We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute home experience, good value and location”
Review of Pension Becker

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Becker
Ranked #20 of 35 Rothenburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We walked up to this place after learning about it at the TI (the board that tells you B&B vacancies) and we are glad we waited 5 minutes outside for the owner to get there after ringing them. It's well situated just inside the wall. The price is competitive. We were offered a family room for the price of the double and it was spacious and cozy. We can overlook the narrow stairs (no elevator) and squeaky hallway for the cute home experience. We were fine having parked outside the wall, but they would have tried to arrange something inside for us. Breakfast was hearty, though the dining hall can be small based on how many people are staying. Self-serve mini bar offered cheap drinks. The only downside is the check-out time being a little early for a relaxing morning in a B&B, but it could just be the Rothenburg standard.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalb_al_Akrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 70 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

Our room was more like a bed in a bathroom than a bedroom with facilities! But perfectly adequate for a short stay.

It's very close to the centre, and we had no trouble parking free about 50 yards away, next to the wall.

The breakfast is a bit chaotic when the house is fairly full, but no real problem, except the lack of eggs.

Hosts are very friendly and helpful.

The prices are excellent for this town, but be prepared for a little compromise.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PuBer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

If you want to stay right in the middle of the old walled city for a bargain, this place is tough to beat. The room was tiny, the bathroom was the tiniest I've seen, but they were clean. This is no frills, but you're in Rothenburg, and there's enough to see that you're not going to be spending a lot of time in your room.

The owners were very kind and served a decent breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UWMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

The pension itself was about average but I really couldn't tell if my room was just really run down or if it was dirty. That being said the bed was really comfortable, the location was good and the hosts were reasonably friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank just1michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My husband and I spent two nights as guests at Pension Becker. Rothenburg's tiny streets are understandably tricky to navigate even in a small rental car, but people are patient and helpful. Once the car was parked, we walked everywhere. This little hotel is perfectly located and delightful. It was our first visit to this part of Germany, and we hope to return to visit this ancient city and lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeinzKapui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

We booked a family room on Booking.com It was two very large rooms & could have slept up to six with a double and two twins with trundles underneath. Beds were comfortable and the room was clean. No t.v., no soap or shampoo for the shower. Refrigerator in the foyer had drinks for purchase on the honor system at reasonable prices. Our room was street level and the car noise on the cobblestones came in clearly after about 8:00 a.m. - but all was quite by 9:00 or 10:00 at night. some rooms do not have bathrooms, so verify that if you want one. Conveniently located (as are all the hotels within the city walls). Breakfast very basic - toast, coffee, cereal, yogurt, one or two cold cut types. Owners were friendly and spoke English. Making reservations with Booking.com was without a hitch throughout Germany - always charged exactly what was booked and never had problems with late check in. We found free street parking without a problem.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank 3momstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2007

My friends and I rented a room from this family. It is a separate unit from the house right around the corner. It was spacious, clean and probably the largest room we had during our 3 week trip in Europe. The price is extremely affordable and the couple is friendly. It was located walking distance from the front entrance and about a 10-15 walk to the train station. Breakfast was also good (included with room cost).

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GabalishCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
692 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#26 of 45 in Rothenburg
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zum Schwarzen Adler
Zum Schwarzen Adler
#40 of 45 in Rothenburg
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Becker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Becker

Address: Rosengasse 23, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Rothenburg
Price Range: $60 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Becker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing