We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining history of Rothenburg.”

The Night Watchman Tour
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Entertaining history of Rothenburg.”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

English tour starts at 8PM. I thing the German speaking tour starts at 9.30PM. Lasting around 45 minutes, the night watchman tour is entertaining as it is informative. Starting at the town square, the walking tour takes tourist to a few stopping points where the last remaining night watchman share interesting history of the town. The tour group can be quite large as there is no limit on the number of participants. But at each stopping point, the night watchman does make sure that everybody can hear and see him.

Bottom line the night watchman tour is highly recommended for two reasons. One, it is quite entertaining and informative. Second, beside dinner, there is nothing else to do in Rothenberg after dark.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SlowAdvanture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    869
    108
    26
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting and Funny Tour”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We enjoyed the night watchman's tour, both for the informational perspective as well as the night watchman's sense of humor. Fees are collected at the end of the tour, so if you are late, just find the tour and follow along - you can pay at the end!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great history lesson”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This tour was great! One of my favorite parts of our stay. A great historical context of the city with a twist of humor. He creates a great atmosphere or what life really was like back in the medieval days!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Morgan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Despite the rain we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It gave us a bit of an insight into the workings of the village - whether they were true or not!?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vally29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was my third time taking the tour with George and I loved it just as much as the first time! This is a must if you are staying the night in Rothenburg. Not only is George funny and entertaining, he is a great city historian. The best 7Euro spent on my trip!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Night Watchman Tour also viewed

 
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to The Night Watchman Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing