We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Step Back in Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Altfrankische Weinstube
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Step Back in Time”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had never stayed in a 600 year old building so thought this would be a good place to experience life in the 16th Century. Our conclusion is that life in the 1500s hadn't become much brighter--at least indoors--since the Dark Ages.
It took a while to adjust to the darkness as we entered. As there is no "front desk" and no one was there to greet us, we weren't sure we were in the right place. We called out and the manager appeared from what must have been the kitchen. Without so much as a "welcome", he gave us our room key, showed us where to park our car and advised us that their restaurant/bar would not be open this evening.
As previous reviewers have mentioned, the entire place is cluttered with... stuff. Our dimly lit room had a huge, ominous portrait of a lady peering out as us as we lay in bed and there was very little room to store our luggage and still be able to move around. The bathroom reminded my wife of the one in her parent's camper--ready access to the sink when sitting on the toilet.
The breakfast was the highlight of our stay and improved the overall rating from a 2 to a 3. The charm of living in the dark and dreary 16th Century quickly wore off. We will look for more modern and friendly accommodations on our next visit to Rothenburg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeLuvItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    70
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
38
150
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I echo Joe C's input. A rustic place, quiet, good price, fair breakfast. The hired staff seem nice enough. Tons of non-related 'decorative' junk everywhere. The owner should not be in the hospitality business. We walked into the bar at 10:30 and were greeted with 'one drink and we are closed' -as blunt as that. We were limited to the one while others, who were there before us and seemed like locals, had 3 more with regular offerings. With all the rooms available in Rothenburg, a return visit would have us elsewhere. Suggest you keep looking.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chutski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a very nice suite of rooms on top floor of the "annex" up the road. Reasonable price and the morning breakfast was fine. The Lord of Rings decorations were a bit intense, but overall the ambiance was something we enjoyed. What was baffling was the way we were treated by Mario, the owner. When we arrived he was hostile, seeming not to want to acknowledge that we had reservations. Then he barked out orders on where our room was and indicated he would find a place for us to park. We walked up to our room,and unloaded our suitcases then came down to the street to be chewed out some more for not being quicker. We tried to make light of this treatment, attributing it to a certain strain of German personality, but it was so hostile that it was not fun to experience. Later we stopped by the restaurant to see what was on the menu for diner and again Mario was hostile to being asked an innocent question. Maybe we caught him on a bad day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was my favorite place to stay in Germany. It is so charmingly cluttered with all sorts of German antiques; you just feel the history. It goes along with the character of Rothenburg. But it has modern amenities such as free wi-fi! Good free breakfast. Excellent location within walking distance of the old town square. Romantic dinners lit only by candlelight. The hosts speak English. I was delighted with this hotel and would readily visit it again. The only downside is that there is no elevator so you have to lug your baggage up a flight of stairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wollongong
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in a double room in this charming 600 year old hotel.Friendly English speaking hosts,helped with finding us a free parking spot next to the hotel. Free internet. Great candle lit breakfast with lots of variety. Location is excellent ,minutes for the old square.Came back to our room for a rest mid afternoon,our room had not been made up so we so we found our host and asked for some clean towels.Very surprised when 10 mins later he arrived with towels and a tray with 2 glasses of wine and peanuts and apologies. Most unexpected and appreciated! Would highly recommend. We ate in the restraint two nights .Good meals and value for money great atmosphere

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have stayed in Rothenburg ob der Tauber several times over the years. This was our first time to stay in this hotel. We stayed only two nights. It is very conveniently located to walk around Rothenburg. The building is supposed to be over 600 years old, but the bathroom in our room had all the modern conveniences. Mario & Carmen were helpful but busy because we arrived on Mother's Day which was the last day of a long weekend. The breakfasts were delicious with good quantity and quality of food.

Room Tip: We chose Room 2 when we booked on the hotel website and were very satisfied with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billduet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were offered Apt 3 in a separate nearby building- Gästehaus am Klosterhof, I think because all the regular rooms were taken. 78 Euros per night- no room service, but breakfast included.
Up small winding stairs, old key and lock were difficult.
Apartment with lots of windows, table and chairs, small equipped kitchen, large bed (king?). Modern very clean private toilet room and separate private room with shower & sink- probably not comfortable for a very large person. Nicely decorated. Heat registers were easy to regulate. WiFi worked well after we got help with the password. Hanne and others were friendly and helpful. Convenient location within the walled town. Fairly quiet. Very private. We were able to park on the street right there for free, but during a busier season, parking would not have been as convenient.

Breakfast was in the main dining area of the hotel 8am-10. A wonderful buffet of breads, cold cuts, cheese, jams, yogurts, granola and cereals, coffee, fruit, juices, etc.

Room Tip: The Gastehaus apartment was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLCinti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 46 in Rothenburg
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 46 in Rothenburg
639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#7 of 46 in Rothenburg
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altfrankische Weinstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altfrankische Weinstube

Property: Altfrankische Weinstube
Address: Klosterhof 7, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altfrankische Weinstube 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Altfrankische Weinstube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altfrankische Weinstube Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing