We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A lovely place to stay while discovering Rothenburg. We were pretty much the only ones there, as it was the low season. Breakfast was a real treat, with all of the finery out, and the chef's wife standing guard making sure our every need was met. When we left, it felt like we were leaving our grandparents. Most helpful. Good location, just a short walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoBrazaitis1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    25
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
74
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Well situated close to the walled city in a quiet location. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is a good free wifi connection throughout the hotel. Parking is located in a courtyard area at the back of the building. The owner and his wife were very friendly and hospitable and will provide you with directions and information about the main sights of the old town. Breakfast was good but not as impressive as we had anticipated after reading previous reviews on here- it was just the typical selection of bread rolls, cold meats and cheeses provided in the great majority of German hotels. As others have said, make sure to bring cash as other forms of payment are not accepted.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dekalb,IL
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Spent a night at this hotel recently. Had a great time. Rooms were small but normal for Germany. Very clean and tidy. Wireless internet if you need it. Great location just outside the walls of the city, but also out of down town, so a nice quiet location. Walk is about 300 yards to and entrance and you are inside the walls and checking out the sites and sounds of this city. Breakfast was excellent, nice variety of meats, cheeses and fruit plus freshly squeezed apple juice.The couple who run the place are very pleasant and accommodating. Parking is around the back of the building in a gated courtyard, so your car isn't on the street all night. I would stay here again for sure.

Make sure to bring cash since they do not accept credit cards!!

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the inside of the building which face a small courtyard with a garden and fruit tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The town of Rothenburg is a must-visit destination and this hotel is wonderfully situated. No more than 200m from the town gates but out of range of the innumerable bell towers until the 7.30 wake-up, which lasts for only 2 minutes. Honestly, this is not a problem, as the night is so peaceful and the beds so comfortable that we came to love this sound as the herald of an exciting new day! We researched the hotels really thoroughly and, having stayed here for 2 weeks, are convinced we could not have made a better choice.

The owners are a lovely, funny couple, who put the comfort and enjoyment of their guests before everything else. Very helpful, full of good ideas and local knowledge, they love their work and are a credit to their profession. As to cleanliness and all-round efficiency; we're talking German here!

The breakfasts are amazing and really set us up for the day. There's a lovely, shady courtyard to relax in after a hard day's sightseeing and free parking on site is a definite bonus. Motorbikes can be kept under cover, too.

Room Tip: Room 30 is a very good size, with a comfortable sitting area, plenty of wardrobe space and a huge ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

It's hard to add to all the things said in previous reviews. My wife and I stayed here for three nights this September and had a wonderful time. The room was perfect and the hospitality was beyond my expectation. The owner and his wife are hands on and work like Trojans to keep the place perfect. The breakfast served would allow to go out into the farm community and work all day is necessary. The only thing lacking is a pitcher of beer but I'm sure they would give you one if you asked for it! The town is perfect and almost unbelievable, sort of like EPCOT Germany but it is all authentic. The ample parking completes the scene. Don't miss this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greengolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is run by an old couple, who are extremely warm and welcoming. The hotel was clean, rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated along the traditional styles. The parking facility is really noteworthy. In Rothenburg, finding a good safe spot might be a concern but not in Hotel Klingentor Garni where entry to the private parking area is restricted to the guests. The city centre is 8-10 minutes walk, and on the way the walls of the old city can be observed. The location, although in the proximity of the Romantische Strasse, is quiet for a good night's rest. The breakfast was sumptuous and extremely well served. The old couple left no stone unturned to make sure their guests have a hearty and enjoyable first meal of the day. Though there is room for improvement with the speed of the internet, shortness of curtains and the softness of the pillows, they are very very minor issues. We regret not having stayed at Hotel Klingentor Garni for more than a night, and definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Rothenburg. This place is a gem and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bganesh_tud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huissen
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We Stayed only one night, but really enjoyed it. This hotel has old-fashioned German quality and friendliness. The location is great, a five minute walk to the lovely centre of rothenburg. Breakfast was plentiful and served at the table.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyandClaartje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gerberhaus
Hotel Gerberhaus
#17 of 45 in Rothenburg
237 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Altfrankische Weinstube
Altfrankische Weinstube
#18 of 45 in Rothenburg
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
AKZENT Hotel Schranne
AKZENT Hotel Schranne
#24 of 45 in Rothenburg
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor

Property: Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor
Address: Mergentheimer Str. 14, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing