We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“it was....fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Klosterstuble

Klosterstuble
Ranked #10 of 111 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“it was....fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed in the hotel and that is a different review...but in addition to the included breakfast, we dined here for dinner our first night. As with all places in the walled town, dinner reservations should be made during high tourist times...like Christmas Market season. We were very hopeful when they had our favorite German beer and then they served us a wonderful pumpkin soup with seared quail breast. It was really wonderful....creamy, full of flavor and seasoned to perfection. Then the entrees came. We didn't order the specials which might have been the first mistake as our friends did and were thrilled with their entrees. We opted for the pork with garlic butter and the spaetzle. Both were nasty. The pork had NO flavor at all and the spaetzle was a blob of flavorless chewy nasty starch. I was so looking forward to it too....The chocolate souffle was not a souffle but more of a little cake. The berries were divine but again...it was a hit and miss thing. I wouldn't chance dinner here again as there are many other places in town to eat. I will say however that the service was great

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pilotgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    52
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at the hotel and ate there for dinner, breakfast n'extrade morning and lunch and in all case food was excellent. The hotel rooms are also very nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-François A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
743 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were staying in the hotel and rather than search for a place to eat on our first night, gave this restaurant a try. I prefer the look of the stone and exposed beams in the hotel's breakfast room versus the more clean, modern look of the restaurant however the atmosphere was warm and welcoming. The staff is very friendly, helpful with selections and spoke english. We particularly enjoyed their soups both the pumpkin and the potato. Our meals were tasty and well prepared. This will sound strange but our whole family commented on how beautiful the bathroom was in the restaurant. The staff was great and even brought us dessert and coffee into the lobby area of the hotel one evening as we were on our laptops using the wifi.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, pa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good, but not distinctive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good food at reasonble prices. Kind of a noisy table near by made it tough to carry on a conversation, but that can happen anytime. Nothing to complain about, but nothing to rave about either. I recommend the Burgerkeller across the street instead.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PSUkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel and decided to try the restaurant. We shared a large tale with another couple and enjoyed a visit with them. The food was good and the atmosphere very pleasant. We enjoyed the salad and apple strudel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klosterstuble also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Klosterstuble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing