We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Wine outlet at a hospital - a curious combination!

The wine shop is well-stocked with wines from the vineyards associated with the Juliusspital... read more

Reviewed November 1, 2016
Robert D
,
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Ruth is brilliant

We had a guided tour of Juliusspital area and Ruth did an excellent job. The architecture is... read more

Reviewed September 18, 2016
lyndonc960
,
Calgary, Canada
via mobile
Read all 47 reviews
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Wurzburg
from $14.75
More Info
from $140.91
More Info
from $47.35
More Info
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
22
20
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
22
20
3
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 47 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2016

The wine shop is well-stocked with wines from the vineyards associated with the Juliusspital hospital. It does seem odd to have a display cabinet of wine in the entrance to a hospital, though! White wine prices range from inexpensive to dear. One downside - the assistant was unable to tell what are the differences in wine types (either in German or in English).

Date of experience: October 2016
2  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

We had a guided tour of Juliusspital area and Ruth did an excellent job. The architecture is breathless and the scenery is just stunning. She gave us a wine tour and the historical significance of the winery and the culture. What a great way to spend a relaxing and eye opening experience at the same time. The wine qual is excellent. I highly recommend it.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank lyndonc960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2015

We were just passing by and were curious to check the impressive building. Very surprise to discover that it is actually a working hospital, with a huge history, gardens and own wine production. Probably looks much better in spring or summer as the park did not have much to offer in December.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Irina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2015

I would not normally recommend a working hospital as a tourist destination, but hidden behind this old building is a great garden that is like an oasis. In one corner are some vines where the different soils common in this area are used. A really nice place to come and look around, chill out.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank Dalty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2015

If I would be ill, and I should get into a hospital, the Juliusspital would be my choise. In 1573 Julius Echter founded this hospital, which is still today is a working hospiatl. Two beautiful gardens, with trees and flowers, and a beautiful baroque fountain with the symbol of four frank rivers - Main, Saale, Sinn and Taiber.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank 545medva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews