and tidy; the restaurant of the hotel offers excellent local and international cuisine. I've gotten used to the minor shortcomings and therefore will come again; the place has a 'feel good' atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r_stanzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The view from the balcony of the room was amazing. I could see castles in the distance. The balcony door was left open allowing bugs to enter the room. I had to sleep with the light on for fear of being attacked by the bugs. They were harmless (no bites in the morning). Trash can still has trash from previous guests. Also found leftover toilettries of prior guests. Bed looks clean. Dinner at the hotel restaurant was quite delicious with lentil soup, beef goulash, and yogurt pudding. Waiter was attractive and professional. Great view from hotel restaurant also. Breakfast has a good selection with boiled eggs, croissants, muffins and fruits...Chocolate chunk muffin was very tasty. The room for breakfast was too small for the number of guests. Some had no place to sit so they stood right by the juice station and the buffet table to drink and eat. This hotel has the potential to be excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyaltyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
916 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 692 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Stayed here recently for a two day sales conference.
The building work previously referred to is still going on but looks like it is nearing completion. This will give an improvement because, as well as the additional room section, it looks like the small reception at the back of the hotel will move to a much larger location at the front of the hotel as you come into the long thin car park and be close to the restaurant and excellent upstairs outside terrace area.
I cannot improve on the description of the previous reviewer who referred to Mad King Ludwig being the interior designer. The hotel, or at least the old original part and restaurant areas ooze character with an overload of old Bavarian style décor (yes this area is officially part of Bavaria I believe, but the locals prefer to refer to themselves as coming from Franconia.), with plenty of heraldic shields, large oil portraits, Suits of armour and the odd cannon dotted about ( I kid you not, I counted two canons in the restaurant section and there could be others hidden in the maze of different level floors.
Unfortunately the new room build section is just plain standard hotel décor and nowhere near as entertaining as the old section of the hotel. Who knows, they may dig him up and get King Ludwig to decorate the new section.
The food and wine we had in the restaurant was excellent, as was the service levels considering they were catering for about 70 people in one sitting.
My room was in the new section and it was large with a modern style bathroom with walk in shower, and a small balcony section that provided excellent views over the city of Wurzburg.
The only gripes I can have are that the hotel restaurant, and even the new room section do not have air conditioning and it was quite warm in the room despite it not being high summer. And the hotel does have internet connection but they charge you a daily rate for it.
Unfortunately I cannot comment on its value for money as I didn’t pay as it was all wrapped up in the conference package. But I found this to be an interesting place to stay if you are visiting the Franconia region of central Germany.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_of_N21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Forewarned is fore-armed, or so we say in the UK, and you will need to brace yourself , if you have a restrained aesthetic, to survive the visual onslaught as you enter this hotel. Pastiche has been taken to new heights, or depths, in this madcap decorative trip through Bavarian architectural history, diverting here and there to Florence and Venice along the way. We have shields; we have coats of arms; we have little painted plaster putti and other religious memorabilia; we have wrought iron, trompe l'oeil (though not much trompe, it has to be said) panelling; industrially-loomed tapestry; fluorescent acetate 'brocade', and colour juxtapositions guaranteed to give those of a delicate decorative constitution an instant migraine. We have absolutely everything. Except restraint.

And if only for this and nothing else, I would urge you to choose this hotel if you are in the area. It's one of those experiences you will be really glad to have had.

But I hate to spoil the fun. As well as all this you will receive a warm welcome from the friendly and helpful staff, a very comfortable room opening to a wonderful view over Wuerzburg (which is only five minutes down the hill), beds you get a good night's sleep in, a clean modern bathroom and a tempting breakfast actually worth what they charge for it.

And now for two, no three, practical tips: if you are approaching the hotel from Wuerzburg it is NOT the one on the left with a massive sign outside it 'Ringhotel Wittelsbacher Hoh'. It is the one a few hundred metres further on on the right with a tiny sign outside 'Ringhotel Wittelsbacher Hoh'. The other tip is to consider how you are going to park your car: the car park is very long and narrow with not many opportunities for turning round, which means if you park too near the reception you could find yourself having to reverse a long way when you come to leave. And then the third: you may need sun-glasses.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NowVoyager56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Previous reviews made this hotel sound like an idyllic location in the vineyards. It is a facility that needs massive renovation and the current remodeling of the terrace area can not rescue what else needs to be done. The hallways were dark and out of the sixties or seventies in decor. The restaurant was acceptable, but the pathway to the restaurant seventies and depressing. The best part was definitely the room. The bathroom was well designed with a large counter and two sinks. The bed was very comfortable and clean. The balcony was essentially unusable and the mansard style roof that also served as the lower part of the balcony blocked what could have been a great view if the shrubbery wasn't so overgrown you could only see scraggly bushes, trees, and ugly rooftops.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moody1in2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Wurzburg is a delightful city with much to see.There seem to be plenty of hotels in the centre,but staying at this hotel gives a rural aspect as well.The immediate surroundings are wooded outer suburbs,with a magnificent view right across the city to the vineyards on the slopes beyond.The downhill walk to the centre takes 20-25 minutes,with a choce of at least three traffic-free routes through the verdant surroundings of the artillery fortifications surrounding the Marienburg palace.For the uphill,we used the bus or taxi,both cheap.
The hotel consists of a 1970s stack of balconied rooms concealed from the road by a fanciful polychrome brick 1890s chalet.An extension,to provide a terrace with car parking beneath,new entrance,and a few more rooms,is under construction.The builders are very tidy,but car parking is very restricted at present.The only detriment for the non car traveller is that the back stairs have to be used for room or restaurant access.
Breakfast is excellent,with hot and cold buffet.Real tea can be made in real pots,with really hot water.The dinner menu has rather an Italian bias.Service is superb in the restaurant.The reception staff are most helpful.My shirts were washed and ironed in 6 hours.
A vast amount has recently been spent on decor in the public areas-entirely covered in neo-mediaeval wallpaintings,ashlar patterns,coats -of-arms,and even a few obese cherubs.There is a cannon in the function room.
Our room(205) was on the third floor,up very fine marble stairs,which I was annoyed to see some overloaded wheeled cases being dragged down,fortunately without apparent damage.We had an entrance lobby with various wardrobes and storage fittings,unfortunately badly lit,a standard size bathroom(shower only) and a bedroom with a twin mattress"double" and a third bed.The double was comfortable,but the single was an ordinary cheap soft British type bed-the room would be better without it.The minibar held some excellent local wines.All the decor was new and fresh,especially the heraldic pattern carpet. The room had no fan or airconditioning,but ,being north facing and at 600 feet above the town,seemed very comfortable on a warm day.
The one fitting in sore need of improvement was the clingy plastic shower curtain.A proper sliding door enclosure could be fitted with no structural alterations.This ,and the missing light bulb in the lobby,are my only real criticisms.I shall be back

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
2.0 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#4 of 46 in Wurzburg
967 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
#15 of 46 in Wurzburg
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
1.6 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#7 of 46 in Wurzburg
285 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Gruener Baum
Hotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 46 in Wurzburg
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Wittelsbacher Hoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Wittelsbacher Hoh

Property: Ringhotel Wittelsbacher Hoh
Address: Hexenbruchweg 10, 97082 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ringhotel Wittelsbacher Hoh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ringhotel Wittelsbacher Hoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ringhotel Hotel Wittelsbacher Hoh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing