We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit like a fairytale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Altfrankische Weinstube
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I found out about this place from Rick Steves. When I saw that it was in such an old building and had only six rooms, it seemed like the perfect place for me.

Breakfast and wi-fi were included in the room price, so I felt this was a great value. The location was not bad, an 8 euro (which included a small tip) cab ride from the train station, and within easy walking distance of the main square. The room I stayed in was quite cute with plenty of space for me and my giant suitcase. The bathroom was spacious as well, although showering was a tad difficult given the setup. (Photo attached.)

If you want to eat in the restaurant, you have to make a reservation because it seems like everyone in Rothenburg eats there! I had the potato soup and käsespätzle which were both really enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 224 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

We absolutely loved this hotel. It was hands down our favorite on our entire trip. From the moment we got there we felt welcomed. The owner and his wife are absolutely wonderful. This is also a local hangout in the evenings for dinner and drinks so you know that it's legit! We ate here one night for dinner and had drinks both nights (homemade gluhwein was awesome). The food was probably the best I've had in Germany. We can't recommend the hotel enough. The breakfast each morning was lovely as well. The room we had was fairly small (room 6-Kammerl). But we didn't mind because we were only in the room to sleep at night. Definitely stay here!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This little hotel has everything you need with all the atmosphere to make your stay in Rothenburg magical! The rooms are quaint with original beams in ceiling, comfortable beds, plenty of room! Shower is a little small. The decor in lobby is really cool and gives you such a old world feel. Internet in lobby.
The restaurant, which we missed due to late flight, was packed when we arrived at 9pm, and smelled delicious! Dinner is by candlelight only! I wished we had made it on time! The breakfast was superb with coffee freshly made for you as you enter and sit at your reserved table.
This hotel is very old, which is so cool, but you do have to carry your luggage up small staircases. It was no big deal, just be aware.
Everyone is so friendly and helpful! They moved their own cars to get us a parking spot! They gave us advice on what to see and where to shop. Must pay cash even though you make the reservation on booking.com, so be prepared for that.
Definitely try to get a room here! you will love it!

Room Tip: we had the triple and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hollythankful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Altfränkische Weinstube is your fairytale-home come true, complete with eons-old dust and clogged drains. This unique inn with six characterful rooms and enchanting common areas enjoys very good location, complemented with a cheerful owner.

This inn is on Klosterhof, a rather secluded alley, right next to Reichsstadtmuseum and close to St Jakobs Kirche. This gives a nice location within the small walled Altstadt (old city), close to all the bustling tourist attractions yet very quiet. It is just a short walk to Marktplatz and the world-famous Käthe Wohlfahrt, so that after spending your last penny at Wohlfahrt you can quickly unload your new collection at the base camp. It is also close to Schrannenplatz, the bus stop for the Europabus that runs through the Romantische Straße (Romantic Road) from April to October. It does take a bit of walk to/from Rothenburg Bahnhof (train station), but still manageable. From Bahnhof, go along Ansbacher Straße then through Rödertor, rather than take the Ludwig-Siebert Straße then Galgentor route.

The inn looks attractive in-and-out. The façade is covered with greenery and flowers. Inside, dark brown wooden beams, juxtaposed with white walls and ceilings, bring out authentic medieval flavor. Rooms are tastefully furnished, with old wardrobes that look like they might lead to Narnia. Room 2 has four-poster bed that greatly enhances the atmosphere, and Rooms 1 & 5 have canopied beds. You can choose the room by booking through the hotel website (http://www.altfraenkische-weinstube.de/index.html). It is the common areas – lobby and halls and dining rooms – however, that truly characterize this colorful inn. Old chests and cupboards dot the narrow corridors, and bewildering array of decorations and trophies cover the walls and windows at the lobby and breakfast/dining rooms. It almost feels like being inside Howl’s Moving Castle, except that it doesn’t move. Exploring the inn at night after everyone has gone can be a surreal and almost magical experience.

The magical enchantment may not last for too long, unfortunately. Dust and spider webs form part of decorations. Washbasin and bathtub drains are badly clogged. There was no shower curtain, so that it’s impossible not to spill water over the floor. These might be minor things, but they can add up after a couple of nights and showers.

The building is said to be 650-years old, and it shows in some unexpected ways. The inn does not have one of those ubiquitous electronic card processors, and the staff didn’t know how to handle EC (electronic cash) card, a universal means of payment in Europe. Bring credit card or cash. The owner, Mario, tends to be jovial and speaks English well. The other staffs are friendly and well-meaning too, but don’t really speak English. If you plan to check-in at afterhours, email Mario beforehand and he will arrive on time.

In conclusion, Altfränkische Weinstube offers some enchanting and romantic experiences that befit the reputation of Rothenburg ob der Tauber. Its rates are attractive, and so do its interior and location. We do recommend every first-time traveler coming to Rothenburg to stay at this uniquely charming place for one night. The only caveat is that, after two or more nights, the charm can wear off due to some mundane issues.

Room Tip: Take a look at the official website (http://www.altfraenkische-weinstube.de/index.html). It has phot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dessertmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had been to Rothenburg ob der Tauber once before in late November 2010. It was a rushed visit and we liked what we saw and vowed to return. We did just that in September 2012. We stayed one night and also enjoyed dinner in the restaurant on site. The service was friendly at both the hotel and the restaurant. Just prior to checking in, I was looking for someone to help me with that and I encountered 2 women from Argentina at the front door. We had trouble communicating because of language differences but what I did understand from them that this hotel and restaurant were "the best" by their standards. Carmen was serving food and drink in the dining area. She was friendly and helpful. Our visit wouldn'thave been the same without her. We enjoyed a great meal that evening and a tasty and filling breakfast buffet the next morning. We plan on returning to Rothenburg in the future and no doubt, we will stay at the Altfranische Weinstube and Hotel. As a side note, the room was clean and fresh. After the nightwatchman tour, we returned to the Weinstube and had a glass of wine and beer before calling it a night. We visited with 4 Americans that we're also enjoying the evening at another table. Before the night was over, Carmen also joined in the conversation. Her English was quite good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CentralCoastSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was disappointed in this hotel. Mario (owner) was not very friendly. He did not offer suggestions for sightseeing in Rothenburg and all of the staff just kind of ignored me for a good ten minutes when I first arrived and was trying to check-in. My mom and I stayed two nights and the staff did not make up our room. It was also very difficult to find the hotel. The parking inside of Rothenburg is a nightmare, so be warned if you are driving, but we made it work. The room itself was very nice and was clean when we arrived. The breakfast was good and had a good assortment of items available.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Considering this was actually our second visit to the Weinstube, I was disappointed that the staff (apart from the lady who checked us out at breakfast) were so incredibly rude and dismissive. Preferred to serve the table outside drinks rather than help us at all with any grace or manners or interest. I felt a bit sick paying up.
Breakfast is a bit disappointing - little choice, no fresh fruit - and the rooms, while fine, do not have showers, only baths with shower attachments.
The location is ideal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_Wotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altfrankische Weinstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altfrankische Weinstube

Address: Klosterhof 7, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: $89 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altfrankische Weinstube 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Altfrankische Weinstube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altfrankische Weinstube Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing