We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Spitzweg
Nearby Hotels
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel(Rothenburg)(Great Value!)
$141
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glocke Hotel(Rothenburg)
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$102
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (454)
Filter reviews
454 results
Traveler rating
332
107
9
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
107
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherr hocherthe ownerhuge platterfree parkingbreadno elevatorcharming b bhand painted furniturehearty breakfastthe inn keeperold townthe main squaremedieval festivalnext morninginside the walled citysmall hotelspent two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 454 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Spitzweg during our mini-honeymoon and I can honestly say that we got really lucky to have booked it. It is a little gem right where it has to be but not in the middle of the craziness. Our room was cozy, warm and has this old (in all the good ways) feel. The bathroom was huge and comfortable and I do believe this is not to underestimate after a long walk. As far as the breakfast goes - we loved it. The owner himself brought us a huge plate of cheese and meats, variety of bread, and eggs in case you wish so. The check-out was at 11 but they were nice enough to let us leave our car and luggage so we can spend some more time in this lovely town.
For the Christmas lovers like me - Rothenburg ob der Tauber is a fairytale and the owner DOES look like Santa :))) Or he is! Who knows ...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GretaZGergova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel was probably one of the most amazing places I've ever stayed in all of my travels. The attention to detail, spacious room, and massive bathroom made for a very comfortable stay in a town dedicated to Christmas. The location is perfect to truly experience this village. We had an excellent night's sleep following by a breakfast that I still dream about. We were able to speak with the owner during breakfast who very much enjoys guessing where you are from and what you do for a living. His accuracy is uncanny. We had a delicious breakfast that included fresh scrambled eggs, ham, a cold cut platter, and breads. And after all of that, we were given fresh cookies. I am still convinced the owner is Santa in hiding. He has a naughty and nice list somewhere. I just hope I'm on the nice list. I hope to visit one day again soon because this was certainly the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdvntrGrl31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

As the title suggests we were thrilled with the location, and as we were driving, parking was very easy. Nice to just leave the car and walk.
Lovely old hotel full of character, the landlord was lovely (although rather gruff at first), have to say that we didn't love the room or bed but for one night it was perfectly adequate. The location, building and hospitality certainly made up for it.

We found the rooms a little 'dated' but no complaints as the location made up for this small detail.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiedreamer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Brilliant location if you like staying in the old towns. There is parking for about 10 cars.
Breakfast is a good typical German breakfast. Staff are flexible to make what you want and are very cheerful. Walking distance to everything . if your into wearing Birkenstocks, this is the cheapest you will find them anywhere . Have a look at the roof from the car park, pretty amazing though it is 500 years old. This is our second stay here and just as good.xmas markets were great.

Room Tip: If you don't like lugging suitcases up narrow staircases stick to the lower levels.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I traveled in the spring through Alsace and Germany. going from one beautiful town to the next. Our last stop before flying home was in Rothenberg where we stayed at the Hotel Spitzweg. The best word to describe the hotel is "Magical" We entered and received the best an warmest welcome ever from Walter who wouldn't speak to us until we schnapps. The room was perfect and breakfast in the morning was beyond wonderful. At night when we walked around town we would be greeted by walter and his wife taking their evening stroll. We'd go back in hearbeat

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burrcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews