We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in Rothenburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tilman Riemenschneider Hotel
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average hotel in Rothenburg”
Reviewed November 10, 2009

The three best things about this hotel are the location, the staff, and the breakfast. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is perfect and is near the center of the old town with many nice restaurants nearby. The breakfast is also very good and is served in a lovely room. The rooms are ok- clean but nothing special. The basic double room is not ideal for couples because it has two single beds that have been pushed together and the frame is hard down the middle. Bathroom is spacious but nothing special. I think you could probably stay in a slightly nicer hotel for close to the same price. They do have a private garage- I think that it was approx. 6 Euros to park there overnight.
Rothenburg itself is fantastic!!! Great place to visit in the fall or during the holiday season.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    64
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
58
63
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

The location of this hotel is ideal, a few minutes walk from the centre. It's located in the pedestrian zone so you have to leave your car in the large car park outside the city walls but this isn't a problem because you can drive to the hotel, unload the luggage then drive to the parking which is only about a 5 minute walk from the hotel
The staff in the restaurant and at reception are very friendly and helpful. We didn't have dinner at the hotel so can't comment on the food. Breakfast was ok.
The thing that lets this hotel down are the rooms. They're quite small and they look a bit dated , maybe we were unlucky and got an older room, I don't know but if we return to Rothenburg we would probably look for something else

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

The hotel is located very conveniently within the old town of Rothenburg ob der Tauber city walls. Everything is easily within walking distance. Employees were very friendly and helpful. Parking is in a garage a few blocks away, but one of the staff rides with you to the garage to let you in and walks back with you. We had a quad room located on the main floor towards the back of the building. It was very quaint and furnished with cute old-style German furniture with painted flowers on it. The bathroom looked like it had recently been redone, as everything was brand new and very clean. They even had towel warmers. An organic buffet breakfast was served every morning consisting of cereals, fruits, meats, cheeses, yogurt, breads, eggs and sausage and various juices. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearmom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Read many of the reviews here and thought this was well worth our visit. We live in Luxembourg and wanted a quick weekend trip into Bavaria and heard Rothenburg odT was a fasintating little place.

Hotel Tilman Riemenschneider is a really nice little hotel - I'd prefer to give it 3.5 stars because I think it distinguishes itself from other places that deserve 3 stars but it isn't quite at a 4 star rating.

The hotel is on a small but well traveled street leading into R-odT. You'll pull up alongside the narrow sidewalk, take baggage into the hotel and then have to drive a short ways to park (in their parking barn - or else to an open lot). That said, every hotel in Rothenburg has the same arrangements. Recall this was a city LONG before Henry Ford came about.

The facade of the hotel is charming and the location is just past one of the old towers. Very picturesque. The lobby is a small old fashioned hotel area - there are small sitting rooms in front, and off to one side is the hotel guests' dining area.

The rooms are on floors 1 - 3 accessed via a sprialing staircase or a small lift. The landings on each floor have some antique pieces - spinning wheels, iron works, old Bavarian pieces of furniture.

We stayed in the triple room as we are a family of five - three small boys. The boys all fit comfortably on a large pullout couch (fit them better than most double beds in Europe) and we had a nicely sized double. The room we had wasn't as charming as others described here - and the bathrooms were by no means 'luxury' as noted in some other reviews. The furniture was pleasant and the bath serviceable. I saw some other reviews complain about heat and hot water - they seem to have that sorted as the water ran quite hot and the room temperature was nice. Easily cooled by opening the line of windows, or heated up if chill with a quick turn on the radiator.

All told the furniture "felt" a little dated. Not that I'd expect very modern, or richly restored antiques - I'm mindful that this isn't the most expensive of places in R/odT. But I can't see a full four stars (and I can't imagine people who give this a 5 ... hate to see what they call a 3 ... eeek!).

The most disappointing part was the 'hearty breakfast'. Nothing more than a common German breakfast buffet and not a stellar one at that. Eggs were hot one day, cold the next but I'm sure if we noted it a hot batch would fly out of the kitchen. Coffee was good and free flowing, juices just the normal, thin variety (orange and multi - thats it). A few cereals, some sliced bread, and the requisite platter of processed meats and cheeses. Might be hearty if you ate a lot of it but it is more a quick fill-up type of offering.

The service is quite good in the dining area and the front desk staff is always milling about. One woman at the front desk in particular is amazing - a real treat to work with. I think the service is what really pulls this place toward a 4 star. But a combination of the slightly tired furniture 'feel' (which could be unique to the triple) and the lackluster breakfast keep this in the (high) three rating.

So - I can say ... go to this place. It is very well located - just a few hundred meters from the market square - and the folks here are grand. Just so long as you set expectations at a 3.75 star rating and not a 4.5 to 5 rating and you'll love the Tilman.

Best!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Without a doubt, this is the finest small hotel at which I have ever stayed. The staff couldn't do enough to be of help....English spoken by all. The room large and clean, which included a breakfast with bacon and eggs....good place for dinner too. Located just around the corner from the central town platz, it is well situated for touring the old town. (Don't miss the Criminal Museum) All of this for 86 Euros. This hotel is a winning find!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2008

We stayed in Rothenburg at this lovely hotel in the center of the old town with a typical half-timbered facade for 2 nights. Inside bavarian style with a lot of paintings and woodcarvings. Our twin room was spacious with handpainted beds and wardrobe and a perfect bright and clean bathroom. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious (we had a regional speciality: sucking pig!) and the waitress was very friendly. Young and smiling girls served breakfast in the morning (extensive breakfast buffet with cereals, eggs, choice of juices etc). Even though we were traveling with a group, we were treated like individual travelers - quite different to other hotels on our trip. Rothenburg itself is fascinating - a lot of things to see. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to come back!

  • Liked — hotel and restaraunt
  • Disliked — that we had to leave!
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joschMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2007

My wife and I and another couple had flown all night and then driven from Flughafen Frankfurt down the Romantic Road through Würzburg and into Rothenburg ob der Tauber in early evening. We had no reservations but the desk was very friendly and they had two rooms available. Rooms were comfortable, breakfast was excellent and the location inside the walls was perfect.

  • Liked — Excellent breakfast
  • Stayed January 2004, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Medstrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
668 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#8 of 45 in Rothenburg
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.2 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tilman Riemenschneider Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilman Riemenschneider Hotel

Property: Tilman Riemenschneider Hotel
Address: Georgengasse 11-13, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tilman Riemenschneider Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tilman Riemenschneider Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tilman Riemenschneider

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing