We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take Plenty of Cash With You Before Going”
Review of Gasthof Bezold

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gasthof Bezold
Ranked #27 of 34 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Crawley, West Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Take Plenty of Cash With You Before Going”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Bezold was a mixed stay with some very good, but also some not so good aspects.

Good is the location of the hotel, just outside the City Walls. Rooms we had on 2nd floor were fairly large size & airy. Wifi was also excellent requiring little setup & giving great quality.

Some room features could however be built on. The TV was well past it's use by date, some rooms have baths but no showers & the long unaided slog with luggage to the top floor can be a killer.

Breakfast was also just Ok. Not huge choice, eggs go within a minute of start time & replenishment is slow. So either sneak in before 8.00 or wait to 8.45.

Checkout was the main disappointment. As with previous reviews, though the credit card facility works fine for reservations and room holding, it still doesn't work for payments. Apparently their 2nd fitted machine works as badly as the 1st did. Hence there is a steady queue of guests down the road to the ATM as the only method of payment other than walking out & making them claim on the credit card reservation. This lost a point from my score. With no prior warning still, it adds a walk onto your checkout and assumed I had funds to cover. Really poor.

I'd avoid purely for this reason, though maybe unkindly as both accommodation and location were actually good.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    13
    7
    0
See reviews for
18
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

This Gasthof is located right outside the gates to the old city. We stayed in the main house, whilst all the other guests seemed to be in a seperate house behind. The bathroom was very spacious (including a bath), but the bed supplied for our toddler wasn't much more than an old settee, and didn't look very comfortable. There was no cot, even though it was requested, but the king size bed was spacious enough for three!

Breakfast downstairs was a normal German breakfast - the kids loved the yoghurt! For dinner we went to an Italian restaurant just a few minutes walk away inside the city walls. By chance we discovered a little park between the walls, so the kids had a good run around.

Overall, service was excellent, as was the location, and the free parking behind the house was great.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusFamOf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Right outside the wall, Gasthof Bezold is a pretty place. Our room was fine, but the chairs weren't comfortable for sitting and reading in the evening. Also, the comforters weighed a ton; at least there was a blanket in the closet as an alternative. Big plus for the bathroom that had 2 sinks. We certainly didn't expect that but it was a treat after squeezing into other bathrooms during our trip. The breakfast was served in a lovely room and was standard German buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlingtontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed in this gasthof on our way to Italy. The location just outside the city walls of Rothenburg was very convenient for us.

When we arrived, we vere greeted by what seemed to be the owner, a nice and serviceminded man, and the other members of the staff - probably his family, were equally nice and serviceminded.

Our room was in fact not in the main building, but in an other house just behind it. The room was large and clean, and parking was just outside. Breakfast was good.

For a stopover in Rothenburg, this gasthof is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gin76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Went home to Germany to visit family. Took a week-end trip from Fuessen to Rothenburg ODT and love the accomodations. Get a taxi to get there from station as we walked up the mountain to get there with luggage. That was not fun with small kids. Staff was great, friendly and the rooms where clean and bright. Wonderful cafe with food.
Tcheuss,

Eric

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelboync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2007

We left Lindau a day early to fit in a one night stay in Rothenburg. After finding out that our first hotel choices were full, we found a room at the Bezold. The hotel was conveniently located less than 100 yards from one of the Altstadt entrances and a leisurely 10-15 minute walk to the market square. Parking was free behind the B&B.

Herr Mittermeier, the owner, was a gracious man who showed us a couple of room choices. Each was spotlessly clean, light and airy, and with a large bathroom with shower and WC. The homestyle decor was very comfortable. The beds were comfortable and our room was quiet.

One thing to note: the Bezold has no elevator. So be prepared to drag luggage up one or two flights. The TV had one English channel if I remember correctly.

The breakfast included in the room price consisted of an assortment of meats and cheeses, breads, fruit, juices, coffee and cereal. It was served in a nice little room and attended to by a friendly staff person.

We paid 75 Euro for a double and felt we received very fair value. If you don't mind schlepping luggage, the Bezold is a nice, low cost alternative in Rothenburg.

  • Liked — Location, friendly owner, clean, comfortable accommodations, free parking
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gerberhaus
Hotel Gerberhaus
#15 of 45 in Rothenburg
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prinzhotel Rothenburg
Prinzhotel Rothenburg
#18 of 45 in Rothenburg
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
#29 of 45 in Rothenburg
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Zur Linde
Hotel Gasthof Zur Linde
#33 of 45 in Rothenburg
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Bezold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Bezold

Property: Gasthof Bezold
Address: Vorm Wuerzburger Tor 11, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasthof Bezold 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Gasthof Bezold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing