We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything but the Kitchen Sink!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Market Square

Market Square
Ranked #5 of 71 things to do in Wurzburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Würzburg's popular outdoor marketplace hosts vendors offering a wide selection of goods.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
397 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Everything but the Kitchen Sink!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Wurzburg is a beautiful city of 125,000 people and a quarter of thes are students. The Market square is a busy hub of food and everything else. A summers day brings out the locals and the sidewalk cafes and markets buzz with activity. The market runs all through the week and is a must for the casual visitor.
Just visiting I too wished I could stay a week and soak up this beautiful town. Bavaria is beautiful and Wurzburg is Wuunderful...........!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunner do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    174
    53
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bodø
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wine festival!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were lucky to witness wine festival in town with amazing food and drinks several days in a row. The atmosphere was priceless, all town gathered in one square, we struggled to find a chair to sit. Wurzburg is charming and so is the Market square.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewWave69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wurzburg Market”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Short walk from the Alter Kranen. Everything from vegetables to souveniers. Vendors very friendly, decent prices.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Otto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a shopping place”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Looking at the extraordinary offer of fresh vegetables we deeply regretted that we did not have an apartment to buy and cook all this stuff. Especially the asparagus was extremely tempting. You will also find Marienkapelle there which is a very interesting gothic place - take your time to stody the portals !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
202 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“the navel of Wurzburg”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

It was small number of people in the square when I visited there on Thursday, but was very active market on Saturday.
There were flowers, harb, fruits and vegetables were sold at lots of stalls.
In the stalls of vegetables, white asparagus that grew as large as I have never seen in Japan was sold.
I ate smoked eel and mackarel with onion sandwiches at seafood stall.
There is Brunnenobelisk is located the center of the Marktplatz.
It was created in 1808 by J.A. Gärtner.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1100PlumGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Square also viewed

Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
 
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
Wurzburg, Lower Franconia
 

Been to Market Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing