We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Searching For”
Review of Klosterstuble

Klosterstuble
Ranked #12 of 114 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Kingston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Worth Searching For”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

There are probably dozens of Gasthäuser in Rotenburg, and the Klosterstuble doesn't stand out since it's tucked down a side street, not too far from the Burggarten. We had looked at the hotel in the same location but booked elsewhere; nonetheless the reviews told me the restaurant was worth visiting. It was well worth it. It's an attractive restaurant inside, with a nice terrace to one side. We sat there. The menu is focused toward Franconian specialties and although the German dishes are translated into English it's better to read them in German (they sound weird in English!). We began with Fladle suppe (pancake soup - see, it doesn't cound right in English). My wife had Pfifferlinge for her main, very tasty, and I had the Sauerbraten, also excellent. The beer is good, the wine is fine. Service is quick, efficient and the staff pleasant. Best of all, it is very affordable. Worth the effort to locate.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbmcnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    56
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great last night in Rothenburg”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We just had our last meal in Rothenburg. Each of our prior restaurants during our two day stay came out of the top five recommendations on Tripadvisor. All were excellent. Klosterstuble was across the street from our hotel, and because of the rain, we decided to try it for dinner. You need reservations, but we had none. They put us at a table with other people, but we were separated by empty chairs. The meal was tremendous and the wait staff was attentive and helpful. i would move this restaurant to the top of the list when we come back to Rothenburg... and we will be coming back. What a wonderful little city.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bill p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richboro, PA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Beautiful Town”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed in the hotel for one night in July 2013. The rooms were great and spacious. Although I would mind having some air-conditioning, it wasn't too bad with open windows. The breakfast in the hotel was wonderful, and we were all impressed by the nice china. If I ever visit Rothenburg again, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BGorberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Service”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was our first meal in Rothenburg and we had dinner there in December 2013. We heard about it from Rick Steves and while I would agree that the traditional dining room is cozier, it also felt crowded while we were in it, waiting to be seated. We ended up sitting in the larger room which was fine, with nice ambience touches. Food was very good and service was attentive and helpful. We had a bottle of wine with our dinner and while the list is not extensive, most options were fairly priced with several good options.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant_Foodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“Wonderful food, lovely outside seating, beautiful town!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We visited this restaurant in March 2012 while visiting friends in Germany. We loved the ambiance and food! We sat out on a lovely outdoor terrace and enjoyed our beer and German food while hearing the church bells nearby.

I would highly recommend this restaurant if you ever make it to Rothenburg ob ter Tauber.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CuriousTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klosterstuble also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Klosterstuble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing