We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average. OK for a night or 2”
Review of Hotel Meesenburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Meesenburg
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The City Hotel Meesenburg was the least expensive of the hotels we found in Wurzburg. It was Approx. $96 (75 Euro) for a king bed in a pretty small room. You could also get a double in a bigger room (with a better layout) for $109 (85 Euro). A basic breakfast was included with both. Other hotels in Wurzburg were around $120 and up. Meesenburg is a dated, no frills hotel but if you're looking for a budget night or 2 it's fine. The room was fairly clean but there was no shampoo provided. The method of entering the hotel at night was a bit strange but worked out fine. The good news is that the Meesenburg is located in a convenient part of town- walking distance to several important areas. The front desk recommended a German/Italian restaurant right across the street that had great food in a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Approx. $96 (75 Euro) for a king bed in a pretty small room. You can also get a double in a bigger r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizzEDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

So bad even the bedbugs have left, mattress so bad instead of counting sheep you can count the bed springs digging into your bad accompanied by the musical squeaking of said springs. We thought we were getting a shower but it turned out to be a slowly filling bath (but without the plug). The remote does not work but if you shake it it turns off the T.V. The bread the next morning was cold, the cheese curling, the meat was salami which they could not ruin. As it is right on the square there is a lot of traffic noise so if you are a light sleeper be aware. It was in a good location, and the town itself was nice with some lovely attractions.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tturtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed or only one night and still regret it. The hotel smells, is not clean and the staff stared at my daughter all the time in an uncomfortable way. The location is good and the breakfast is ok as well, but those won't make up to the old fashioned rooms, quirky doors and questionable bath room facilities. Not advised.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor due to lack of elevator/wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nasnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

great location, walking distance to all attractions. The room was small but nice and clean.
Great breakfast. Very friendly ans helpfull staff.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank igof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

If the staff would just talk or smile! They just look at you and say nothing.
Nice breakfast, internet an OK rooms (dated and old looking but clean).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeinhardG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Across the street from two more expensive hotels in an area near the river and the Residenz. Very reasonably priced with small, but clean rooms. Softest towels in Germany! Included breakfast was at best average. No free parking in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vazmann2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Stayed there one night and it absolutely fulfilled my wishes. Near to the center, low prices (compared to bigger hotels nearby), friendly staff and the best of all: a large breakfast (offering even fish). I had booked a room without bathroom, the toilet and the shower were on the same floor. Everything was clean. The furniture seemed a bit elderly but I didn't care so much about these details.
All in all I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schlauchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wurzburg hotels
3.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Wurzburg Ost
Ibis Budget Wurzburg Ost
#26 of 46 in Wurzburg
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brauerei Gasthof Kraus
Brauerei Gasthof Kraus
#37 of 46 in Wurzburg
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence
Hotel Residence
#34 of 46 in Wurzburg
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Wurzburg-Sud
0.4 mi away
Poppular City Hotel
Poppular City Hotel
#30 of 46 in Wurzburg
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Partner Hotel Strauss
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meesenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meesenburg

Address: Pleichertorstr. 8, 97070 Wurzburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Wurzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 46 Hotels in Wurzburg
Price Range: $93 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Meesenburg 1*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Meesenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing