We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Stay here!”
Review of Hotel Cafe Uhl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Uhl
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We booked a double and a triple for one night - the Triple was room 7 - spacious and the beds were wonderful. It overlooked the front cobbled streets, but no street noice we noticed. The double was room 9, and it was on the top floor, with wonderful views out the back and a beautiful marble bathroom. Wireless internet was stable and strong in room 7, breakfast was German standard of boiled eggs, meats, cheeses, bread. We ate in the cafe - nice wine and yummy desserts! Easy to book with an email, and we would definetely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisalycmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 100 of 191 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

My family of 6 stayed in 2 triple rooms in Rothenburg in the middle of Sept. 2011. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable. The room for my wife and I overlooked the cobbled street.

The owner and his soon were very friendly and the breakfast buffet were excellent. We also ate dinner at the Cafe twice. The prices were moderate and the food was good. In addition, the hotel has free wifi.

The only downside to our stay was originally finding the Hotel from the train station. It's about a 20 min. walk from the station over cobbled streets. I recommend printing out a google map and taking it with you. You'll avoid needlessly wandering the streets with your luggage like we did.

I wish we could have stayed longer in Rothenburg; there is much to see and enjoy in this medieval town.

I highly recommend visiting Rothenburg and staying at Cafe Uhl.

Room Tip: The rooms are very clean. Be sure to ask for a room with a view if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We had the quad room with an extra bed. It was about a block and half up hill walk from the cafe/hotel. It offered a private gated parking space right in front of the room. Breakfast was good and included in the room rate. Excellent value for this hotel. Rothenburg o.d.Tauber is a must see. Great town for shopping, shops are even open on Sunday. Only thing was the beds all made lots of noise every time someone moved.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddrCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Quad was a little efficiency apartment with a private gated parking space about a block and a half from the main hotel. Worked well for four of us but the uphill was a bit hard for my 75-yr old mom. Decent breakfast in the bakery. Rothenburg is a pure delight!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kinwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

stayed two nights. Good room, wonderful breakfast, very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnesotaactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We had a room with a beautiful view, which was quiet and comfortable.The owners were warm and welcoming and we enjoyed an excellent breakfast.The food was so good we returned for lunch before our departure! The only slight inconvenience was having to park some distance from the hotel!
Rothenburg is a real gem - make sure you try the Schneeballen and experience the Night Watchman's tour to really appreciate the history of this amazing town.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We had 2 rooms overlooking the back, with beautiful views of the valley. It was quiet, clean, well-furnished, and the service was prompt and friendly. The location was also excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtwoodside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.0 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#24 of 45 in Rothenburg
95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
Hotel und Gasthof zur Sonne
#23 of 45 in Rothenburg
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose
Boutiquehotel Goldene Rose
#32 of 45 in Rothenburg
75 reviews
4.8 mi away
Brauerei Gasthof Landwehr-Braeu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Uhl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Uhl

Address: Ploenlein 6-8, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range: $101 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cafe Uhl 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Cafe Uhl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing