We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real charmer”
Review of Hotel Raidel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rothenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Raidel
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A real charmer”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

There is no question that Gästehaus Raidel is relatively basic accomodation, but it was a delightfully charming experience to stay there. The hotel has not been modernised and feels like it has been the same for the last hundred years.

Mr Raidel was a good host, meeting us and answering any questions, and then serving a very nice reakfast the next morning. The room itself was very old world German cute - we slept well in the double bedroom on the second floor at the back.

The location itself, I think, is one of the best in town. Make sure you wander the streets, walk the walls, get out into the valley below the town. This is a really special part of the world and Hotel Raidel was a great base to explore it from.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beautiful_life23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    30
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
38
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We weren't sure in relation to the hotel was the center of town, but we were happy to find that it wasn't even a ten minute walk from the hotel to the center of the town. A charming place, we were greeted by the owner, Mr. Raidel. He was very welcoming, along with much older cat - a happy surprise. No worries, (for those with allergies) this cat stays in his office and can hardly get around anymore. He showed us to our room and gave us keys to get in our room and the building, showed us where breakfast was served (he doesn't serve lunch or dinner). Our room was spacious, clean and inviting. There was no TV, frig or microwave, but we never missed it. We put some of our bottle drinks on the window ledge and ate our other meals elsewhere. The bathroom was nice, it had the necessities, toilet, shower, sink, towels, etc. We opened the window in the bathroom and could actually reach over to the wall over the building next door - too cool! Early in the morning we could hear the pigeons cooing while tucked under the eaves of the roof, staying dry from the rain. Don't know if was all the site seeing, but it was some of the best sleep I had ever gotten. For the two of us, we paid €69 per night - cash only, no credit cards. I the owner tell another guest that he would even accept American dollars! The breakfast was the traditional German continental breakfast - bread, lunch meats, boiled eggs, cakes, fruit, juices and coffee. All of our favorites! I was sad to leave, but we brought home some really great memories.

Room Tip: If you don't ask, you might get a room that you share a bathroom with other guest on the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Secretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This was a very pleasant place to stay. The owner was one cool guy and the breakfast was easily one of the best we had in Germany. Bedroom was spacious, beds are comfortable, bathroom was not a star but perfectly adequate. The building itself really is a medieval treasure. If you want a five star stay go elsewhere, but this was fantastic value for money and we'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaulAss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This guesthouse locate in old town (15 min from trainstation). Near town hall and cafe around corner. Clean & big room. Breakfast is very goog and nice & helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skymint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We loved our two nights here in this historic town. Staying at this guesthouse was like going back in time. The building is original and quaint, full of antiques and old artwork, yet the rooms were modern and comfortable. Breakfast was good, served in a charming dining area with little alcoves, benches and old tables. Our host was friendly, helpful and soft spoken and appeared to run the place single-handedly. You may hear him practicing Dixieland jazz in the evenings. The stay was like being in a fairy tale, both due to the town and the inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ocean-mountainview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed overnight in Rothenburg while travelling across Germany with our son. Rothenburg itself is very interesting but gets crowded in daytime with tourists on day trips. However by staying overnight you really get a feel for the place, a real trip back in time to a fairly genuine survival of a medieval German townscape. Some 60% of the town in fact is genuinely medieval or good restoration from 'long ago' whereas the rest was sadly destroyed in the last war. the centre of town, with all the important buildings survived intact (and the Wst side). You'd never know today which bits were destroyed as everything destroyed was rebuilt soon afterwards really well.
Back to the Hotel...the hotel survived - and wow! what a survival. It's a small townhouse very close to the centre of town on 4 floors. It would immediately remind you of a dolls house - but even more like something from 'Alice in Wonderland' because it's tiny but amazingly got loads of space. All the rooms have low ceilings, have antique funiture and paintings (but not antique beds and facilities - these are bang up to date and great.) The first floor is even more 'Alice' with a sort of lounge area again full of antiques, the full width of the house with an ancient wooden floor that slopes to the centre (and beamed floor above). Herr Raidel is a quiet spoken courteous man with a fine moustache; a tuba player (or similar) in a local band, he is a fine host - seemingly running the place single handedly. Lovely views of the mediavel roofs from our room. My sons single room up in the attic similarly had great views and supposedly a single room - seemed big enough for two! Plenty of hot water, towels (and soap!) provided. My wife wasn't too happy that the shower attachment was broken - so that the shower head wasn't fixed to the wall - you had to hold it while showering; but I didn't mind - shower was good and strong (and hot!)
Plenty for breakfast.
In summary - quaint place with bags of genuine character. Good service. Good value. I stayed one night - I told Herr Raidel I'd be back & I meant it. Back both for Rothenburg which has much more to offer than the 'touristy' image might suggest - and back for this great hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This is a pension, wrongly named here, enuff said.
Location is good. Like what an earlier reviewer had said, you have Rothenburg to yourself in the early morning and late evening when all the day trippers had gone. Alot of christmas decorations shops here. There is a quaint restuarant on the main street which had a reasonable set meal. About 5 minutes walk to the town central which is the meeting place of the night watchmen tours.
Owner is a gruff looking man but he is friendly. I asked for directions, tips to eat and location for free parking and he was helpful.
Breakfast was filling. Its a small buffet spread and the owner served the tea or coffee in pots to you.
Rooms was clean and no frills. Everything was working. However, my friends and I, didnt have much sleep in the room. A friend and myself, had some dreams which disrupted our sleep. Another friend claimed to sense something. I really do not know why the 3 of us didnt manage to get much sleep at the same time. Maybe its just a one off as other reviewers dont seem to have any similar issues.
Finally, give the owner some credit as hes rather talented. The furniture and stuff like the furnace, that you see there, he created it singled handedly with dedication and time. He even painted a picture of his father which is hanging in the lobby. Previously he was running a business in a different industry.
If you do stay there, please tell him that his singaporean guest says hi.
I have photos of all stays in Germany, feel free to message me if you wish to view them.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DICKYLEE_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
Gasthof Zum Breiterle
#28 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Altfrankische Weinstube
Altfrankische Weinstube
#16 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gerberhaus
Hotel Gerberhaus
#17 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spitzweg
Hotel Spitzweg
#6 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glocke Hotel
Glocke Hotel
#23 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roter Hahn Rothenburg
Roter Hahn Rothenburg
#45 of 46 in Rothenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Raidel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raidel

Property: Hotel Raidel
Address: Wenggasse 3, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Rothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 164

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing