We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value, Beauty and Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I considered spending more money and staying at one of the luxury hotels. But I am glad we didn't! The entrance way is enchanting and the rooms are beautifully decorated. The atmosphere is fantastic and completely medieval. It is a treat walking in for the first time. The bathroom was huge!

There are only 11 rooms, 3 to a floor. It's very quiet and close to the main plaza and everything else. The owner squeezed us in early before check in time which was much appreciated. This cute medieval boutique hotel lives up to the online hype.

The staff struggle with English which is fine because that is to be expected. But they had a tough time, so I recommend you be sure you know what you are asking. For instance, we asked where we could find coin operated laundry and away we went with our dirty clothes into a restaurant. I laugh now, but we were slightly grumpy about it at the time.

They don't have much of menu, so when you are stuck because all the restaurants close at odd days and hours, you can't rely on the hotel for food.

I highly recommend staying here! Amazing!

Room Tip: There is one coin operated laundry facility outside the walls. It took us 5 minutes to drive there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 391 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

A family run medieval hotel in a stunning medieval village. Beautifully laid out. Caring hotelier. Great rooms with bags of atmosphere - including the bathrooms. Every detail is really thought through. Right in the centre of town - but that's an advantage not a problem. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

It kinda rare now days that a hotel lives up to the online generated hype that's given so lightly on review sites, but for us Hotel Gotisches Haus not only lived up to it's rep, but in our case exceeded it . If you're going all the way around the world to visit one of the most beautiful village's in Europe which clearly R od T is, why would you want to stay in a hotel that doesn't live up to R od T itself ?
Well Hotel Gotisches Haus fit the bill 100% as a 4 star B&B/INN perfectly restored 16th century town house less then 100 yards from the equally perfect R od T town square, and all this with world class amenities.

* Great included breakfast (the best of our 3 weeks in Europe)
* World class staff and service (so nice to see so many smiling faces)
* unbeatable R od T location
* 4 star rooms and accomodations

What more can you ask for ??


So, I can only hope your memories of the Hotel Gotisches Haus & R od T end up like our's and like our's live up to all the hype
Srpilo

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srpilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this delightful old hotel which has been restored to provide very modern accommodations in a historic setting. The staff was friendly and the breakfasts were excellent with made to order eggs and lots of self serve items. The hotel is located just a couple of blocks from the market square and a couple of blocks from one of the gates in the old town wall. We recommend walking along this wall and walking down the path to the Tauber. Had an excellent, moderately priced dinner at the Hotel Reichskucheneister which has a great beer garden. Rothenberg has been restored and is very touristy but it is well worth visiting. Great pictures and neat discoveries throughout the town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

A very nicely refurbished hotel in a great location inside the old city & near the main market place. Would definitely recommend it to friends.
Only bummer was the dodgy wifi but that is no deal breaker.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent one night in the suite on the top floor and would recommend this hotel. Our room had the whole of the top floor with a view onto the street at the front and a lovely balcony with view of the surrounding area at the back. The hotel is very old-so has the quirks you would expect in an old building but this is more than made up for in the character of the place.

Breakfast was fine really couldn't fault it

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank city_ambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

First we want to say that we were going to rate this hotel a 4/5 because the room was just so small – but to be fair to the hotel, the room was advertised as very small (room 33, the smallest in the place) so we knew what we were getting into!! That being said, the room was very small, just enough room to walk around the bed and get into the closet and bathroom. The bathroom was actually pretty big and updated though, with a lovely big tub and two sinks. We were only staying one night so we went with the cheaper room in the nicer hotel, rather than a more expensive room somewhere else that wasn’t rated as high. And this hotel earns it’s high rating. It was amazing, such a great atmosphere with the old wood everywhere. The gentleman who works the hotel desk was so nice, and the girl who did the breakfast was really sweet. There are no bad locations in this town, but this was still such a great spot right near the town square and the main activity hubs. The hotel has no restaurant for dinner (only breakfast which was okay, and some drinks/snacks during the day) but there are plenty of options nearby. Overall, we would stay here again in a heartbeat… maybe not room 33, if we were staying more than one night, but would definitely pick this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1SunLovingCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
706 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
709 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mittermeier Restaurant & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gotisches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gotisches Haus

Address: Herrngasse 13, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rothenburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: $99 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gotisches Haus 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gotisches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotisches Haus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing