We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's OK, but not exceptional.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Franklin IN, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's OK, but not exceptional.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

It is average in nearly every way. While it has a fine location, the old city is so small that you are no more than a 5 minute walk from anything! Over-priced restaurant. The included breakfast was below-average and service was poor. Granted, we came down late (9am) but were essentially subjected to the scraps left by those before us. Note to any traveler: If you discover that a contingent of bicyclists are staying at your place, get down to eat early. They (cyclists) will eat nearly everything in sight and then take whatever they do not with them. That said, the room was good-sized and comfortable but it seems they charge a premium price for less-than-premium accommodations.

  • Liked — Average.
  • Disliked — Price/value is poor.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tobolski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    58
    21
    4
    0
See reviews for
36
40
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

Staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived minutes before the Rothenburg Night Watchman's tour began, and explained that we did not
want to miss this tour on our only night in Rothenburg. The staff
stored our bags for us, told us we could worry about the checkin later, and gave us directions to meet the Night Watchman. These directions were easy, as this hotel is in a prime location right near the town center.

The temperature in Rothenburg was unusually warm for May, at close to 90 degress Fahrenheit. This hotel doesn't have air conditioning, and the floors get warmer and warmer as you move up. Unfortunately we
were on the top floor, making the room quite uncomfortable. I don't know whether any other hotels in Rothenburg have air conditioning, but this is something to consider if travelling there in the summer. If staying at this hotel, try requesting a lower floor.

The room itself was quite nice. The bathroom seemed recently updated.
The bed was of average comfort. Breakfast was pretty good. Staff spoke English well. No internet access that I was aware of, but didn't need it for just one night.

If using their parking garage, be sure to get clear directions. The garage is in back of the hotel, so navigating through the one-way streets to get there was not so obvious.

  • Liked — Location cannot be beat!
  • Disliked — Lack of air conditioning
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank longhorn_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, Brazil
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2007

Rothenburg is a lovely town with many beautiful guesthouses and hotels, but zur Sonne is well located, very clean and quiet, it has a nice restaurant and friendly staff. Our room was really big and quiet, breakfast was nice and we had no problems during our stay. We would like recommend this hotel and we would stay here again.
Maristela and Rodrigo

  • Liked — comfort and location
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank maris05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2006

The Gasthof zur Sonne is an excellent Gasthof and Restaurant managed by Klaus Sackenreuther and family. The property is located in a pedestrian only [car free] Fußgängerzone only 30 yards from the Rathaus town square and 75 yards to the main Käthe Wohlfahrt store. However, it is too far to walk from the Bahnhof but the taxi fare was only 4 €.
Our 3-day visit was during the second weekend of the Christmas Markt. Klaus greeted us and the entire staff was overwhelmly friendly and spoke very good English. You will find a reserved table for Frühstück, which consisted of the basic breads, cold cut meats, cheeses, yogurt and cereal. There was a nice selection of typical German food and wine from the restaurant menu.
There is a mini-Mart across the street and a larger market with beer a short walk away. Our room, Zimmer #1, did not have a minibar but a window ledge always works well for us.
We booked our stay directly with Klaus and his reply to our e-mails was always prompt. TA does not allow me to post their www or e-mail address but you can look it up. Their location and price [73 €] were by far superior to any of the other hotels that I had contacted.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
#29 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gasthof Butz
Gasthof Butz
#27 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#11 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne

Property: Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Address: Hafengasse 11, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing