We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cigarette smell in room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rothenburger Hof
Ranked #31 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cigarette smell in room”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel is average, friendly personell, rooms look ok, the location is next to the train station and not far away from the old city center, offers free parking. The rooms are cheap, but they are smelly, because half of the rooms are for smokers.

Room Tip: non-smoker room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorisNicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    51
    50
    10
    2
See reviews for
34
48
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This hotel was a good value for the price. The rooms were small but practical. The front desk staff spoke enough english to be helpful. They offer to mail postcards home and they have internet. The breakfast is typically german, cold cuts, grains and eggs. The lady who ran the front desk Monday through Friday came off as rude but really wasn't. She just couldn't communicate well with english speaking guests but we stayed several days and she turned out to be a very thoughtful hostess. The younger staff spoke good english and they were helpful. They helped us find a laundry mat. About the hot water, its funny really....The water that comes into these older buildings is coming from a far away place so when you turn the hot water on in the shower, there is none: long-story-short, you have to let the water in the shower run about 5 to 10 minutes before the hot water appears but once it appears- its HOT!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajaxtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We payed 68€ for a double room. The carpets was smelling of mold, the tv-set didn't work, the bath tube was dirty and it was bugs in the bathroom.

But, the lispin girl in Dirndl dress at the desk was nice.

It's located at the train station, a ten minutes walk from the old town

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malu58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rothenburg hotels

Leicestershire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Very easy to find and although it is right opposite the railway station and on a busy road, quite quiet in the room. Very easy to walk into the old town in 10 minutes. This seems to be a hotel in transition - our room had been upgraded but the general appearance of the hotel was more old-fashioned. Room was bright and pleasantly decorated. Towels were very thin - we used our own. Breakfast buffet was acceptable but nothing to write home about. Helpful staff and good overall atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidyarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Hotel Rothenburger Hof is right across the street from the Rothenburg ob der Tauber train station - you can't miss it. This makes it very convenient for travelers arriving by train or driving the Romantic Road. The hotel has a parking lot for guests.

I chose this hotel because I was making a last minute trip to Rothenburg od T and it was one of the few places that still had rooms available. I booked my stay through Expedia. I arrived mid-morning, well in advance of the 2pm check-in time. Fortunately my room was immediately available. I was shown a corner room on the 2nd floor overlooking the train station by the friendly innkeeper. She showed me how to get in the hotel after hours and explained that breakfast was served from 7 to 10 downstairs. The room itself was very clean and fairly big. Furniture consisted of a comfortable double bed, desk, separate table and chairs, plus a wardrobe. The bathroom was also of good size and had a combination shower/tub.

During the day, from dawn to dusk, there is a lot of traffic noise because the hotel sits right on a major road. However at night the traffic dies off and I wasn't bothered by any road noise while sleeping.

My first morning I had to wait quite a while for hot water to make it to the shower. I suspect it was because I had gotten up late, around 8:30 am, and the tour group that had checked in the previous afternoon had drained the hot water tanks. I had no problems with hot water the following morning.

Breakfast is included in the room rate. A selection of cold cuts and cheeses, along with various breads and rolls, yogurt, fruit, cereal and juices is laid out buffet style in the dining room. Coffee is available on request. To me the breakfast was very substantial and quite good. I really miss those fresh, crusty rolls slathered with butter and jam!

In the lobby there is a sofa, chairs and tables where you can relax with a cold beer or two after a day of sightseeing.

It is an easy 15 minute walk from the hotel to the main square in the old town of Rothenburg. Even late at night I felt perfectly safe walking alone from town back to the hotel.

Besides the hotel's dining room there are other places to eat nearby. For example I took dinner one night at the Gasthof Post down the street where I had an excellent pork cutlet. And of course there are all kinds of restaurants and cafes in Rothenburg's old town. Oh, by the way, there is a Burger King some 300 meters from the hotel if you're in the need for fast food. And there's a small shopping center nearby.

For cash there is a bank just down the street from the hotel which has 24 hour multi-lingual ATM machines.

If you don't mind not being right in the Old Town itself, this hotel in my opinion is a very good value and I would definitely stay here again if I ever return to Rothenburg.

Incidentally this hotel apparently is very popular with Japanese bus tour groups as I saw three different tour groups come through during my three day stay. Which explains why there are so many trip reviews posted on this site in Japanese!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Go_By_Rail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
Hotel Schwarzes Ross
#1 of 2 in Steinsfeld
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Zur Linde
Hotel Gasthof Zur Linde
#36 of 46 in Rothenburg
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass
TOP Hotel Goldenes Fass
#21 of 46 in Rothenburg
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.5 mi away
Hotel Am weissen Turm
Hotel Am weissen Turm
#37 of 46 in Rothenburg
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
#26 of 46 in Rothenburg
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rothenburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rothenburger Hof

Property: Hotel Rothenburger Hof
Address: Bahnhofstr. 11-13, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rothenburger Hof 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rothenburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothenburger Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing