We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gastehaus Apartment very nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altfrankische Weinstube

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Altfrankische Weinstube
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gastehaus Apartment very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were offered Apt 3 in a separate nearby building- Gästehaus am Klosterhof, I think because all the regular rooms were taken. 78 Euros per night- no room service, but breakfast included.
Up small winding stairs, old key and lock were difficult.
Apartment with lots of windows, table and chairs, small equipped kitchen, large bed (king?). Modern very clean private toilet room and separate private room with shower & sink- probably not comfortable for a very large person. Nicely decorated. Heat registers were easy to regulate. WiFi worked well after we got help with the password. Hanne and others were friendly and helpful. Convenient location within the walled town. Fairly quiet. Very private. We were able to park on the street right there for free, but during a busier season, parking would not have been as convenient.

Breakfast was in the main dining area of the hotel 8am-10. A wonderful buffet of breads, cold cuts, cheese, jams, yogurts, granola and cereals, coffee, fruit, juices, etc.

Room Tip: The Gastehaus apartment was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLCinti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    68
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
37
148
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were here in June, 2011 (late review - just catching up). We stayed in the guesthouse annex, just over at the corner, maybe 100 meters away. We thought we had a room reserved, but we were wrong. It was not a room... it was the entire upstairs floor! We went in, wound up two narrow flights of stairs, through another door and up again into a 650 year old, hand-hewn, open beamed ceiling cute apartment. Fresh flowers on the table, a large room, and charm to die for. And, it was a great price.
No WiFi in the room, but no big deal, we just sat in the cafe and drank!
The bathroom was good and clean, the decor charming, the little table and chairs at the top of the stairs a perfect place to sit and sip wine. The location is good for walking, but if you are taking the train and walking, be advised, it is about a KM into Rothenburg, and then you walk into the center of town... so use carry on luggage.
Good food at the cafe, friendly hosts, charming town.
As a side note, Rothenburg is wonderful at 4am, if you like to get up early and wander about.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVidaBuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Arrived at midnight to a charming hotel with a welcoming atmosphere. The hosts were very kind and prepared a wonderful dinner for us at midnight. The breakfast/dining room was lit with candles, and we were placed at tables with other guests. The guest house across the street was wonderful and much more affordable than any hotel room for the quality we received. Definitely a must-stay hotel for those traveling to Rothenberg ob der Tauber.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the guest house across the street. Has several bedrooms, living room, and is cheaper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingKam01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
309 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Book ahead to make sure that you can stay there when in Rothenburg. Just unbelievable. The few rooms are all individual, reflect the old times offering modern convieniences. The owners who operate the Weinstube make it perfect. Very friendly and you really feel at home. The restful night is followed by a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Everything perfect. Just watch out for the steep stairs, but is a few hundred years old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hermann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We enjoyed our brief stay in this very old, charming medieval inn with lots of vines growing up the front of the building. The rooms are nicely upgraded, & the food was great. TONS of old world ambience. Once you get inside the walls of the old city, the streets can be VERY narrow for modern day cars, so we had a bit of difficulty finding our way to this place, so I recommend having a map and/or an updated GPS to help get you here. The inn is located within easy walking distance of the main old town square.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorrye234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice now (2010 and 2012) and have not yet had any issues with the service or my room - by happenstance I've been given the same room for both of my visits. The breakfasts are very good as is dinner in the restaurant. I suspect that some travelers may require more coddling than others.

Room Tip: There are two apartment style rooms separate from the main hotel - less than a one minute stroll dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeaSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel will carry you to medieval age, but with both feet on future! Looking like an medieval tavern, this hotel has the best wi-fi connection that I got in Germany, The room are really confortable, warm and the bathroom is splendid!
With a good breakfast we closed our one night stay, but really good stay.
Perfect to a romantic travel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#4 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#7 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altfrankische Weinstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altfrankische Weinstube

Property: Altfrankische Weinstube
Address: Klosterhof 7, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altfrankische Weinstube 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Altfrankische Weinstube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altfrankische Weinstube Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing