We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed April 16, 2009

We arrived to Kreuzerhof after a long day in the car with two young children. We were wiped out, but the owners greeted us as we pulled into the parking area and made us feel very welcome. Check in was easy and we were shown to our room. We actually booked a double and were given a quadruple instead. He even asked us if that was okay...yes! It was a very nice room with a twin bed in the entrance that could be closed off from the rest of the room. We actually used that area for our luggage. The bathroom was small but adequate and clean. I'm not a fan of feather pillows, but that seemed to be the norm in Germany. Otherwise, the beds were very comfortable too. Breakfast in the morning was very good. Everything mentioned by other reviewers...eggs, bacon, sausage, rolls, hot chocolate, tea, coffee, juice, and some other items I'm sure I'm forgetting. The location is just inside the city wall. It is a bit far from the town square, but easily walked to (even with a 3 and 1 year old.) Overall, this is a very nice B&B and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommylovestotravel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    63
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
82
88
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2008

Booked a double room on Bookings.com for $65 EUR. Dirt cheap for what we got which was a very large sized room, comfortable beds, best breakfast on our trip. The buffet breakfast had everything that was mentioned by previous reviewers. This small establishment is run by the owner, a friendly family man. Internet is provided free of charge which makes for a nice change. The room is very quiet, very clean. Smallish bathroom though but not a big problem as we managed and with a 1 year old too. It is tiled floor which is unusual.
He does charge for parking on site, but very minimal at $3 EUR, very handy if you have a car. Would recommend this and go back to them again.

  • Liked — Buffet Breakfast adn Great Location.
  • Disliked — Tiled Floors
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthHolidayBuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2008

This was a beautiful place in a beautiful city. I have a family of five and the room was spacious. We had a room upstairs in the main building at the price of 114 Euros a night with breakfast for all five. The room was clean very spacious. The breakfast was great and included scrambled eggs, bacon, sasuage, cereal, fruit, various cold meats, breads and juices. Parking was 3 euros a night but we were allowed to leave our car there all day on the day of check out to continue exploring the city.

  • Liked — Value-Clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 542 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2008

I was welcomed at the door because my suitcase could be heard coming over the cobbles. That was nice.
15 minute walk from the train station. Inside the walls.
Taken to my room in the out-building (a single floor, single hallway building) to leave my suitcase before returning to lobby to fill out paper work. Instant coffee/cocoa service in the hall. Although I reserved a single, I was upgraded to a cozy double. Tiles floors so bring your slippers. Given 3 keys, one for drive gate door after dark, one for the outer door and one for the room door.
(Some guests did not re-lock the outer door- you have to use the key.)
Each table in the cozy breakfast room was set for the number of guests in a room. Find the table with the right amount of settings.
Satifying breakfast including egg, yogurt, meats, cheeses, breads, juice, fruit.
Take the narrow street shortcut to get to the old town. Get a map at the desk.
Internet available at no charge on the laptop at the top of the stairs in the breakfast room.
For 39 euros a night, I had everything I needed plus atmosphere.

  • Liked — Made me feel at home
  • Disliked — It was cold and it took a while for radiators to heat up rooms.
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kitchenchemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2007

This hotel from the outside looks like a small, quaint hotel/bed & breakfast. Enter the walled city of Rothenburg and drive on the cobbelstone streets, entering a small driveway with greenery vines all around. The inside breakfast area was decorated in the older fashion of the timeless period. The rooms we stayed in appeared to be newly remodeled, very lovely and very clean and more than adequate. We greatly enjoyed our stay in Rothenburg--the town is awesome and having a lovely hotel to stay in made our time all the more memorable.

  • Liked — Location within the awesome Rothenburg City.
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wisconsinlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2007

We stayed in August 2006, and booked a "quadruple room" for 88 euros. This B&B was very nice and is within the city walls. It is within walking distance of everything you'd want to do within Rothenburg. The room was excellent and charming. The quad room had a very nice size room with 1 double bed and 1 single room. On top of this, the room actually had a second, separate room that was private (with a door) with a single bed for the fourth person. Breakfast was good and traditional german (lots of sausage). No problems with parking, noise, etc. I would definitely stay here again next time I am in Rotenburg.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank NthanNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2007

This is a nice little hotel inside the city walls and close to everything. They are very friendly and family run. They have nice clean comfortable rooms with nice size private bathrooms. The included breakfast is the best we've ever had at a hotel anywhere...and we travel a lot. We were there over Christmas and they invited us and the other guest to a nice Christmas party, where they had home baked goods and even presents for us and our daughter. We sang Christmas carols and drank gluewine and ate cookies. I'd give this place the best recommendation possible. Nice room, excellent service, great location and a very low price...what more could you ask for?

  • Liked — the breakfast and comforters
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — stay here
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank ollie1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
Hotel Reichskuchenmeister
#8 of 45 in Rothenburg
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof

Property: Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof
Address: Millergasse 2-6, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel garni mor like a B&B is in a very peaceful location inside the famous and ancient walls of Rothenburg, nearby the old smithy. Sleep in a well cared-for atmosphere. The Kreuzerhof lies in the heart of Rothenburg, the romantic old town, under the shadow of a 30 m high tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing