We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but musty room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Wuerzburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Wuerzburg
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good hotel but musty room”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Looking from the lobby the hotel seems quite modern and clean, but the room had some problem as it had a really musty odour probably coming from the sewer on the toilet (the room itself didn't feel that damp or moldy). Other than that, the room was very nice and clean.

Parking is in the garage is quite a labyrinth and cramped, but we managed to find a free spot.

The breakfast was a bit pricey (17 EUR / person) but otherwise ok. On the first day we actually skipped the breakfast and had a lunch insted, which was very good.

There is a spa on the hotel premises, but we did not try it during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    452
    169
    27
    8
See reviews for
296
303
73
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family of 4 stayed here for 1 night. When you first enter the hotel, the lobby looks very clean and modern. Staff is very helpful and polite. There is also a computer available for your Internet use. A bar and restaurant is also located past the lobby. Breakfast was very good, especially the coffee! Many choices for hot & cold breakfast. The room was very spacious, beds are very comfortable. Bathroom was very nice and spacious compared to other hotel bathrooms I've seen in Germany. About 15-20 minute leisure walk to the attractions. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank om6114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We found this one simple, but comfortable, friendly, clean, pretty spacious for Europe, great beds. Locations is convenient enough - paid $20 euro for a taxi from Vienna downtown. Love the breakfast. Maybe this Novotel is not the best one of the chain, but you will get the basic promised comfort and service. I recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elenasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil
Level Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The hotel is what you expect from a Novotel: confortable but not luxurious, with the basic amenities and not very charming.
It is located on a quiet side street very close to the Residenz and about 15 minutes walk from the city center.
I found the reception staff efficient but not very friendly.
Excellent breakfast!
The room is spacious but a little outdated. In fact, I found the room slightly worse than in other Novotel I've stayed in.
I've booked a business package with internet included, but the wifi was of poor quality (slow and sometimes didn't work).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here on our way to Austria. The hotel is on a quiet side street just 5 minutes walk from the Residenz. It has underground secure car parking at 11Euros per night. Room was larger than average, good breakfasts and attentive staff. We used the restuarant one night and it was fine.
Only negative comment was that we were given a non-smoking room but it had only been recently converted from smoking and the odour was quite evident. We had been offered a suite on check-in but declined as they are not as nice as the rooms unless you really want to cook.

Room Tip: don't take a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Disappointing. We booked a so called business room. Several problems presented themselves. We noted a faint drains smell on entry into the room, wishing to make a cup of tea each we discovered there was only one cup and one black tea bag amongst a small collection of beverage sachets. We also found that the washbasin was cracked and the carpet had a distinct stain. The room did not come up to "business" expectation. 
On complaining we were re-roomed without any fuss. The new room was definitely fresher smelling however it was smaller and there was still only one black tea  bag although there was a fruit tea and peppermint tea, no complementary bottle of water  as in the original room and only one soap bar compared with two in the original room. The house keeping certainly needs tightening up. 
The location is good, the town is very interesting. There is an underground car park with a rather tight entrance. Larger cars need to be accurately positioned to avoid scraping.
Restaurant for dinner was very good. 

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelicityBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night and organised a all day meeting for our German Offices. On check-in, staff were friendly and helpful, meeting rooms were prepared and our rooms were fine (little tired). The breakfast the next day was a challenge, in getting a table prepared for 4 guests outside.. In the end we got there after 15 mins. My real turn off was compared to other Novotel's even in Germany the welcome light snacks for our offices was poor. It was not helped that as they were running two events at the same time ( us 45 mins later) we were left with the left overs.. My complain was not taken seriously. Apart from staff not being interested its fine for a night.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Wuerzburg am Mainufer
0.2 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Wurzburg
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Rebstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gruener Baum
Hotel Gruener Baum
#1 of 46 in Wurzburg
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
Hotel Wurzburger Hof
#7 of 46 in Wurzburg
256 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Wuerzburg City
Ibis Wuerzburg City
#5 of 46 in Wurzburg
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Wuerzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Wuerzburg

Property: Novotel Wuerzburg
Address: Eichstr. 2, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wurzburg
#3 Family Hotel in Wurzburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wurzburg
#6 Business Hotel in Wurzburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Wuerzburg 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Wurzburg is located in the heart of this Baroque city. In the centre of the picturesque Old Town, between the cathedral and the Wurzburg Residenz, this 4 star hotel welcomes business travellers and holidaymakers from around the world with 167 elegant, lovingly refurbished rooms and eight multifunction conference rooms. In our restaurants our chefs will spoil you with international and regional cuisine. Unwind in our Relax Spa with swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Wuerzburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Wuerzburg Hotel
Novotel Hotel würzburg
Novotel Hotel Wuerzburg
Novotel Wurzburg
würzburg Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing