We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
chester
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We chose this hotel as it was only a short, ten minute, walk from the railway station and we were taking day trips by train to various other towns, i.e. Rothenburg and Bamburg. We were surprised to find when we arrived that there is extensive building work going on beside the hotel to the conference centre and it was very dusty and noisy at times. Also the water was switched off at one time. We were told this work will be continuing until Christmas 2014 so potential guests should be aware of this, it is only fair.
To avoid having a view of the building works we requested a room overlooking the front of the hotel and this was fine, although a little drab and the airconditioning was not very effective.
We wanted to eat in the terrace restaurant which has lovely views, but was told that this was only open for breakfast and for tour groups, so we ate in the town at different venues.
I think this hotel is more used to dealing with tour groups and conference groups, rather than individual guests.

Room Tip: Due to the ongoing building work at the back of the hotel, we would recommend a room overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterhappydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verkauf_wur, Verkaufsleiter at Maritim Hotel Wurzburg, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel and we would like to mention we were happy to have you as our guest.

We are sorry about your inconvenience during your stay with us. At present we did have to make some adjustments due to the construction works of the adjunctant congress center. Since there are massive constructions going on which affect our property the operation of some facilities are held flexible.

Please do understand that our high level standard services are at all times available at the outlets in use and our staff is individually looking after every guest if business traveller, group or individual traveller as your self.

We dearly hope you will keep our beautiful city in good memory and visit us once again during your next trip to Wuerzburg.

Kind regards
Maritim Hotel Wuerzburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    190
    188
    69
    15
See reviews for
54
129
33
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed in the hotel because the conference was here. But it was not at all user friendly with expensive wifi which is essential for business. The business centre was only free for 30 mins a day and as very little instructions were in English it was hard to utilise the time effectively

Room Tip: There are cheaper better value hotels nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

OK, nice hotel, very reminiscent of the 1980s...

Staff a little laid back and not very energetic but old-time European cosiness. Nice for a change after all those all same-same super modern chains, if that's what you like of course... I did.
DO NOT JUMP INTO THE POOL it's maybe 50 cm high...

Winter of 2013

On a side note, they had absolutely no understanding of what a vegetarian diet looks like, or what I DIDN't want to find in my food. The restaurant staff was nice and did try to help but just didn't get the idea. So if it's an issue ask somebody to write a note in German to explain.

Room Tip: Also, they have a reception hall: if noise is an issue ask for a room on the other side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed here recently for a conference. It was convenient to stay here for the conference which took place within the hotel. Otherwise, the hotel was overpriced for the overall condition. The hotel rooms are clean but dated. The beds were not very comfortable. At least the breakfast buffet was included. As Wurzburg is not very large, the tourist attractions and restaurants are all within walking distance from the hotel. Wifi is not included, though there is wifi available for purchase via T-mobile hotspot (4.95 euros/day or 19.95 euros/week).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer7160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four days for a work conference. Everything is clean, staff are nice. But the hotel is tired and dated. Light switch in our room sizzled. Bedding of duvet and pillows smelled old. The food in the restaurant is old-school continental of the cold mayonnaise salad, gray soup,canned fruit, vegetables cooked to death in a steam table kind. The location is excellent, the river and lovely river walk is right beside it, and there is a huge construction project next door which I hope includes a fresh hotel for Maritim. New cooking style, refreshed rooms and lobby are badly needed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Birdish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Wurzburg is a lovely little town and I was here for a conference, the hotel is nice with spacious and comfortable rooms. There is an integral bar that is very pleasent and can be lively in the evening depending on the conference. Car park below makes driving nice and easy and you will probably need a car. The breakfast food is OK but the staff are superb and nothing is too much trouble whether it is conference related or something in the hotel. We had a nice meal event meal in one of the upstairs banquet rooms which was served well and plenty of time for drinks/relaxing afterwards. Certainly recommend this hotel although it isn't cheap. Agree with other reviews that in places it could do with a extra clean but it's pleasent enough. The balconies on the room provide a nice way of getting some fresh air as well.

Room Tip: Enjoy the balconies and explore the town and Christmas market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ITJuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My colleagues and I had a long stay here this time. Staff were friendly and attentive, breakfast was sensational every morning and even the little things such as laundry services etc just worked perfectly. It's a great location in Wurzburg and an easy walk to pretty much anywhere in the "CBD" area which is littlered with restaurants, cafes and the like. Much better than my first time here. Rates were very good and parking was easy, cheap and secure. Would be happy to come back again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a bed that cannot be split
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLCSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#4 of 46 in Wurzburg
967 reviews
0.9 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#7 of 46 in Wurzburg
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Wuerzburg City
Ibis Wuerzburg City
#5 of 46 in Wurzburg
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Wurzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Wurzburg

Property: Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
Address: Pleichertorstr. 5, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Wurzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally and not very far from the main railway station, the elegant Maritim Hotel Würzburg stands waiting for its guests. Located directly on the banks of the Main, it offers a splendid view of the Marienberg fortress towering high above the city. You can comfortably explore the baroque inner city with its numerous sights on foot. Elegant ambience, together with friendly hospitable people, and the direct connection to the newly renovated and extended Würzburg Congress Center create ideal pre-requisites for every kind of travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Hotel Wurzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel würzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing