We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old, but hospitable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Spitzweg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Spitzweg
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old, but hospitable”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Although built in 1536, the Hotel Spitzweg in Paradeisgasse 2, Rotherburg ob der Tauber is a small boutique hotel run efficiently by owner Mike Hocher, his wife and daughter. You are constantly aware that you are surrounded by history and genuine antiques. By the same token, however, the en-suite bathroom is excellent and modern and prices are quite reasonable, Free parking, a major issue in Germany, is available in the courtyard behind the hotel. The breakfast buffet was very good with every ingredient freshly prepared. We will be back.

Room Tip: Put it on your list because it's in the heart of the Altstadt (the Old Town)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    97
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
80
260
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you need lots of attention and room service and a concierge, this isn't for you - I'm not sure anywhere in Rothenburg is. But if you want a charming, authentic bed and breakfast right in the middle of town for a good value, stay here!

My girlfriend and I had a great, 1 night stay at Hotel Spitzweg. We arrived by car and parked in the lot behind the hotel, which was a huge convenience.

As stated in many reviews, there is not always someone on duty, so we pushed the buzzer, announced our arrival and a friendly girl came in 3-5 minutes to check us in and show us our room. She let us know breakfast was served 8-10am the next morning.

Once checked in we immediately headed out to explore the town. It is a tiny town, very easy to walk anywhere and the hotel is very well situated maybe 2 blocks from the main square. Don't bother trying to find a hotel that's closer to one thing or another, the town is so tiny, a few minutes walk gets you anywhere.

We had a great, quiets nights sleep on a comfortable double bed. Since we were out late the night before we slept in late, missing the breakfast time and getting downstairs to check out around 10:20am. Well when we met Herr Hocher he was having none of this and he made sure that even though we'd missed the breakfast time, we were served a full breakfast of meat, cheese, bread, cereal and fruit and lots of coffee.

As other reviews have stated Herr Hocher was incredibly friendly and charming and he wished we'd stayed for more than one night. As it turns out, we wished the same.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VocalMinority
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
210 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is one of our favourite hotels in Germany, in an ancient building with modern conveniences (except wifi). The location is an easy stroll to the town square, but on a side street with little traffic or noise. The owners are charming. We chanced into the medieval festival, with the town full of folks in costume.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emkay0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This place was amazing, the hotel had real character and the staff could not have been more helpful, offering recommendations, directions and a good conversation. The room was large, with large double bed and a single with lovely painted furniture and a real charm, yet the bathroom was clean, and top spec. with the most powerful shower I have had for a long time. Breakfast was more than we could of wished for - a huge platter of meats and cheeses with fantastic bread, great coffee and juice plus lots of other things to choose from or ask for, all included. Location was fantastic to walk around Rothenberg, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna644364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The owner is a warm and friendly person; truly one of the nicest people I have ever met.

Pros:
Fantastic service
Comfortable room
Modern bathroom
Generous breakfast
Easy, quick walk to market square
Easy, quick walk to train station

Cons:
None

At breakfast, there is a self-service buffet in the center of the dining room piled with fruit, jams, eggs, breads and rolls. On top of that, a cold cut platter is delivered to your table. The platter is enormous - enough to feed six, maybe eight people. Even eating a small amount of the breakfast offered, you will be full for a long time after breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I did not stay in this hotel but the person I was traveling with did. When I met her here to go to the train station, the owner sat me down and offered me breakfast and brought coffee. As she was checking out, he brought me a sandwich for the train! And I wasn't even a guest! When I go back, I would not even consider staying anywhere else. The decor is gorgeous and nothing beats the hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarkEnterpr1se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a very nice room with two queen beds for our family of four. The hotel is very old, everything appears to be in great shape and well taken care of. The bathroom is modern and the beds are comfortable. We don't mind the lack of A/C even in August, we also don't mind the stairs, it was a lovely and wonderful hotel. We highly recommend it. It also comes with free parking! All the staff we met are friendly and professional.

The breakfast was fantastic with a ton of variety. We spoke to the owner who is a kind and gentle man. All in all, we had a wonderful stay at Hotel Spitzweg.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinnievinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#4 of 46 in Rothenburg
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#3 of 46 in Rothenburg
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#6 of 46 in Rothenburg
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 46 in Rothenburg
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 46 in Rothenburg
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Hotel Gotisches Haus
#5 of 46 in Rothenburg
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spitzweg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spitzweg

Property: Hotel Spitzweg
Address: Paradeisgasse 2, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spitzweg 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Spitzweg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing