We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Altfrankische Weinstube
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Not my favorite”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here just one night in their triple room. On the plus side, this hotel is well-located within the city walls but parking is difficult. The owner had to move his car for ours to have a space. There isn't a lobby so it's a bit confusing where you check in and the woman who finally did how us to our room didn't actually provide us with any information (e.g., internet access) and was clearly busy waiting tables. Our room also overlooked their outdoor seating and people were still there talking etc. until 11 when a thunderstorm caused them to leave -- not sure when they would have gone otherwise. Breakfast was okay but in a very dark room, making it difficult to see what you were getting. Also, they only accept cash so come prepared. Overall, it was okay but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    72
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
39
152
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel is essentially just a handful of rooms above an atmospheric restaurant in the heart of Rothenburg. It gives you the sense of the era of Rothenburg but with all the modern comforts you might look for in any hotel today. Our room was perfect, with plenty of space. It overlooked a walled in yard with trees, and the birds in the morning were so melodic. We could not have asked for a better place to stay. It was our favorite place on a 3-week trip.
The restaurant was excellent. We usually would try different places to eat during a stay anywhere, but when we find one we really like, we return to it. We did that here. The night we arrived we ate at a table outdoors. But the indoor setting is so quaint we ate inside the next night. In the winter it must be perfect, but if I ate there again in the summer, I would eat outside.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor, up some narrow steps. If climbing steps and carrying your bags is a conce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolgerry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We booked room no. 1, the Studio, and were not disappointed at all. For a couple of Euros extra, you can have this fantastic romantic room. A definite yes when we are visiting Rothenburg again.

Room Tip: Book the Studio. (only a couple of euros more)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here two nights after reading a review from Rick Steve's 2012 Germany book. Very interesting mix of romantic-antique-farmhouse with a touch of real old charm. Carmen met us at our car to help us find our way through the streets of Rothenburg then helped us with our luggage up two flights of stairs. After we went into the city to tour the Criminal and Punishment museum, she came by to say they had put us in the wrong rooms and had upgraded us to a better set of rooms ( we had two rooms, one for my spouse and me, the other for our adult daughter). The staff had already moved our belongings and she handed us the keys. Couldn't believe she took the time to come to the museum to let us know!
Breakfast was good and traditional German fare. Beds were cozy, ceilings a little low due to it being a very very old building, and the flowers out front were gorgeous. Would DEFINITELY stay here again! Rick Steves got it right again. And don't forget to meet Carmen-she was so kind and genuine. She can tell you where to park and how to get to the best sites in the walls of Rothenburg.

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful. Can't go wrong with any of them and they were wonderfully clean. Upd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamondmember72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Had 2 triple rooms for 6 people. What communications we had with staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were both nice and clean and while updated still retained that old fashioned atmosphere with big timbered ceiling and nice decor. No elevator and narrow stairs. Also on Tuesday nights, the only night we were there the restaurant was closed. They also had a nice
continent breakfast. The women all felt the place was "romantic" and perfect place to stay
in an medieval hotel in a medieval town. And the rates were not bad at less than a 100 Euro per room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trying-4-100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

My wife and I just ended a trip in Rothenburg, and had an incredible time staying at this hotel. The fact that it only has 6 rooms total gives it a very cozy feel. The rooms are simple and have everything you need, and while the building is old, the appliances and the room make ups are not. We had a double room and unlike most European hotel rooms we have had on this trip, the bed was actually build for two people. The inn owners were very gracious and were great hosts. The wireless internet worked great, and you need to make sure that you have cash on hand when you check out because they don't take anything else. The hotel is perfect walking distance to everything that you are looking to check out there. You are right next door to the Reichstag Museum, and just down the street from the church. We basically did everything that Rick Steves said to do while you are there...Went up to the top of tower in the Rathaus, walked along the city Wall, visited the church, and finally took the Nightwatchman's tour. Plus we shopped and found a couple of great little Pilstubes around the city for some Weissbeir. If you do nothing else in Rothenburg, then do this...take the Nightwatchman's tour...then go eat at Zur Holle (which means Hell in German) right after...awesome way to end a full day of sightseeing. And the best part about all that activity is that you are never more than 15 minutes from the great little hotel that you decided to stay in.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a shower and only had a bath tub. Nothing too hard to live without, but wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ClemsonDiver52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, SD
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

This place just oozes old world charm! The stairways are narrow and they curve a bit. The ceilings feel a bit low, but all in a wonderful, old world sort of way. Rothenburg is an amazing town. Our stay would not have been nearly as much of an experience had we stayed in a more modern place. This is not a Best Western... by any means. But our room was clean, the decor in our room was incredibly charming, and by the way, the food there is fabulous. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this place!!

Room Tip: We requested the room with the canopy bed. - So glad we did. It was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roamin_Mt_Rushmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#8 of 45 in Rothenburg
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altfrankische Weinstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altfrankische Weinstube

Property: Altfrankische Weinstube
Address: Klosterhof 7, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altfrankische Weinstube 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Altfrankische Weinstube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altfrankische Weinstube Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing