We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$303
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burghotel(Rothenburg)
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$137
$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$209
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eisenhut(Rothenburg)
$125
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Glocke Hotel(Rothenburg)
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveler rating
340
113
12
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
113
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherr hocherthe ownerhuge platterfree parkingbreadno elevatorcharming b bhearty breakfastthe inn keeperold townquiet side streetthe main squareoff street parkinginside the walled citysmall hoteltop floorfairy tale
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 471 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

Charming & Enchanting accommodations. I felt like Gretel (Hansel & Gretel), in this quaint place. Nice, clean appointed rooms & updated restrooms. Great location to square for shopping and dining. Nice, safe parking.....driving into a walled fortress a bit scary for this American, but a good reason for a cold beer after! Oh, and the breakfast....YUM, delicious and beautifully presented!

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
1  Thank JoRSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017

We just returned from a trip through Germany that included a night with Herr Hocher and the wonderful Spitzweg hotel. Travelling as a couple with our child and my wife's mother, the Spitzweg was kind enough to accommodate with a pair of rooms, one with a standard european double-bed (the two-twin king-size) and the 2nd with two separate beds. Not every place we stayed was able to do this for us. The hotel staff were exceedingly friendly and very helpful. The provided breakfast was massive and delicious; the usual German cheese-and-meat tray was prepared just for our table (instead of a buffet), so I felt a little guilty as I had neglected to warn them that two of our group don't eat meat! (I did my best to make up the difference.)

Parking in the courtyard behind the hotel is included, but beware that this is deep inside a medieval walled city so the streets, and in particular the gateway to the parking area, are VERY narrow. Careful approach and the car's 360° radar was needed to get our rental full-size through the gates without incident. Those with "normal" sized cars should do fine, with a little caution.

It should go without saying that a building almost 500 years old has no elevator, but the rooms are surprisingly good-sized and the modernized bathrooms are bright (and private). The (typical for old-world Europe) retrofit shower-stalls here are small for someone with my shoulders, but keep your elbows tucked in and you'll be fine.

The hotel is a short walk to the town Market square and most restaurants, and only a couple more minutes gets you to the excellent Crime and Punishment Museum and Saint Jacob's.

Anyone visiting Rothenburg or the surrounding area should definitely plan to stay at least one night - the whole place takes on a special magic after the tour buses leave town.

Room Tip: Traditional double and separate two-bed rooms available, if you ask.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Perfect location with nice shops and restaurants close by. Friendly and helpful owners. Enjoyed meeting them. Great breakfast. Highly recommend choosing this hotel.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017 via mobile

We stayed overnight in this hotel on our way back to Italy from Prague and we were delighted with our choice. The hotel is very quaint and the host charming. The breakfast was excellent, we were served a huge platter of top quality cold cuts and cheeses and there was a well stocked buffet too. The room was lovely, spotless and with a new bathroom.
Another plus was we were able to park in the courtyard.
As for the town of Rothenberg, it's like being immersed in a fairy tale, truly delightful.

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank EnglishB-Asti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2017

This is just the most adorable place you will ever see. A classic inn with a class inn keeper. We stayed for 2 nights in December while visiting Rothenberg for the Christmas Markets. Rothenberg is very tiny so this was right in the middle of everything - just perfect. The inn keeper was a delight and sat with us during breakfast. We had 4 people in the "suite" and it was perfect. 1 of the rooms was a room with a door, 2 beds were kind of out in the open where you would think a living room would be but it worked out great.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrzgrl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews