We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run place within easy walking distance of city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Pineville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great family run place within easy walking distance of city center”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife and I primarily spend our vacations out and about exploring and visiting local sites so our sole purpose for hotels is to find somewhere safe, clean, and comfortable where we can sleep and shower in our own private room and bathroom. We look for basic no frills places to stay that are centrally located and affordable.

Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof more than met our needs. The center of Rothenburg was only about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hosts were very friendly and attended to all of our needs. The room was plain and basic but a nice size (larger than most European hotel rooms) and comfortable. The breakfast had plenty of variety and was very good. When we needed some laundry done, the hosts did so for a small fee. There was paid parking available but we luckily found parking on the street right outside the hotel.

Overall a very nice find and we had a wonderful stay in Rothenburg. I would definitely recommend. Normally a basic place like this I would give a 4 dot rating, but due to the extra friendliness of the hosts I gave it the full 5 dots.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankr690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    62
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
80
87
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof is a great place to stay with large rooms that are comfortable and clean. The hotel staff are very helpful with town advise or help at the hotel. The hotel's location is less than 5 mins from the Markt Platz while the whole town is an easy walk. You can see the town wall (that can be walked) from your room. By your room you have a kettle to make coffee, tea or hot cocca and also cookies to partake of. The breakfasts were superb, wide variety and Walter was on the spot to replace low items. Walter even had an umbrella to loan out for the "Night Watchman" tour, which is highly recommended to do. I highly recommend this hotel for a couple or a family!!

Room Tip: Annex rooms have four poster beds and are nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a great stay here. The location was excellent and the rooms were large and comfortable. There was a kettle, coffee, tea, hot chocolate and biscuits for guests use which was most welcome as well as games and books. We travelled for over 5 weeks in Europe and Walter's breakfasts were the best as was his hot chocolate. I highly recommend this one and it is also very suitable for families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Booked three nights in two separate rooms (we'd asked for singles and were allocated doubles) here after reading previous trip advisor reviews. Was not disappointed in fact was very impressed with the place. Particularly loved the breakfasts, possibly the best we had in 5 weeks of travel through Poland, Germany, Switzerland, Austria & the Czech Republic and the free coffee/chocolate/tea station in the hall way.

Whilst the rooms were not luxurious, for the amount we paid they were great value - comfortable, clean, spacious and warm with a TV and free WiFi.

The location was ideal - an easy 10 min walk from the station and 5 mins from the main square.

Walter, the host, recommended some restaurants which we tried and enjoyed good local food. Don't miss the night watchman tour, which he also recommended, and spend time walking the walks of this incredible place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellover077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We reserved the family room for two nights and felt like we had our own apartment. It was huge. When we arrived he served us coffee and pastries. It was Christmas eve and we arrived in the afternoon. He said he had called ahead an found two restaurants with tables available for our family if we didn't already have reservations somewhere else. The breakfasts were wonderful, delicious and many choices. All around perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: If you like space, choose the family room which sleeps four with a lot of luggage very comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lafarwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night in a double room. The hotel is located a 10 minute walk from the rail station, within the city walls (near an entry point) and only a 5 minute walk to the city centre/town hall. The room was very spacious, clean and decorated in a medieval style with a curtained 4-post bed. The bathroom was small but nice. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. We liked the free tea/coffee/hot chocolate/biscuit station located in the hall way and the free wi-fi. Breakfast was tasty with some hot options and cute little yogurt desserts in shot glasses, although a toaster would have been good for the bread. The host was very nice and overall we were very happy with our stay. Great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank courtaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The water wheel sloshed and turned providing the power our cozy, yet sizable room...in fact the entire hotel gets its power from the water wheel. Restored by the owner, the wheel used to run a grist mill that you can tour with him if you make arrangements. The modern furniture and beds were very comfortable and the always available coffee and library were a wonderful addition. This is a find, recommended by Rick Steves and me! Easy on the traveler's pocketbook, 5 minutes from Old town by car.

Room Tip: All the rooms will have the water whee noise. for my wife and I it was soothing and didn't both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRothenburger, Inhaber at Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello Tracy,
It is very nice of you that you have reviewed your stay in Rothenburg,
But allthough this is a very good review, you did not stay in our hotel " Kreuzerhof " you stayed in the Pension Fuchsmühle. As i can see, because we have no water wheel and we are situated in the old town of Rothenburg. But we are also recommended by Rick Steves.

with kind regards
Walter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#4 of 45 in Rothenburg
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
607 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof

Property: Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof
Address: Millergasse 2-6, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel garni mor like a B&B is in a very peaceful location inside the famous and ancient walls of Rothenburg, nearby the old smithy. Sleep in a well cared-for atmosphere. The Kreuzerhof lies in the heart of Rothenburg, the romantic old town, under the shadow of a 30 m high tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Garni Kreuzerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing