We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Rothenburg” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spitzweg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Spitzweg
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rothenburg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful little B&B in the centre of Rothenburg. Walkable to all attractions and shops. Parking round the back which is a godsend as very little parking in the centre. Nice clean rooms lovely breakfast and very friendly staff.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank titania_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    97
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
79
256
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abel Tasman National Park, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed 3 nights late May, absolutely perfect, quaint room, huge modern bathroom, quiet, cool, breakfast sensational, really felt like you were part of this ancient town, a few stairs to go up but surely no one expects a lift in an old building !!!!
Loved it so much that we arranged for our friends to stay later in July when they are touring the Romantic Rd

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. What a delightful place. Great location and easy to walk everywhere. Free parking at the back. Rooms are decorated old style. Very clean and comfortable. Owner is such a nice man and so helpful with information. I would recommend you stay here if you want old world, great location, and great service. Loved it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishGalway_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend two nights in this charming inn. Our room was very comfortable, immaculately clean and quite large. The bathroom was modern and huge....and I do mean huge! The room was decorated with blue painted furniture and was perfect for our first visit to Germany. It overlooked a quiet side street. We had a car, so the free parking right behind the hotel was very convenient. The breakfast was delicious, bountiful and beautifully presented. Herr Hocher is the perfect host. He welcomes you as a guest in his home and spends time getting to know you and sharing stories about the hotel, his family and his many adventures. We loved Rothenburg and Hotel Spitzweg and we cannot wait to return with our family. Btw, we were in room 11.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lv2trvl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent one night in April and wished our itinerary would have allowed for at least one more night. May never have the opportunity to stay in a rustic almost 500 year old hotel again. Not one complaint about this hotel. Beautiful old hotel with so much history. Owner was so friendly and sat for awhile with our group of four at breakfast and entertained and enlightened us. Great room, great breakfast, great location (just off the main street and very quiet). Would definitely book this hotel again and recommend it to anyone we know travelling to Rothenburg. Charming city and not too busy as our stay was not at the height of the tourist season. Don't miss the Night Watchman tour in the evening as very entertaining.

Room Tip: No elevator so if mobility is an issue try to get first level of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

The ability to stay in a historic building in old town is quite appealing. The location is within easy walking distance of all of the major attractions and many restaurants. Free on-site parking is an added bonus.

Walter, the innkeeper, is a delight to talk with. He has excellent knowledge of the local area - be sure to ask about an evening with Herman the German, a fun way to meet other English speaking people, share some stories and find out more about German life.

With an historic building comes its unique character - no elevators, quirky hot water supply and no Internet. If these are important or necessary for you, this may not be the right location.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wally434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a charming, small, centrally located B&B. It was on a quiet little street, just a few short blocks from the Market Square, with parking in the back. A perfect location with shops, restaurants, and sights surrounding it. The rooms are fairy-tale like...decorated with painted furniture, and very comfortable beds and duvets. The bathroom was spacious and very modern. Note, there is no lift, and there is a steep staircase. That said, we loved this place...in fact, voted it our favorite in a 5 week European holiday!! Herr Hocher is delightful and full of suggestions and stories and also he provides a great breakfast!! The rest of the staff is friendly and welcoming, as well. There is so much to do in wonderful Rothenburg, but we only had 2 days there....would have loved some more time. And if we ever return, we will definitely stay at the Hotel Spitzweg!!

Room Tip: I think any room would be delightful, and all very quiet since it is on a side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dodi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#4 of 47 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 47 in Rothenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spitzweg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spitzweg

Property: Hotel Spitzweg
Address: Paradeisgasse 2, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spitzweg 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Spitzweg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing