We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, easy walk to the gate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This hotel is so close to the Klingentor gate that it hardly matters that it is outside the city wall. In some ways that's better, because it is quiet and access by car and parking are easier. We had two generous-sized rooms, one with a small extra sitting area, for a very reasonable price. Breakfast was the usual generous German spread of meats, cheeses, rolls, etc. with a choice of scrambled egg as a nice break from boiled. Their welcome cat was also a nice touch.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AsquaredNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 60 of 122 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

The hotel is well within walking distance of the city, on a quiet street. The free parking and free breakfast were a bonus. Although the room was simple, the owner was very caring and attentive (but not at all overbearing), giving us free maps of the town and getting us on our way. The location was also convenient for a walk to the village of Detwang. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This hotel is a little far from of city hall(city center), but it take about 10 minutes by walk.

The hotel facilities were a little old-fashioned and the room was small.

I could use Wifi, but it was so slow. It tested my patience. I recommend not to use your notebook.

In spite of many demerits, This hotel deserves to be stayed. The price is so reasonable.

Because it was located in outskirt of Rothenburg, it was silent at night. So we could sleep well.

There was a big parking lot - free of charge.

Most of all, the breakfast was great. You can have real original German-style breakfast in this hote with reasonable price.

I couldn't forget the freshly baked bread. It tasted so delicious.

The hotel owner was tall, gentle , and kind.

After checking out, we took a picture hugging him.

If you decide to stay in Rothenburg, I want you to make consideration of this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jevin1037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Initially we thought of taking a hotel inside the old city, yet after reviewing some travelers complaints about the noise and continues hourly bell rings, we decided to look for a hotel located outside the old city, yet very close by.
We decided to book at Hotel Klingentor which turned out to be excellent choice.
The hotel has a private parking space and is conveniently located about 60 meters from the old city gates and minutes from its main attractions.
The hosts were very warm and friendly. Rooms are quite, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was "German" and generous.
A very good (and reasonably priced!) stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TourCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This is the way to see Germany: quaint little hotel in a small gorgeous town like Rothenburg. This is more like someone's home: very clean rooms with T.V. and very clean bathroom. Parking is included in the backyard of the property surrounded by flowers and fruit trees.
Once you get past the guardcat - a rather plump, spoiled house cat - the home is very old but well maintained. Rooms are typical small but very confortable with nice firm beds: it is located just outside the old Wall which surrounds Rothenburg and within walking distance of one of the most beautiful Towns in Germany. History goes back to the 9th century and there is plenty to see if one is into historical sites.
The morning breakfast, included in the price of 70 euros, for 2 people was held in a large family room: we were served meats, cheese, eggs, fresh bread, juices, coffee, tea, etc as much as you wanted. Everything was fresh, hot and served with a morning greeting!
All in all, a beautiful small place to get a good sleep and great breakfast at a great price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redrider53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We had a one night stay here on our trip through Bavaria. Not what you are looking for if you want an ultra modern urban feel hotel. It IS what you are looking for if you want a charming, old world feel with modern conveniences in a GREAT location. We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return. The service was attentive, the included breakfast was excellent and the hotel owners were warm and welcoming. It was a short walk to the Klingentor gate which led into the medieval city of Rothenburg ob der Tauber - bonus!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fivenewyorkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Herr Wagenlander and his wife are exceptionally welcoming, gracious and accommodating hosts. My single room was simply but nicely furnished with a good size bathroom and came with breakfast - a traditional german one but he will cook you an egg instead For 39 euros this was an excellent value. Herr Wagenlander cooks a meal each night and although you must be seated by 7Pm if it is something you like it is worth having dinner there. Everything is made from scratch and the price is more than reasonable.- i had a full three course dinner and large beer for 17 euros. After dinner you can have a nice walk through the town after the day tripper hordes have left. The hotel is not inside the walls but just outside the Klingentor gate. i have no reservations in highly recommending this hotel and gasthof.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ipswichtraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
AKZENT Hotel Schranne
AKZENT Hotel Schranne
#26 of 45 in Rothenburg
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Brauerei Gasthof Landwehr-Braeu
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor

Address: Mergentheimer Str. 14, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: $65 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel-Gasthof Klingentor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing