We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, older, Maritim.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Wurzburg
Ranked #16 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This old hotel is located very nicely close the main rhiver. I had a nice view to the river and the castle in the background. Breakfast was as expected; they serve the usual coffee, comparable to the coffees you get in planes or 95% of the other hotels. Staff is as expected professionally friendly, nothing to complain about. The hotel itself is not state of the art, from the carpets, to the lamps, to the pictures on the wall to the brown dark wooden furniture in my room with a single bed (was surprised that that kind of rooms still exist in business hotels...), to the mattress, to the tube tv, everything is old and not really beautiful in my personal opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lofts3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verkauf_wur, Manager at Maritim Hotel Wurzburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear „Lofts3008“,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Please excuse that the Maritim Hotel Würzburg has been around 29 years and that it is one of the most traditional hotels in the Maritim chain. We are trying to do renovations in the hotel to be up to date. We ask for your understanding that the renovations can only be performed successively.

We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed the view to the river main and the fortress Marienberg. It’s also nice to read that you perceived our staff professionally and friendly. Certainly we will pass your praise to the colleagues.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Würzburg.

Sincerely yours
General Manager

MARITIM Hotel Würzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 558 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

We arrived in Wurzburg without a reservation and due to the upcoming Mozart festival all the hotels we wanted to stay at were booked. The Maritim had a room left and we jumped on it sight unseen.

It's a rather large hotel built in the mid 80s and it looks like they haven't made any major upgrades since. Upon walking into the lobby you are hit with the odor of stale cigarettes. Our room was on the 7th floor but the elevator only goes to six. So, if you don't want to climb the last flight of stairs with your luggage, ask for a lower floor. The room was big and the bathroom adequate- still using a shower curtain when many comparable hotels have gone to the more attractive glass panel. No wifi in the hotel unless you want to pay for a T-Mobile hotspot.
The hotel hosts small conferences, so it's primarily a business person's place. The front desk staff was not particularly friendly. Breakfast had a wide variety of foods but it was very crowded. You felt you had to protect your table or someone would steal it. There are much nicer places in town, just make sure you reserve ahead of time

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verkauf_wur, Manager at Maritim Hotel Wurzburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter „Iislander“,

vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben uns auf tripadvisor.de zu bewerten.

Da unser Haus seit 29 Jahren existiert, gehört unser Haus zu den älteren Hotels der Maritim Hotelgesellschaft. Selbstverständlich sind wir stetig dabei, unser Haus auf den neusten Stand zu bringen. Wir bitten Sie um Verständnis, dass die Renovierungsarbeiten nur Schritt für Schritt umzusetzen sind. Die architektonischen Gegebenheiten machen den kleinen Treppenaufstieg zur 7.Etage leider unausweichlich. Gerne bieten wir Ihnen aber immer einen Gepäckservice an und sind Ihnen jederzeit behilflich.

Durch das Raucherverbot, dass bei uns in Bayern gilt, rauchen viele Gäste vor dem Haupteingang. Wenn Gäste durch die Eingangstüre kommen, kann es vorkommen, dass der Zigarettenrauch mit in die Lobby dringt. Dies stellt aber nicht den Regelfall dar. Für die Unannehmlichkeiten während des Aufenthaltes möchten wir uns bei Ihnen entschuldigen.

Neben dem kostenpflichtigen Hotspot der Deutschen Telekom, an den wir vertraglich gebunden sind, und einer Kabel-Internetpauschale bieten wir jedem Gast unser Businesscenter an, in dem Sie gerne das Internet nutzen können. Gern informieren wir Sie bei einem nächsten Aufenthalt genauer über die Optionen der Internetnutzung.

Uns ist es wichtig, dass jeder Gast freundlich und mit einem Lächeln empfangen wird. Wir bedauern zu hören, dass dies nicht der Fall war. Wir möchten uns bei Ihnen für die Reaktion seitens des Personals entschuldigen. Wir haben die genannten Punkte mit der Abteilung besprochen und danken Ihnen sehr für Ihr Feedback.

Es freut uns, dass Ihnen die Auswahl des Frühstücksbuffets zugesagt hat.
Da wir ein großes Hotel sind und an dem Tag ausgebucht waren, bitten wir Sie um Verständnis, dass am Frühstücksbuffet viel los war.

Wir hoffen, dass Sie uns ein weiteres Mal besuchen und uns so die Chance geben, Sie von unserer Qualität überzeugen zu können.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Ihr
MARITIM Hotel Würzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here in May on an escorted tour. There were over forty in our party and there were a number of other large groups staying at the same time. However, this in no way detracted from the excellent service and attentiveness of the staff.
Our room was on the ground floor and well appointed.It was tastefully furnished and immaculately serviced.
All members of staff were courteous, polite,helpful and efficient.
In general, the catering was very good and while some of the main courses were a little lacklustre, the starters, desserts and the breakfast buffet were of exceptional quality.
Our three night stay ended all too quickly but we took with us lovely memories of Wurzburg coloured by the comfort and welcome experienced at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ground floor was excellent for us but some of our party staying on higher floors complained of stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizKPershoreWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verkauf_wur, Manager at Maritim Hotel Wurzburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013
Google Translation

Sehr geehrte „LizKPershoreWorcs“,

vielen herzlichen Dank für diese überaus positive und lobende Bewertung.

Es ist schön zu lesen, dass Ihnen unser Haus zugesagt hat. Äußerst angenehm ist es zu hören, dass Ihnen die Freundlichkeit und Hilfsbereitschaft unserer Mitarbeiter in guter Erinnerung geblieben ist. Jedes Lob motiviert uns stetig unser Bestes zu geben, damit sich jeder Gast bei uns wohlfühlt.

Das Ziel unserer Mitarbeiter ist es, Ihren Aufenthalt bei uns so angenehm wie möglich zu gestalten. Ihr Lob hinsichtlich der Sauberkeit und Ausstattung der Zimmer, geben wir gerne an unsere Housekeeping Abteilung weiter.

Wir freuen uns zu hören, dass wir Ihnen einen schönen Start in den Tag ermöglichen konnten und dass Ihnen die Qualität der Speisen des Frühstücksbuffets zugesagt hat.

Wir bedanken uns für die anerkennenden Worte und hoffen Sie bei Ihrem nächsten Besuch in Würzburg erneut bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen.

Mit herzlichen Grüßen
Ihr
MARITIM Hotel Würzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed there for a night in April 2013. Good location, in city centre, staff were very friendly . Room was clean and had twin bed . In-suite facility was of good size and clean .Large restaurant on the first floor ,breakfast was good and there was a good variety of food. Clean hallways and lobby, reception staff was very helpful and professional. Language storing facility was very helpful and secure, this was much appreciated as I was leaving Wurzburg around 5PM but I checked out earlier.

Room Tip: Restaurant is on first floor and the lift stops there. There is no direct access from the lift to ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dendoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were here at a conference that took place next door at the adjoining conference center. Our room was spacious but the furnishing was substandard for a 4* hotel. Despite these drawbacks, the buffet breakfast was good and we enjoyed the view of the river at a corner table with lots of morning sunshine.

Room Tip: Avoid the smoker's rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Greenlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verkauf_wur, Manager at Maritim Hotel Wurzburg, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear "Greenlee M",

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay.

We are always eager to update our rooms. The refurbishment is realised step by step. Thank you for your appreciation that it takes some time.

We are happy to hear that you liked our breakfast and the great view from our terrace restaurant. We will certainly transfer you kind feedback to our staff.
Nevertheless, regarding your hint : Already while booking please always let us know whether you´d prefer a smoking or nonsmoking room. We are pleased to reserve the rooms at guest´s option.

We hope you had a save journey home and we would be glad to get another chance to convince you entirely with our service quality.

Yours sincerely


General Manager
MARITIM Hotel Würzburg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is fairly dated, but our room was clean and we had a view of the river. Parking is available at 8euros a day right under the hotel. It's an easy walk to the old town and the Residenz. Breakfast was included and the buffet has lots of options. The hotel is pet friendly and the staff were generally hospitable. As we were leaving however, the front desk staff attempted to charge me 50 euros for a disturbance they claimed my dog had made. I kept asking when this had occurred, as he's generally calm and we weren't out late. Eventually, she looked at my room number and told me she was mistaken, it was someone else. An unfortunate end to what was otherwise a nice stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several times and have no complaints. Rooms are comfortable, the swimming pool is a good size, sauna is of a good standard and its within walking distance of the train station. The bar staff always accomodate our special requests re basic food which is not on the menu. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerHB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Novotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wuerzburg
#4 of 46 in Wurzburg
1,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.9 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#9 of 46 in Wurzburg
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Rebstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Wurzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Wurzburg

Address: Pleichertorstr. 5, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range: $108 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Wurzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located centrally and not very far from the main railway station, the elegant Maritim Hotel Würzburg stands waiting for its guests. Located directly on the banks of the Main, it offers a splendid view of the Marienberg fortress towering high above the city. You can comfortably explore the baroque inner city with its numerous sights on foot. Elegant ambience, together with friendly hospitable people, and the direct connection to the newly renovated and extended Würzburg Congress Center create ideal pre-requisites for every kind of travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Maritim Hotel Wurzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel würzburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing