We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gotisches Haus
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Rothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel, our room was lovely and warm. The bed was super comfortable. The bath tub was huge and easily fits two people in ;-)
We stayed in room 30 which also had a little lounge area and a balcony from which was a lovely view.
The quality of the fixtures and fittings are first class, and we could never hear any noise from outside or the other rooms.
The location was great, we parked right outside and left the car there for two days while we explored the city.
Breakfast was good and fresh scrambled egg cooked on request.
In February there was no evening meal on offer, but loads of places nearby anyway.
We would definitely recommend this hotel, in comparison to others we stayed in, this was the absolute best and just perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlemisscoolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 395 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon in September 2012. We loved Rothenburg and loved this hotel. After staying in a string of B&Bs, we were expecting this smaller hotel to be more B&B like, but it was more like a regular hotel. I didn't get the sense that it was family owned.

All that aside, the rooms were very clean and charming. The bathrooms were modern with a huge tub. The breakfast was good. The location is ideal, right in the middle of Rothenburg. Since we were driving, we had a little trouble navigating the one-way streets to get to the hotel, so ended up parking about 5 minutes away and walking with our suitcase. No big deal though. The wifi didn't work super well, but the charmingness of the hotel made up for it :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

we loved this hotel... room seemed unusually large compared to most European hotels. Very clean, comfortable, warm, safe. Hotel located in the thick of things. Staff very cordial and ready to direct you to your requested adventure. Will return and will request this hotel. Loved it!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lackat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The front desk people wer so friendly! The breakfast was nice. The room was huge (10) and beautiful. The old world charm was perfect. There was an elevator and free wi-fi. We needed to get a code for each device. The location is perfect. We parked the car as directed and didn't use it at all during our stay. The roads are tiny and we were glad to walk. I know one review got abused for faulting the bed, but I was seriously sore each morning from the firmness of my mattress. After the second night, I mentioned it to my husband and he couldn't relate. I tried out his side and found it to be very comfortable. Just my luck! The bathtub was huge and modern and they supply candles. In all, it was very romantic and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank payingitforward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I only stayed one night at this hotel but wished we could have stayed much longer. The atmosphere was romantic and charming with the feel of an old castle. It was recently renovated so our room was very spacious and the bathroom had a spa tub, which was a great perk after being squeezed into tiny bathrooms with only standup showers. Breakfast and WiFi was included with our reservation. The breakfast was yummy with a good assortment of foods and the WiFi always worked without having to sign in every 5 minutes. The staff was very friendly and spoke English which was helpful given we knew limited German. Parking was available for 5 additional euros per day right across the street. Our only hassle was actually trying to get to the hotel (via car) since many of the streets were closed for construction.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in this hotel and were delighted with the style of the room, the friendliness of the staff and the location. The room was quiet and comfortable. The huge soaking tub was nice after walking the city all day. The breakfast buffet in the morning was a great way to start the day. We were able to connect to the free Wi-Fi with no issues. If you are visiting this walled city, I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

-Amber

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Incredibly beautiful hotel, lots of history, but with lovely modern bathrooms and amenities. The included breakfast was delicious and the service was very friendly and helpful. The room was very large, very beautiful, and we had our own separate balcony for a pre dinner drink. Views from the room were breathtaking: beautiful valley on one side and the village itself on the other. Our only regret was that we werent staying longer.

Room Tip: Very top floor only has a lift to third level and you will need to haul your bags up another flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rothenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
Romantik Hotel Markusturm
#3 of 45 in Rothenburg
721 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burghotel
Burghotel
#2 of 45 in Rothenburg
642 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
Hotel Herrnschloesschen
#1 of 45 in Rothenburg
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Eisenhut
Hotel Eisenhut
#7 of 45 in Rothenburg
730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rappen Rothenburg ob der Tauber
0.1 mi away
Hotel Klosterstueble
Hotel Klosterstueble
#5 of 45 in Rothenburg
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gotisches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gotisches Haus

Address: Herrngasse 13, 91541, Rothenburg, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Rothenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rothenburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rothenburg
Price Range: $106 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gotisches Haus 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Gotisches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotisches Haus Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing