We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Top Hotel Amberger

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Top Hotel Amberger
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Ottawa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

A very handy location close to all the downtown attractions that Wurzburg has to offer. The rooms were quiet and our corner room had an ante chamber that prevented any hallway noise from disturbing our sleep. The hotel is old (this is a hotel in an older city in Europe) but was clean and well kept. There is inadequate parking on site but they will arrange for discounted parking at the nearby theatre. Other reviewers have commented on less than stellar dinner service. We did not and did not plan to have dinner on site but found the breakfast buffet excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    65
    42
    11
    4
See reviews for
18
49
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niwot, Colorado
Level Contributor
381 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This Hotel is located close to the Theater, Rot Kreuz Hospital and all the downtown shopping and attractions. We stayed here for a total of four days in conjunction with a family hospital visit. The Hotel is old and some of the furniture is somewhat dated, but it is clean clean and most of the staff is friendly and service oriented. The breakfast is fresh and plentiful with a good variety of hot and cold items. The cost is reasonable, around 75 Euro's for a single room, including breakfast. I can recommend this Hotel for short business and vacation/touring stays.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marton-in-Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2011

There are, if I recall correctly, seven high steps from the street to the reception area and no assisted disabled access.
Storage space in room limited and not a single drawer.
Woefully slow service in restaurant but no criticism of waitresses who worked very hard and were always pleasant. There was only one working for most of the time and from starting one's meal at 7-30pm it took 45 to 50 minutes to be served with the generally very poor main course.
Probably adequate for a late arrival and no evening meal then breakfast (excellent) and travel to next stop.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bisichsterbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stokesley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

1. although the bedrooms were generally very good the air conditioning system in them was not.
2. there was only room in the lift for at most 5 people & only 2 if they had suitcases.
3. There was no lounge in the hotel & only 4 seats for guests in the reception area
4.When we asked where the bar was, we were told that there wasn’t one!
5.WORST OF ALL : there was no choice at the evening meal – either take it or leave it. Because of this some of the people on the trip went elsewhere for evening meals on more than 1 occasion. Some of the meals were of poor quality.

We understand that this hotel had already been used by National Holidays on previous occasions & we would be surprised if people on these tours had not brought the problems to the attention of the company.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wurzburg hotels

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We have just come back from a weeks stay at this hotel as part of a coach trip with National Holidays first the good points. Nice clean room with a comfortable bed. Good location .Within a few minutes of town centre. They do not have a bar so you have to go elsewhere for drinks. The evening meal was just put in front of us. No choice no description. The first night was a salad then soup ( dishwater with few shreds of veg) main course was meat of some description a salty sauce and potatoes. Dessert was sour fruit with a splodge of cream on top. Next day breakfast was buffet style help yourself. Great choices and plentiful. Evening again no choice just dishes put down in front of you. Chewy meat ( no idea what) overcooked rubbery pasta and peppery sauce. Most people gave up and went next door for pizza or up the road for a traditional dish. I would suggest you go bed and breakfast for your stay then there is no problem. Lots of places to eat very close to hotel.

Room Tip: our room was at the front not too noisy. The bed comfortable. Easy walk to the town centre. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The Amberger hotel is located near the city center and very close to the Residenz Palace also. It is quite charming in its fashion since it's a small, city center, old hotel. Rooms are rather small in size, with ok bathrooms and the furniture is rather outdated. Of course, being a german 3 star hotel it is rather basic, but clean. We liked our room that was on the street side and had a pretty balcony.
The elevator is quite claustrophobic and the stairs are wooden and squeaky at times.
The breakfast experience is very good, with a large choice of fresh food, both hot and cold.

Room Tip: Our friends room had a door between the room and a small lobby at the entrance and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HadrianB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a small hotel which is close to the Residence - a grand palace in Wurzburg. It is very convenient to the main sights in the town. It is an older hotel with fake flowers in the foyer. It has a tiny little lift and a creaky set of internal stairs. The breaksfast is fine - scrambled eggs and sausages, cold meats, cereals, juices and tea and coffee and a small selesction of pastries. It is a good little hotel with clean sheets, and a clean bathroom. There is no airconditioning so we found it a little hot in the summer months and slept with the windows open.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koalakaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#3 of 45 in Wurzburg
950 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.4 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
#14 of 45 in Wurzburg
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
0.2 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#8 of 45 in Wurzburg
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Hotel Amberger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Hotel Amberger

Property: Top Hotel Amberger
Address: Ludwigstr. 17 - 19, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Top Hotel Amberger 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Top Hotel Amberger Wuerzburg, a family owned city hotel with personal flair, offers 70 rooms with the highest standards of service and hospitality, providing the comfort and facilities of a modern 3*** hotel. Every room is equipped with bath tub or shower, toilette, cable-TV, free wifi, direct dial telephone, mini bar, alarm clock, hair dryer and radio. Windows in every room have noise reduction system. Meetings can be organized in the Top Amberger Hotel Wuerzburg for up to 40 persons in about 2 air-conditioned conference rooms. Start your day with an excellent breakfast buffet or enjoy your evening in our cosy restaurant La Fenice. The hotel offers Italian and International specialities with a selection of recommended wines. For guests arriving by car, a hotel garage is at your disposal. For business or leisure travellers, the 3*** star Top Amberger Hotel Wuerzburg offers a perfect location in the heart of Wuerzburg city. Nearby you will find many attractions and vineyards. From the Top Amberger Hotel Wuerzburg, the main railway station and other public transports are easily reachable in a short walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Top Hotel Amberger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel würzburg
Top Hotel Wurzburg
würzburg Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing