We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people, great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The town of Rothenburg is a must-visit destination and this hotel is wonderfully situated. No more than 200m from the town gates but out of range of the innumerable bell towers until the 7.30 wake-up, which lasts for only 2 minutes. Honestly, this is not a problem, as the night is so peaceful and the beds so comfortable that we came to love this sound as the herald of an exciting new day! We researched the hotels really thoroughly and, having stayed here for 2 weeks, are convinced we could not have made a better choice.

The owners are a lovely, funny couple, who put the comfort and enjoyment of their guests before everything else. Very helpful, full of good ideas and local knowledge, they love their work and are a credit to their profession. As to cleanliness and all-round efficiency; we're talking German here!

The breakfasts are amazing and really set us up for the day. There's a lovely, shady courtyard to relax in after a hard day's sightseeing and free parking on site is a definite bonus. Motorbikes can be kept under cover, too.

Room Tip: Room 30 is a very good size, with a comfortable sitting area, plenty of wardrobe space and a huge ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 122 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

It's hard to add to all the things said in previous reviews. My wife and I stayed here for three nights this September and had a wonderful time. The room was perfect and the hospitality was beyond my expectation. The owner and his wife are hands on and work like Trojans to keep the place perfect. The breakfast served would allow to go out into the farm community and work all day is necessary. The only thing lacking is a pitcher of beer but I'm sure they would give you one if you asked for it! The town is perfect and almost unbelievable, sort of like EPCOT Germany but it is all authentic. The ample parking completes the scene. Don't miss this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greengolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is run by an old couple, who are extremely warm and welcoming. The hotel was clean, rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated along the traditional styles. The parking facility is really noteworthy. In Rothenburg, finding a good safe spot might be a concern but not in Hotel Klingentor Garni where entry to the private parking area is restricted to the guests. The city centre is 8-10 minutes walk, and on the way the walls of the old city can be observed. The location, although in the proximity of the Romantische Strasse, is quiet for a good night's rest. The breakfast was sumptuous and extremely well served. The old couple left no stone unturned to make sure their guests have a hearty and enjoyable first meal of the day. Though there is room for improvement with the speed of the internet, shortness of curtains and the softness of the pillows, they are very very minor issues. We regret not having stayed at Hotel Klingentor Garni for more than a night, and definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Rothenburg. This place is a gem and value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bganesh_tud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We Stayed only one night, but really enjoyed it. This hotel has old-fashioned German quality and friendliness. The location is great, a five minute walk to the lovely centre of rothenburg. Breakfast was plentiful and served at the table.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyandClaartje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We cannot recommend Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor highly enough. The rooms are big and very clean with comfortable beds and bedding. The breakfast is really something special and the owner is very helpful and pleasant. The hotel is only 3 minutes walk from the old city wall so you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel is so close to the Klingentor gate that it hardly matters that it is outside the city wall. In some ways that's better, because it is quiet and access by car and parking are easier. We had two generous-sized rooms, one with a small extra sitting area, for a very reasonable price. Breakfast was the usual generous German spread of meats, cheeses, rolls, etc. with a choice of scrambled egg as a nice break from boiled. Their welcome cat was also a nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsquaredNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel is well within walking distance of the city, on a quiet street. The free parking and free breakfast were a bonus. Although the room was simple, the owner was very caring and attentive (but not at all overbearing), giving us free maps of the town and getting us on our way. The location was also convenient for a walk to the village of Detwang. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof
Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof
#12 of 45 in Rothenburg
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Altfrankische Weinstube
Altfrankische Weinstube
#19 of 45 in Rothenburg
224 reviews
4.4 mi away
Brauerei Gasthof Landwehr-Braeu
0.4 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#8 of 45 in Rothenburg
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor

Address: Mergentheimer Str. 14, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: $67 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing