We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sitting Cozy in the City that Fell Asleep”
Review of Hotel Spitzweg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Spitzweg
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Sitting Cozy in the City that Fell Asleep”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

You have the feeling of stepping back in time when you walk into the hotel. You will be personally greeted by the owner Herr Hocker and shown a parking space. Our room was decorated with German charm, and we lacked for nothing. The hotel is situated conveniently within the castle walls, yet not on a main busy street.

Breakfast was scrumptious with a buffet and a plate of meats and cheeses hand prepared by the owner. He sat down with us and gave us recommendations on city sites.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    104
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
85
269
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for one night on our way from Wurzburg to Fuessen. The Hotel is located in a very old building. Rooms are well furnished and clean. Large modern bathroom. The owner and the staff are friendly and helpful. Private parking (rarity in Rothenburg).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tuzik12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

It is hard to imagine a better place to stay in Rothenburg ob der Tauber. This small family-operated hotel is in a perfect location for everything there is to see in Rothenburg. While the rooms are small, they are spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. The proprietor, Herr Hocker, personally prepares the most amazing breakfast of cold meats, cheeses, fresh bread rolls, and each morning, a little something special. He is the epitome of the charming host, ensuring you see the best of what Rotheburg has to offer. I would definitely return to the Spitzweg, especially to reconnect with Herr Hocker. It was a fun experience from start to finish.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a quiet side-street so I don't think there is a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tripster91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on 10/05/13, 1 night as part of our package, "3 Days Frankfurt to Munich- Romantic Road". This is a quaint hotel, the owner is so friendly it give you the feeling that you are part of their family visiting for a night more like a B & B. The breakfast is great and it is a very easy walk through the entire town. The caution is there is no elevator, so be prepared to carry your luggage up 2 flights of stairs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 808LApo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenville, NY
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The owner was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and surprisingly spacious with old world charm. Great breakfast. Would stay there again. Take the night watchman tour if you get the chance. The town is very touristy but beautiful and easy to get around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric12302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to Frankfurt. It is a charming old hotel, the rooms are lovely and you feel you are stepping into a by gone era although you have all the comforts. We had a delightful breakfast and were joined by the owner who entertained us with stories about the history of the place and his experiences in life. High recommended.

Room Tip: Only saw two rooms and both nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vally29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Although built in 1536, the Hotel Spitzweg in Paradeisgasse 2, Rotherburg ob der Tauber is a small boutique hotel run efficiently by owner Mike Hocher, his wife and daughter. You are constantly aware that you are surrounded by history and genuine antiques. By the same token, however, the en-suite bathroom is excellent and modern and prices are quite reasonable, Free parking, a major issue in Germany, is available in the courtyard behind the hotel. The breakfast buffet was very good with every ingredient freshly prepared. We will be back.

Room Tip: Put it on your list because it's in the heart of the Altstadt (the Old Town)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 45 in Rothenburg
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spitzweg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spitzweg

Property: Hotel Spitzweg
Address: Paradeisgasse 2, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spitzweg 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Spitzweg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing