We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night Watchman's Tour/ Rothenburg In General” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Night Watchman Tour

The Night Watchman Tour
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Night Watchman's Tour/ Rothenburg In General”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Not only is the town like a fairy tale in appearance, but the history told by the nightwatchman is funny, inclusive, and a sheer delight .. !! This fellow tells you all the history in such a way that you remember most of it and is well worth the effort... Our stay was magic and can just believe that a Christmas visit would be like walking through a Christmas Card...The Christmas shop, any time of year, is a rare treat with every ornament one can imagine.. My tip is to stay just outside of the walled town within walking distance... The Gastehaus Eberlein was tops, reasonable, clean and a great location to explore..... The owner is so organized and up to date with all information regarding the town and general events etc.... Our stay was was in late September and the weather was perfect and the night not too cool for this 8pm fun tour... What ever you do do not miss this town in Germany and all the history that is retold by the Watchman!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    94
    20
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
728 reviews
371 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“Informative, Funny, Entertaining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had read so many reviews, we had to do the tour. It was a cold, rainy night and I figured we would be the only ones to show up for the tour, but there was a crowd despite the weather. This guy is very entertaining and draws a crowd. You don't make any reservation, just show up in the main square ( 8pm for the english tour). He is all dressed up as a Night Watchman and carrying a lantern. His tour takes you through parts of town as well as outside the gate. His tour is great providing interesting information about the town and it's history through stories and humor. My teenagers were tired after a day of travel and I had to initially drag them to go, but they loved it. Cash only at the end of the tour, a very reasonable 7 euros for adults, 4 euros for students. The tour lasts about an hour. He has DVD's for sale as well. Highly recommended!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great and Entertaining Night Watchman Walking Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We took this tour several years ago and would say it was one of the best walking tours we have taken in and around Europe and the UK. This year we took our 16 and 14 year old grandsons to this wonderful walled city and made sure they got to take this tour. They enjoyed it immensely and found it informative and loved the watchman's delivery. We told our grandsons to watch around the the square for the night watchman and the younger one was concerned he wouldn't know for sure who the watchman was. Needless to say, it was no mystery once the watchman was spotted walking towards the center. This walking tour is a must while you are there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeIGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freising, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My first tour in the dark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

This tour was great. It was a cold night in April.

The guide had a medieval torch. We walked through Rothenburg. He illustrated picturesquely life there in days of old. He told us about the politics and battles for Rothenburg; about day today life, the lack of sanitation, among others

The photo was taken in daylight. My digicam takes lousy fuzzy images at night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_Germ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Entertaining, Enlightening, Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

It was a dark and stormy night, but it was our last night in Rothenburg and we braved the weather to experience the Night Watchman Tour. Even on a less than perfect evening, this is a must-do. My only regret is not doing this earlier in our trip so we would know more about the rich history of the city and its people when walking around in daylight.

The Night Watchman has a dry wit, adding humor to his serious history lesson. To join the tour, find the man in a black cloak on Market Square at 8pm for the English tour, 9:30pm for the German tour. The tour costs 7 euro each, collected on the honor system at the end of the almost hour long walk. There were about 35 people on the tour with us that evening, so I imagine on a better night the group can get rather large which may make it difficult for some to hear the Night Watchman speak.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vagablondechelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Night Watchman Tour also viewed

Rothenburg, Middle Franconia
 

Been to The Night Watchman Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing