We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best local food”
Review of Klosterstuble

Klosterstuble
Ranked #12 of 114 Restaurants in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best local food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had some of the best food of our trip in this delicious restaurant. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was too. We ate here twice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    56
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great traditional German food!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Very homey, great beer and amazing food. Even the locals drop in to eat here! Sausages cooked to perfection I had (in season) mushrooms with cream sauce and pasta. It was absolutely amazing!! After taking the Night Watchman tour, we went back here for coffee and strudel!! Can't miss!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1970disneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“It wasn't awful, but my mother could have made it...”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

and she's not a very good cook. The food was just alright, as was the service and the atmosphere. There are much better places in Rothenburg o.d.T. that would be a better choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jarred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great first dinner in Rothenburg”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Since we were staying at the Hotel Klosterstuble, it just made sense to have dinner at the hotel our first night. We were not disappointed. Jet-lagged and dehydrated, the staff outdid itself trying to rehydrate us while serving us delicious beer and dinner. The sauerbraten I ordered (recommended by Erika) was tender and delicious. We also enjoyed dessert - a fresh strawberry with mascarpone cheese, warmed, delicious and sublime. Prices are reasonable, food is outstanding, fresh, and plentiful. Atmosphere is relaxing and fun. Many locals. We highly recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not just a restaurant!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Klosterstuble again and ate there twice, out of choice not of necessity. The food is excellent especially in asparagus and strawberry season. Asparagus soup, chicken with white asparagus for the entree left little room for dessert, but we forced ourselves. The staff is professional and friendly a not always common combination. Wines and beers are local if you wish, if not then a good selection is available. A great atmosphere whether it is busy or very quiet. I have marked the cost as $$ because while it is a formal sit down dinner with service to match, that is where the cost belongs. Wonderful value!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill2049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klosterstuble also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Klosterstuble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing