We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveler rating
343
115
13
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
115
13
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews herr hocher the owner free parking bread huge plate no elevator hearty breakfast the inn keeper old town the main square quiet side street off street parking inside the walled city small hotel top floor train station rothenburg ob der tauber
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 477 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2018

This is a very nice and cozy hotel in Rothenburg ob der Tauber. A very wonderful town in the state of Bavaria. For the last two years we have stayed the night in this hotel because the owner/host is a wonderful older gentleman. We always feel so welcome in this town. This is one of the few hotels that has parking as well as a nice German style breakfast in the morning that is included in the price.

Room tip: Excellent Host
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank erkohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2018

Hotel Spitzweg is a quaint, charming, and relaxing place to stay convenient to all the sights in town. We liked that it was off a quiet side street yet still a very short walk to the town center. It is also a short walk to the town gate entrance that is closest to the train station (for travelers arriving on the train as we were). It was easy to walk from the station to Hotel Spitzweg. The owner is very welcoming and friendly, and has a great sense of humor. We stayed on the top floor, and our room was spacious with an entrance area inside the door (almost felt like a nice "mudroom" area). The furnishings were full of character just like the hotel itself. Even though the hotel is hundreds of years old, the bathroom was gorgeous - seemed to be recently updated and was very clean and functional. As others mentioned, breakfast consisted off a buffet with tea, coffee, juice, soft-boiled eggs, cereal, yogurt, fruit, breads, and a meat/cheese platter. Scrambled eggs were also available. The price was great for a hotel with a convenient location, great character, wonderful service, and breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JB_penn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

We hired a car and drove the 1.5 hours from Nuremberg to beautiful Rothenburg and sat nav took us to this old hotel inside the town walls. We were met by the owner klaus and directed to the small car park at the rear of the property. Our room (21) was on the top floor, with attic style windows large bed and furnished with old style wardrobes. Good bathroom with walkin shower.
Lovely continental breakfast served by lovely young lady, included fruit juice, fruit, yoghurt, cereal and bread on self-service as well as boiled eggs and scrambled eggs also available. On your table you have your own tea or coffee pot, huge plate of meats and cheeses. A great way to start your days sightseeing. We stayed four nights and enjoyed listening to Klaus explaining where we should see in the area, including the British royal family German ancestors' palaces and some of his stories from his time working in England and around the world.

We'll worth staying here, if you want traditional lodgings and to explore the lovely chocolate box town and surrounding area.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank traveller0065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

Clean, quiet, Nice simple breakfast.
If you have big luggage like us its better if you know there is no lift in this hotel!
Location is perfect right in the middle of everything. Owner is very friendly.
No safe box in the room but you could leave your items at reception in safe.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SepidehPirbadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of our Bavaria tour.

So wonderful. The building is around 500 years old so you are staying somewhere special, and it feels like it. It is located in a lovely quant street with it's own limited (And free) parking. It is within the town walls so is very convenient.

Don't expect a modern hotel, the floor boards creek, the stairs are narrow etc etc. Our room was large and well decorated with furniture and pics in keeping with the history.

The proprietor was wonderful. We were well greated, he had a very friendly and welcoming manner and a superb sense of humour.

The breakfast was great. We were given a plate of meat/cheese, there was a selection of bread and fruit and you also had the option of eggs.

I would love to return at some point and recommend this hotel to anyone touring the area.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank M161QGchrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews