We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would you stay any place else?????”
Review of Pension Elke

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rothenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Elke
Ranked #5 of 35 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 18, 2012

One word, amazing!!!! Absolutely wonderful accomodations and owners. Area is very quiet and the rooms are awesome. After three weeks in Germany, the breakfast spread that was offered , beat the socks off of every place else we had stayed. You name it, they had it! Could not have asked for a better lodging experience. Only negatives are the parking, which is an issue everywhere in this town, and having to remember to bring you own soap and shampoo. The grocery store which is on the bottom floor is convenient for lunch and dinner products, and they have a great selection of items to bring back to the states, ie. candies, alcohol etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonymaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Pension Elke
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 139 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

I booked a room here in July 2012 because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor. This place did not disappoint. The owner is very friendly, the rooms clean (like elsewhere in Germany). My boyfriend and I had a room with shared bath, and the bathroom was very clean as well. The breakfast spread was really impressive - puts a continental breakfast in the US to shame and most B&B breakfasts in the US and abroad as well. The spread was laid out so prettily, and the selection was fantastic. It's self service, and the breakfast room is very airy and pretty.

Best of all is the location, it's right in the heart of this adorable little town. We dropped our things off and went to the nightwatchman's tour (also amazing). There's free parking along the city wall. We did a road trip through Germany and this town and Pension Elke were certainly some of the highlights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzmeowus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I cannot say enough good about Pension Elke. It is not the fanciest. It is typically basic but clean. Lovely view of clock tower inside the city walls. Quiet. But, oh, the breakfast!

Klaus and his father own the grocery store below. They are the nicest people. And because they have this store, the pension residents benefit at breakfast. It is not just the usual bread, pale yellow cheese and a slice of ham. Oh, no! I was blown away my first morning. Maybe this was just a special treat. But I was there five nights (I extended my stay because it is such a charming town and pension), and each morning the breakfast was spectacular. Fresh salmon (in a pension??), fresh black berries, strawberries, blueberries, croissants, pretzels, a variety of breads, boiled eggs, yogurt, cereals, nuts and dried fruits, and 12 types of cheeses and 12 types of meats (I counted!) It was like having all the specialty meats and cheeses you always wanted to try. And there was prosciutto to go with the melon slices. Though each room was assigned a table and your preferred pot of beverage was waiting for you, the residents at other tables were friendly to each other. Perhaps it was the abundance of food that put everyone in a good mood.

The only negative is the old, very outdated computer available. But I found that computers, even in computer cafes in this town, were old--sort of like the town. Old is charming in towns, but not in computers.

The price is extremely reasonable. This pension should always be filled just for the breakfast alone!
Thank you Klaus and father for making my stay so wonderful.

Room Tip: Any room is good. The entire town is quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitFujian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had a great stay at Pension Elke. Klaus and his father Erich were very gracious and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.

Perfectly located - 3 minute walk to the town square.

If we ever return to Rothenburg on future trips to Germany, we will definitely stay here...

Breakfasts upstairs were plentiful and delicious.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5. Even though right at the stairs to the breakfast room it was still quiet. We...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbushway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were given a room in the house near the pension, very simple but super nice and romantic.
be aware if you book a room with bathroom that it is not inside the room but next to it, you'll have the key to close the door.
breakfast was very very nice, served on the top floor with a stunning view of the town roofs!
Good spread of meats and cheeses, brezel, breads, cake, fruit...you won't be disappointed!
The town is so romantic, really worth a stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a fantastically centrally located pension above the family grocery store. The rooms were very spacious and looked very new (the family remodeled the pension themselves, and pictures of the work line the halls). The family was incredibly nice and the father took a genuine interest in getting to know us and hear about our travels. Guests can also join the father and son on an evening run through the old town, a unique experience that should be taken advantage of (I run in the mornings so I did not, but I read about others enjoying the run through the stunning town and adjoining park).

The breakfast was also the highest quality yet with a diverse selection of really nice meats, cheeses, and breads. The internet was also accessible and adequately speedy in our 1st floor room (2nd floor for all you US peeps). The family's grocery store was also low priced (surprising in such a touristy town) and super convenient to grab water/fruit/snacks before heading out for the day.

All in all, I would not hesitate to stay in this place again and would recommend anybody else to do the same. You cannot beat the quality you get for the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blink7589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed in another building a couple of doors down from the grocery. We had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a hallway with table/chairs for 4 people. It was quiet, clean, convenient & reasonably priced. Klaus & Eric were helpful & friendly. Breakfast was great. Having the grocery store was helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turnbuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
589 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Elke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Elke

Address: Rodergasse, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Pension Elke Hotel Rothenburg Ob Der Tauber

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing