We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Reviewed April 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night in April 2012, after our original hotel cancelled our booking. We were surprised and delighted with this lovely hotel, which is clean and well maintained. Our GPS took us to a dead-end street nearby, but the manager came out and drove our car through the maze of streets to the garage at the rear of the hotel. We had the 3rd floor honeymoon suite, which was very roomy with view over the town. The beds were comfortable, the pillows thin but we had 2 extra delivered. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant, and there was a great buffet breakfast with cereals, yoghurts, breads, meats, cheese, jams, hot eggs and sausages. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Wifi was only available on the lower floors. We did the Night Watchman tour at 8pm and found it entertaining and informative – highly recommended! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 122 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2011

The hotel was clean a tidy. The single rooms were a bit small, and the double room was average sized. The parking was nice, two stall garages with plenty room and easily accessible. The breakfast was good and dinner was excellent! Easy walking from this location and the outside seating was a great place to watch people. Great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RTMitchell248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

The 'Gasthof' is located in the heart of the old historical centre which contains nothing but narrow and one-way streets. It's very convenient being there, close to all shops and monuments, but driving a car there and parking it can be quite stressful. My satnav sent me through the wrong streets and finally I managed to locate the hotel myself (by coincidence actually because I saw it from the street I was driving through). When I checked in I found out that they have a private parking space at the back of the hotel. One girl working in the 'Gasthof' was so kind to guide me there. The hotel itself looks quite small and even though I booked a single room, I got a large and spacious double room instead. The room itself smelled a little strange (not to say mouldy) but it was clean + the bathroom as well. I had a very quiet night there - after 6pm, when most of the tourists have left, all shops and museums closed, there's no noise on the street. While I was driving through the streets there was still a big bustle but at night everyhing was VERY quiet. There's not so much choice for breakfast; cereal, bread... but you can order eggs if you want. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Definitely a recommend if you're going to stay in Rothenburg (and if you have a small car that fits anywhere).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofke8868b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

Just returned from a fantastic trip in Rothenburg. We booked two triple rooms in the Hotel zur Sonne as we have 6 children. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The highlight of the stay was the breakfast that was provided. Cereal, bread, meats, cheese, soft boiled and scrambled eggs, fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, hot chocolate,etc. Every morning our table was reserved for us, and after the first morning, she knew exactly what each person wanted to drink, and what type of eggs. The friendliness of the staff is what makes this hotel stand out. The other members of our party stayed at another hotel that had been highly recommended on this site and they were disappointed in the breakfast and service in comparison to what we received at the hotel zur Sonne. Nothing fancy in this hotel but it had the things that counted to us. Friendly people, a comfortable bed, and a great breakfast. The only negative was the tight parking although the staff was very helpful with that as well.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hooverhbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Due to a reservation mixup (my fault) at another hotel, the other hotel referred us to this one, which had a room available at a similar price. They showed us three different rooms, at different prices, and let us choose.

The room appeared to be recently refurbished, was quite clean, modern and comfortable, and looked over the cafe-table-covered street below.

The location is perfect; the town square was a short block away. (After staying here I can't imagine staying at the hotels outside the wall.)

The staff were not always present, but were friendly and helpful when found.

Breakfast was very good in a roomy, pleasant dining room.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillInSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

It is average in nearly every way. While it has a fine location, the old city is so small that you are no more than a 5 minute walk from anything! Over-priced restaurant. The included breakfast was below-average and service was poor. Granted, we came down late (9am) but were essentially subjected to the scraps left by those before us. Note to any traveler: If you discover that a contingent of bicyclists are staying at your place, get down to eat early. They (cyclists) will eat nearly everything in sight and then take whatever they do not with them. That said, the room was good-sized and comfortable but it seems they charge a premium price for less-than-premium accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tobolski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2007

Staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived minutes before the Rothenburg Night Watchman's tour began, and explained that we did not
want to miss this tour on our only night in Rothenburg. The staff
stored our bags for us, told us we could worry about the checkin later, and gave us directions to meet the Night Watchman. These directions were easy, as this hotel is in a prime location right near the town center.

The temperature in Rothenburg was unusually warm for May, at close to 90 degress Fahrenheit. This hotel doesn't have air conditioning, and the floors get warmer and warmer as you move up. Unfortunately we
were on the top floor, making the room quite uncomfortable. I don't know whether any other hotels in Rothenburg have air conditioning, but this is something to consider if travelling there in the summer. If staying at this hotel, try requesting a lower floor.

The room itself was quite nice. The bathroom seemed recently updated.
The bed was of average comfort. Breakfast was pretty good. Staff spoke English well. No internet access that I was aware of, but didn't need it for just one night.

If using their parking garage, be sure to get clear directions. The garage is in back of the hotel, so navigating through the one-way streets to get there was not so obvious.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank longhorn_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.2 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#22 of 45 in Rothenburg
95 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#2 of 2 in Steinsfeld
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
AKZENT Hotel Schranne
AKZENT Hotel Schranne
#25 of 45 in Rothenburg
178 reviews
4.6 mi away
Brauerei Gasthof Landwehr-Braeu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne

Address: Hafengasse 11, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: $97 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing