We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of Old Bavaria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A slice of Old Bavaria”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

It's hard to add to all the things said in previous reviews. My wife and I stayed here for three nights this September and had a wonderful time. The room was perfect and the hospitality was beyond my expectation. The owner and his wife are hands on and work like Trojans to keep the place perfect. The breakfast served would allow to go out into the farm community and work all day is necessary. The only thing lacking is a pitcher of beer but I'm sure they would give you one if you asked for it! The town is perfect and almost unbelievable, sort of like EPCOT Germany but it is all authentic. The ample parking completes the scene. Don't miss this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greengolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    25
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
74
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is run by an old couple, who are extremely warm and welcoming. The hotel was clean, rooms were spacious and beautifully decorated along the traditional styles. The parking facility is really noteworthy. In Rothenburg, finding a good safe spot might be a concern but not in Hotel Klingentor Garni where entry to the private parking area is restricted to the guests. The city centre is 8-10 minutes walk, and on the way the walls of the old city can be observed. The location, although in the proximity of the Romantische Strasse, is quiet for a good night's rest. The breakfast was sumptuous and extremely well served. The old couple left no stone unturned to make sure their guests have a hearty and enjoyable first meal of the day. Though there is room for improvement with the speed of the internet, shortness of curtains and the softness of the pillows, they are very very minor issues. We regret not having stayed at Hotel Klingentor Garni for more than a night, and definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Rothenburg. This place is a gem and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bganesh_tud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huissen
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We Stayed only one night, but really enjoyed it. This hotel has old-fashioned German quality and friendliness. The location is great, a five minute walk to the lovely centre of rothenburg. Breakfast was plentiful and served at the table.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyandClaartje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We cannot recommend Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor highly enough. The rooms are big and very clean with comfortable beds and bedding. The breakfast is really something special and the owner is very helpful and pleasant. The hotel is only 3 minutes walk from the old city wall so you can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel is so close to the Klingentor gate that it hardly matters that it is outside the city wall. In some ways that's better, because it is quiet and access by car and parking are easier. We had two generous-sized rooms, one with a small extra sitting area, for a very reasonable price. Breakfast was the usual generous German spread of meats, cheeses, rolls, etc. with a choice of scrambled egg as a nice break from boiled. Their welcome cat was also a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsquaredNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel is well within walking distance of the city, on a quiet street. The free parking and free breakfast were a bonus. Although the room was simple, the owner was very caring and attentive (but not at all overbearing), giving us free maps of the town and getting us on our way. The location was also convenient for a walk to the village of Detwang. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, Busan, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This hotel is a little far from of city hall(city center), but it take about 10 minutes by walk.

The hotel facilities were a little old-fashioned and the room was small.

I could use Wifi, but it was so slow. It tested my patience. I recommend not to use your notebook.

In spite of many demerits, This hotel deserves to be stayed. The price is so reasonable.

Because it was located in outskirt of Rothenburg, it was silent at night. So we could sleep well.

There was a big parking lot - free of charge.

Most of all, the breakfast was great. You can have real original German-style breakfast in this hote with reasonable price.

I couldn't forget the freshly baked bread. It tasted so delicious.

The hotel owner was tall, gentle , and kind.

After checking out, we took a picture hugging him.

If you decide to stay in Rothenburg, I want you to make consideration of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jevin1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gerberhaus
Hotel Gerberhaus
#17 of 45 in Rothenburg
237 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Altfrankische Weinstube
Altfrankische Weinstube
#18 of 45 in Rothenburg
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
AKZENT Hotel Schranne
AKZENT Hotel Schranne
#24 of 45 in Rothenburg
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor

Property: Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor
Address: Mergentheimer Str. 14, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing