We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
62
48
28
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
62
48
28
3
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 147 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2017

We stayed the night here, arriving after 5pm, so we had a short walk through the town, deciding not to visit Rothenburg ob der Tauber until the next morning.
A small settlement that is steeped in history, there is around 5-6 mills on the river and a couple are still working.
We ended up eating in the Gasthof restaurant and the food was of a very good quality and quantity.
We had one room for 4 people (family) and there was enough room for us to move around after all the suitcases were opened. Beds were comfortable and the room warm. We were lucky in that the room was towards the front of the building and we could hear the church bells ring from the Rothenburg.
The breakfast in the morning was the standard German breakfast and a different room to the restaurant that we had dinner in the night before.
After breakfast we headed into Rothenburg ob der Tauber and spent an hour or two wandering around town before heading back to the Schwarzes Lamm.

Yes we would happily return to this area and stay in this Gasthof.

Room tip: Front room, second floor.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016

Liked - Rothenburg ob der Tauber and hotel was well situated to access by car, while giving a little more rural relaxation. Restaurant somewhat limited (especially if gluten intolerant) but they're willing to work with you. They get a bit busy when dealing with one of their buses staying there.

Room tip: No A/C or fans in room, so it could be uncomfortable during warm days.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PeaceProphet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Loved the location, the room, the quaint surroundings and the view of a typical medieval Rothenburg style house with a lush green hillside in the background. The breakfast had a lot of variety.

The old town is a short drive away (a little less than 2km), you can park in a paid lot outside the wall and get in through multiple entry points through the wall.

The only downside was that we arrived late in the night and got a scare when it took us a few minutes to get the attention of the caretaker to let us in. So, call ahead and let them know if you will be in the same boat.

Room tip: No elevators, so ask for a lower floor room if you have luggage. Also, call/email ahead if you plan to arrive late.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ankur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016

This is now the 3rd year we have stayed here and have already booked for next year. We love the peace and quiet of the hotel. The rooms are clean and tidy, the breakfast is excellent. The staff are always cheery and helpful. Excellent.

Room tip: We had room 12.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ingrid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016

My family of 3 stayed one night at Schwarzes Lamm in July. Our room was very clean and comfortable for the 3 of us. Not "modern" or updated, but very nice and comfortable. The exterior of the building is beautiful, flower boxes on the front and a nice outdoor patio for dining. The breakfast was the best we had at any of our German hotels, we especially appreciated having the choice of scrambled eggs and not just hard boiled eggs like most hotel breakfasts. And they brought our son a delicious hot chocolate with breakfast when they brought my coffee. Pros: quiet, charming, friendly, traditional style Cons: Too far of a walk to town for us because we had a limited amount of time to explore the city, we had to drive into Rothenburg and pay to park. Also no AC and no elevator.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews